Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.939025
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

As a two year member of the Symphony orchestra and a 3 year member, I can honestly say that MYA is the best decision I have ever made. The combination of great teachers, great musicians, great music, and great friends makes MYA I will forever advise and anybody and everybody.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 20, 2011

My daughter had already been in the program for two years when I began taking her to weekly Saturday morning practices with one of the orchestras at Midwest Young Artists. I have been actively involve... more

May 1, 2014

My daughter is graduating after 10 years in MYA. She and I have grown over this time, and MYA became a material part of our lives. MYA doesn't just teach music. They teach music well. But they also teach our children character, discipline, compassion, cooperation, and a desire to excel without hurting others. Through the years I have heard parents from other music programs, who came to MYA extol its virtues. Their children became part of a team. While competitive, the young musicians are taught the larger lessons on what is takes to be a successful human. MYA's best advertisement of its success is its battalion of alumni who still cherish their time with MYA, still come back to visit and participate, and serve on its young professionals board.

As my daughter goes off to college to study music and business, I will continue to participate in and support MYA's activities because it's that important of an organization for young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Double its physical facilities so it could serve more young musicians.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 20, 2011

My daughter had already been in the program for two years when I began taking her to weekly Saturday morning practices with one of the orchestras at Midwest Young Artists. I have been actively involved for decades in public service, including government and volunteer organizations. I've also worked for decades with not-for-profits. Unequivocally, none has rivaled what I found at Midwest Young Artists.

Over the past few years, I have watched with amazement at all the good MYA produces. Young musicians readily become committed to working, practicing, and meeting individual challenges. They are part of a team, but they also recognize their individual involvement in achieving the end result. They are eager to participate, not forced to do so. When a young musician advances within his or her orchestra or to a more advanced orchestra or chamber group, he or she knows that it's not because of the politics of a parent's involvement or a monetary contribution - it's because the child or young adult earned the advancement by his or her own hard work and dedication. As the children advance into their teens, you can see the deepening of their friendships, work ethic, commitment, and, importantly, confidence. This is an earned confidence that the youth carries with himself or herself for life.

Similarly, you can observe and support each child's development through the years. There's an excitement each Fall as the youths return from summer for a reconvening of the academic year. It's like watching a championship team develop anew each season.

The parents do not tend towards cliques. New parents are welcomed and established families develop friendships. Most of work does not fall upon a small few to accomplish. Rather parents readily volunteer to help and be part of the success of the organization. Because so many are willing to help, the work for all is more enjoyable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Watching the children grow through the programs; managing backstage logistics; volunteering at numerous events; serving on MYA's board of directors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

expand the size of the facilities to accommodate more participants.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

Through my wife and daughter.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 1, 2014

more

May 1, 2014

Our son has been in MYA's jazz program for the last two years, and it's been a fantastic experience! He has learned so much, met some great people, and even travelled overseas with the group.

I've also volunteered periodically with the organization, so have seen the great work done by all
of the support staff as well. Their focus is completely on bringing musical learning and enjoyment to the participants as well as the surrounding community, and they seem to focus on doing it as efficiently as possible, so are great stewards of the dollars made available to them.

Top notch organization overall, and expect to continue contributing to them as best we can, even when our son has moved on to college.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

We have been members of MYA for the past 7 years. The quality of their high level jazz, orchestra, and chamber ensemble programming (theory, too) is well worth our weekly two hour road trip. Kudos, MYA!
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

Passionate, talented people make MYA what it is: a great place to advance musical skills in ways not provided through private lessons or highschool orchestras. I have great memories, and had outstanding mentors and teachers who only wanted the best for all of us. The MYA family was crucial to my development as a musician, and though I didn't pursue music as my ultimate career path, I still carry a deep appreciation for music, theory, and playing my instrument. That wouldn't be nearly as true without my experience with MYA.
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

Last night I watched, along with other parents, a delightful recital by children who had worked very hard all year to prepare for this evening. These children, along with countless others, have received the opportunity to learn an instrument, receive lessons, and participate in a first rate orchestra program whether or not their incredibly supportive families were able to cover the cost. The music the children are exposed to is incredible, and the character that is built in being from being a part of this community is priceless. I am forever grateful to what Midwest Young Artists gives to each young musician, their families, and the community as a whole! My son literally "grew up" under Dr. Dennis' baton, and I'm grateful for his musicianship, but even more grateful for the young man he has become.
December 27, 2013

more

December 27, 2013

MYA is a really good place for chamber and orchestra ! There's 6 different level orchestras to choose from.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Unsure

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013

more

December 6, 2013

it's ok. the symphony sometimes plays very well. i like it

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played... more

October 16, 2013

MYA is a great organization especially as music in the public schools is being cut. The organization helped my daughter become a serious musician and a great collaborator in a large group (Symphony) and a smaller group (chamber). MYA has an upbeat feel and Allan and Karen Dennis are the best for organizing events and activities that promote fun while still demanding kids to reach for the stars and do their very best. MYA promotes long term relationships and learning and helps high schoolers decide on college choices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it locate closer tomy home. MYA also needs to expand their physical facilities since there is such high demand for their services.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 16, 2013

My daughter was a part of MYA throughout her high school years. Being a part of MYA gave her so much. She went on tour to China and South Korea. She learned what it means to be an artist. She played concerts in Chicago's Orchestra Hall and on the Lyric Opera stage. She made so many life long friends. MYA is the best Youth Orchestra in the country.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve the performance and rehearsal facilities.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MYA is one of the most unique and extraordinary arts organizations for young people certainly in the Chicago area and maybe in the world. It provides an experience for a young musician that is so high quality it is hard to describe. It is educational and disciplined yet warm and welcoming full of friendships that last a lifetime. The orchestra produces music at the highest level in venues that even most professional musicians would envy like The Lyric Opera House and Symphony Hall. The group tours and presents concerts around the world. My daughter went to China and South Korea with MYA.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 30, 2013

more

August 30, 2013

I had known about MYA for quite a long time, but it didn't occur to me to join the program until my brother had joined and until I heard last year that the Symphony Orchestra was doing Mahler's "Titan" Symphony No. 1. First of all, it is my absolute favorite Mahler symphony and it was a thrill for me to think that a youth orchestra would be able to play such music. So I went to hear it and this was a great inspiration for me to want to join and so, this year, I'm finally in MYA, along with several of my good friends from High School and from elsewhere. Thank you MYA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers