Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
1234.333335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I was told about MHWF about 3 years ago. Not only have I adopted my mare, but I also have donated another mare, and I spend most of my free time volunteering and fundraising for them. If you have questions all you need to do is ask not only the individuals that run the program but other adopters will try to help. MHWF isn't just an organization to me, It has be come my extended family. They do wonderful things and take great care of the equines in the program. They care deeply about the horses, adopters, donors, and volunteers and that's what makes this organization possible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to help them build an indoor arena. The Wisconsin winters are long and cold and it would help them greatly to have an indoor.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 30, 2014

more

April 30, 2014

I have been involved with this organization in many facets. I am an adopter, donor, & volunteer. I first was an adopter in 2011. They were very open and honest about the mare that I was interested in, her strong will and quirks. She wasn't exactly what I had told them I was looking for and they made sure I understood that before adopting her. It has turned out wonderfully and was very grateful they were honest with me, instead of just trying to push the horse out the door. I love the horse I adopted and because of that, have volunteered for them on a regular basis even though I live 2 hours away. Through helping with fundraisers and volunteering on the farm, I have gotten to know the directors very well.

They are EXTREMELY knowledgable, give the horses all the care they need, and are selective and honest when approving homes for their horses. I have since adopted a 2nd horse who had some soundness issues that they were completely forthcoming about, and because of their amazing adoption policy, donated one of my personal horses in order to guarantee his protection as well after changes to my financial situation. When the time comes again that I will be able to afford another horse, the horse will come from MHWF.

Any time I have questions, even unrelated to my adoptions horses, they take the time to offer their guidance and experience. They never make me feel ashamed, embarrassed, or ignorant when I ask questions. I have worked with the organization now for 3 years and I have only ever seen them do what is in the best interest of the horses. MHWF has given so much more to me than I will ever be able to repay. So I will continue to support them in any way that I can to express my appreciation for everything they have done for me. They do things they don't have to, and are happy to do it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love for them to have an indoor place to test the horses during inclement weather. This is nothing in reference to the organization itself, but know it would significantly help the amount of adoptions through winter.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am very proud to be a long-time supporter of Midwest Horse Welfare Foundation and am also very proud of the fact that they received their Verified Status with the Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries (GFAS). GFAS is the only globally recognized organization providing standards for identifying legitimate animal sanctuaries. To be awarded Verified status, an organization must meet GFAS’s rigorous and peer-reviewed animal care standards which are confirmed by a site visit and they must also adhere to a demanding set of ethical and operational principles. This organization is very well run, the horses get the best of care and it is a pleasure to be on the end of adopting a horse or donating a horse. You can't go wrong putting your support with this organization in any capacity!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MHWF provides the best pos. care for the horses under their supervision. They also are quite picky (to the best of their ability) in matching horses with the correct people. Some horses represent more of a challenge then others and they simply try to make a match that is best for person and horse. MHWF always gives a very honest assessment of each horse and keeps that info up to date on a daily basis should anything change (training, personality, experience, health, etc.) Horses are expensive to care for (vet fees, hoof care, meds, hay, grain and facilities to name just a few) I am surprised that MHWF can provide such great care to so many horses on such limited donations and fund raising.

MHWF have to turn down many applications (which have to be completed in writing) as some people just don't have the training or facilities necessary for horses (of any disposition) They simply will not adopt a horse to "horse ignorant" people which sometimes makes those people angry. Just because this is an adoption service does not mean they will simply let a horse out of their care to such people, if only people that sold horses for profit were so honest!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent organization doing things the right way. I have both adopted a horse from them and also donated a horse to them (the horse donated that just wasn't the right fit for my family). I rest assured that while in their care my horse was getting the best and they go to great lengths to work with people to find the right match for them. It has been wonderful to keep in touch with the family that adopted my horse and see how great she is doing. I've been to the farm quite regularly and the horses there are all so happy and well cared for. They do have strict policies in place and that is what makes the organization one that you can trust on all levels. Wonderful facility and organization!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I've seen first-hand the great care and happiness of the horses in their care and have experienced both sides of the adoption process. They are very caring and knowledgable people with a network of people to help in any given situation. The discussion forum on the website is an awesome place to network too!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really can't think of any changes that need to be made, other than it would be nice if they had an indoor arena for the bad weather to help out with training and adoptions.

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Several months ago I donated my Arabian gelding to this organization. Not only did they find a great new home for him, but they spent a lot of time with me on the phone and again in person during the entire process. This is a well run organization and I feel great knowing that my horse is in a safe home with someone who can care for him. Th peace of mind I get in knowing that is priceless to me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I would highly recomment this organization to anyone who has to part with their horse and wants to know it will go to a good home.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They could use an indoor riding arena. If the weather is bad there is no place indoors to test ride horses.

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I adopted a horse from this adoption program a couple of years ago and hope to be able to adopt again some day when I have room. I have been to the farm on many occasions and it is such a great place to spend time. The horses are all so well cared for and very happy and it is such a pleasure to spend time with the herd. The adoption process is great, they worked with me to find the right horse and the best part is now after adopting I have the most wonderful support group in the world with all of their volunteers and also on their discussion forum on the website! The whole adoption process has been just magnificent and I would recommend it to anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have experienced the adoption process over the past couple of years, from the time I sent in my application until the time the right horse came along for me, and now have the most wonderful support group for me and my adoption horse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only change I would make is to give them more of my time if I had it. They are the best advocates for horses I've ever met.

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful organization. I have watched this organization grow and blossom over the past 9 years or so. It is obvious that the horses and their care always come first. They work very hard to make the correct matches between horses and adopters. I do visit the farm on a regular basis and the horses are all very happy and content, and of course very well cared for. All of the people who run this organization are volunteers, 100% volunteers, there are absolutely no paid employees at all. It is clear that they love what they do and really do care deeply for horses.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen many adopters and other visitors to the farm and enjoy watching this organization bring horses and people together.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more time and money if I had it to this organizatoin.

April 25, 2011

more

April 25, 2011

I have followed the Midwest Horse Welfare Foundation on the internet for years, donating money when I can. I couldn't wait to go see their farm and see the horses. Their website always used to state when they were closed for the weekend. So I tried to make an appointment one day (in advance) to go see the farm, sent several emails and called several times but no one returned any of my correspondence. So I was in the area and stopped at the farm without an appointment and the owner called me the next day and really chewed me out. It was in very poor taste. I no longer check their website and will never donate any money to them again. I hope they treat their horse better than they treat people.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The owner called me and "chewed me out"!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the owner should take some anger management classes.

January 10, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I have volunteered to Midwest Horse Welfare Foundation for a few years and this is a magnificent organization, very well run. They set the bar high for what rescues and adoption programs should be. The horses receive the best of care and there are visitors to the farm continually and many volunteers on-sight. Each horse in their care has it's own personal thread on their discussion forum with updates and new photos besides it's profile on the adoption page. You will find so many success stories of adoption horses on the discussion forum as well. It is a great place not only for new people to see what the organization is about, but the donors of horses they have taken in can watch their donated horse in it's new adoptive home when the adopter posts their updates. Many equine professionals have adopted from this organization, including veterinarians and this organization comes highly recommended. They are experts in rehabilitating the neglected horses that come into their care and I urge you to go visit the discussion forum and look around for some of these very heartwarming stories.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have witnessed many horses bloom in the care of the Midwest Horse Welfare Foundation. I have also witnessed many great adoptions take place and have watched all of the time that goes into being sure the horse and adopter are the correct match.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The only thing I can think of that I would change would be to add some sort of outdoor building for potential adopters to be able to be in when meeting adoptable horses during inclimate weather.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers