Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I was told about MHWF about 3 years ago. Not only have I adopted my mare, but I also have donated another mare, and I spend most of my free time volunteering and fundraising for them. If you have questions all you need to do is ask not only the individuals that run the program but other adopters will try to help. MHWF isn't just an organization to me, It has be come my extended family. They do wonderful things and take great care of the equines in the program. They care deeply about the horses, adopters, donors, and volunteers and that's what makes this organization possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to help them build an indoor arena. The Wisconsin winters are long and cold and it would help them greatly to have an indoor.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I have been involved with this organization in many facets. I am an adopter, donor, & volunteer. I first was an adopter in 2011. They were very open and honest about the mare that I was interested in, her strong will and quirks. She wasn't exactly what I had told them I was looking for and they made sure I understood that before adopting her. It has turned out wonderfully and was very grateful they were honest with me, instead of just trying to push the horse out the door. I love the horse I adopted and because of that, have volunteered for them on a regular basis even though I live 2 hours away. Through helping with fundraisers and volunteering on the farm, I have gotten to know the directors very well.

They are EXTREMELY knowledgable, give the horses all the care they need, and are selective and honest when approving homes for their horses. I have since adopted a 2nd horse who had some soundness issues that they were completely forthcoming about, and because of their amazing adoption policy, donated one of my personal horses in order to guarantee his protection as well after changes to my financial situation. When the time comes again that I will be able to afford another horse, the horse will come from MHWF.

Any time I have questions, even unrelated to my adoptions horses, they take the time to offer their guidance and experience. They never make me feel ashamed, embarrassed, or ignorant when I ask questions. I have worked with the organization now for 3 years and I have only ever seen them do what is in the best interest of the horses. MHWF has given so much more to me than I will ever be able to repay. So I will continue to support them in any way that I can to express my appreciation for everything they have done for me. They do things they don't have to, and are happy to do it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for them to have an indoor place to test the horses during inclement weather. This is nothing in reference to the organization itself, but know it would significantly help the amount of adoptions through winter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MHWF provides the best pos. care for the horses under their supervision. They also are quite picky (to the best of their ability) in matching horses with the correct people. Some horses represent more of a challenge then others and they simply try to make a match that is best for person and horse. MHWF always gives a very honest assessment of each horse and keeps that info up to date on a daily basis should anything change (training, personality, experience, health, etc.) Horses are expensive to care for (vet fees, hoof care, meds, hay, grain and facilities to name just a few) I am surprised that MHWF can provide such great care to so many horses on such limited donations and fund raising.

MHWF have to turn down many applications (which have to be completed in writing) as some people just don't have the training or facilities necessary for horses (of any disposition) They simply will not adopt a horse to "horse ignorant" people which sometimes makes those people angry. Just because this is an adoption service does not mean they will simply let a horse out of their care to such people, if only people that sold horses for profit were so honest!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent organization doing things the right way. I have both adopted a horse from them and also donated a horse to them (the horse donated that just wasn't the right fit for my family). I rest assured that while in their care my horse was getting the best and they go to great lengths to work with people to find the right match for them. It has been wonderful to keep in touch with the family that adopted my horse and see how great she is doing. I've been to the farm quite regularly and the horses there are all so happy and well cared for. They do have strict policies in place and that is what makes the organization one that you can trust on all levels. Wonderful facility and organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen first-hand the great care and happiness of the horses in their care and have experienced both sides of the adoption process. They are very caring and knowledgable people with a network of people to help in any given situation. The discussion forum on the website is an awesome place to network too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of any changes that need to be made, other than it would be nice if they had an indoor arena for the bad weather to help out with training and adoptions.

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted a horse from this adoption program a couple of years ago and hope to be able to adopt again some day when I have room. I have been to the farm on many occasions and it is such a great place to spend time. The horses are all so well cared for and very happy and it is such a pleasure to spend time with the herd. The adoption process is great, they worked with me to find the right horse and the best part is now after adopting I have the most wonderful support group in the world with all of their volunteers and also on their discussion forum on the website! The whole adoption process has been just magnificent and I would recommend it to anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced the adoption process over the past couple of years, from the time I sent in my application until the time the right horse came along for me, and now have the most wonderful support group for me and my adoption horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to give them more of my time if I had it. They are the best advocates for horses I've ever met.

December 15, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 15, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

This organization is run by two people, husband and wife, they claim that they do this ONLY for the good of the horses, yet they receive and income and pasture rent from the organization, yearly after the haydrive they take a nice vacation off to someplace warm. They harrass people and threaten them (ones who have adopted from them) they do NOT care about some of the horses and have been KNOWN as a fact to tell them do NOT BRING THE HORSES BACK WE DO NOT CARE IF YOU SHOOT THEM just do NOT BRING THEM BACK HERE....I volunteered there and witnessed the husband abusing the horses as well as not feeding and medicating the ones that needed daily meds, they posted on their forum that a horse was looking good when she had actually been put down two days prior to them (him) posting that on the forum, they have been caught in SEVERAL lies...people who lie never do anything for the good of any animal, caution....they will not let others know your emaill or contact information (STRICT rule) so there is NO way to contact ANYONE that they don't want you to hear from...sad SAD story...they have had MANY horses that have gone downhill health wise in their care and always have an excuse that their followers believe...WAKE UP PEOPLE

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

not being honest when placing horses, and when medicating horses etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

shut them down

October 2, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2009
1 person found this review helpful

Top notch organization doing hard work for the right reasons. Strict policies ensure that the horses in their program end up in the right homes. Straight talking people who take their jobs very seriously, while still being pleasant and helpful to work with.

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Dedicated and took their job as steward to the horses very seriously. Not only are their policies rock solid, but they are organized, cosistant and a pleasure to deal with. This is why after 10 years they are still around and still growing.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers