Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.939025
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daug... more

August 30, 2013

My daughter is now a sophomore in college; looking back, going to MYA is one of our happiest memories. My daughter loved the music; I loved the fact that she was doing something wholesome. We both made some lasting friendships. MYA is for the student who wants to study music as a career and for the person who wants music to be a lifelong hobby. We had great times there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it as it is

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 10, 2013

MYA creates a wonderful community for the parents as well as for the young musicians. My daughter learned so much musically, had a great time, and found the organization to be very supportive. My daughter is in college now and I am still good friends with several of the parents. We owe a lot to MYA and I am so happy we found this fine organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

Our three children participated in numerous MYA programs and our youngest is still there. This is her 10th year so you can definitely believe it's a home for her! She has mostly been in orchestra and chorus but has had a chance to try jazz and wind symphony. It has always been challenging, fun, and engaging. It is a hugely important part of everyone's life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Need more small rehearsal rooms.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've been involved in MYA for more than half my life. In that time, MYA has helped me become the person I am today.

Every part of the organization and the people who run it are wonderful. There are few more committed, expert, or capable groups of professionals anywhere.

The
music is top-quality, as is the music education. And best of all, MYA sees itself as more than a collection of orchestras - it sees itself as a home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger, but not too big.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

Hello, I play piano in the Jazz Program at MYA, and I have had a great time since I started here just over 3 years ago. The directors are great, and I have learned a lot. Right now I am in the top band in my high school and I could not have made it here without playing with MYA.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change the location. A lot of people seem to agree that Fort Sheridan, while nice, is a long drive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 28, 2012

Our daughter has been involved with MYA for six years, and it has been the best experience of her childhood. Dr. Dennis creates a highly supportive and cooperative environment through positive reinfor... more

July 11, 2013

My daughter just finished her seventh year with MYA. She loved every minute of it, and I'm convinced that it helped her to get a music scholarship in college. But the most important part was the sense of community and cooperation that exists there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2012

Our daughter has been involved with MYA for six years, and it has been the best experience of her childhood. Dr. Dennis creates a highly supportive and cooperative environment through positive reinforcement. It is truly a special place, and I could not recommend an organization more highly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 25, 2013

more

May 25, 2013

I was a part of MYA for seven years. Six years later I can still say it was one of the greatest opportunities I have had. It taught me discipline, dedication and an appreciation and love for performing and listening to classical music that will last me a lifetime.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

April 23, 2013

more

April 23, 2013

I've been part of the MYA community for the past 7 years. My oldest son started playing in one of their orchestras 7 years ago, and his brother began last year. It is a truly amazing place, where learning, community, and above all, music are nurtured in young people. Saturdays are orchestra rehearsal days, and they have been my sons' favorite day of the week since they began playing there. There is a place where everyone can feel comfortable, and while excellence is valued, and the standards are very high, it is an inclusive, non-elitist place. High standards apply equally to how you treat others, as well as how you play your instrument. In addition to all the great qualities of community and character building, MYA offers unparalleled musical opportunities - master classes with renowned musicians, orchestra performances in world-class venues, weekly coaching for chamber music, as well as orchestra, opportunities to connect with both peers and mentors every single week. It's a musical home away from home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

MYA offers such a wonderful musical opportunity for children in this area. It is always so much fun and such a satisfying experience when I volunteer- its like being part of a family of like minded individuals - from the director to the instructors to the children - all dedicated to one goal - learning and spreading the joy of music!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

Every time I volunteer for Midwest Young Artists it makes me feel like Snoopy when he's doing the happy dance!!! Being able to give my time to an organization that ALWAYS puts their students first has been so rewarding for me.

We are so blessed to have such outstanding teachers/mentors
in the MYA faculty and staff (and alumni!) for our young musicians!!! Our daughter has been a member of their Orchestra program since the beginning of 6th grade and upon graduation from High School this year, can't wait to begin her undergrad in music performance. MYA has giving her the tools and confidence to take her to this next stage of her life and I couldn't bee more proud of her.

I will continue to voluneer even after she has graduated. YES, they are that good!



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 7, 2013

more

January 7, 2013

As a graduate of MYA after six years, I notice the influence of the social and musical enrichment that MYA provides each day. MYA provides so many opportunities for young musicians, from jazz to chamber music, along with qualified coaches. Undoubtedly, MYA has been the greatest influence in my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers