Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.987185
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Mickacoo is one of my favorite nonprofits because they support an often overlooked and unloved animal - the pigeon (and doves, too, which are basically the same thing but smaller). Founder Elizabeth Young works tirelessly to give homes to as many pigeons as humanly possible, and she's also very generous with her time and advice when people have pigeon or dove questions.

One of my best friends rescued a lost ringneck pigeon and contacted Mickacoo about finding a spouse for his new dove "Penelope". Mickacoo brought him Petunia, a petite white dove with a sweet and slightly shy temperament. In the end, Penelope turned out to be a boy, Petunia was indeed a girl, and it was love at first sight. The pair has been "married" for a couple years now, and they're very happy together as the only two residents of a large outdoor aviary. Mr. P loves his little wife and constantly watches over her and offers her presents and songs.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

MickaCoo is one of a kind. The plight of homeless domestic animals is significant, and that of domestic pigeons and doves all the more so because no one even knows about them. Most people have such misinformed ideas about pigeons, and MickaCoo does amazing and necessary work by reaching out to the community and showing people that (domestic) pigeons are kind, intelligent birds full of personality who deserve loving homes. I have been in contact with the founder of MickaCoo, Elizabeth Young, and she has been so helpful and supportive in answering all of my questions regarding my own adopted pigeons, even though she is incredibly busy. She truly cares about pigeons and doves and it warms my heart to know that there is such an amazing organization out there advocating for these under-appreciated birds.
July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

MickaCoo truly serves the welfare and rights of domestic pigeons, a bird too often maligned. I'm often surprised by the dedication and compassion of their staff, volunteers and supporters by how they go to great lengths to rescue pigeons found lost outdoors or in shelters and needing medical care. MickaCoo addresses all aspects of this issue, not just rescuing and caring for these birds, but doing adoptions, education on how great pjs are, and classes on caretaking. They partner with local groups and agencies to offer these services. I don't have much money for donations, but always feel that some must go to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Pigeons and doves are remarkable animals. They can hear the sound of wind rushing over mountains a thousand miles away. They see colors we can only imagine. They have spectacular memories and retain hundreds of mental images for years. They may be among a small number of animals capable of passing the "mirror test" for self-recognition. They are loving parents—sometimes even foster parents to other species—and affectionate companions.

Almost singlehandedly, MickaCoo has taken responsibility for helping these gentle creatures in a world where they have been misunderstood, often hatefully stereotyped, abused, and routinely euthanized at animal shelters. Not only have MickaCoo volunteers rescued and rehabilitated hundreds, releasing those who could rejoin wild flocks and finding homes for those who could not; in doing so, they are fundamentally changing common misperceptions of pigeons and doves: first among their many volunteers and supporters, who foster, adopt, and come to know these birds as intelligent, loving, and unique individuals; then, more broadly, as their experience and understanding is shared among among friends and spreads to the public at large. MickaCoo is one of the most dedicated and effective volunteer organizations I have ever known. I wholeheartedly endorse and support their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 28, 2014

more

February 28, 2014

The enthusiasm and sincerity of the women who power MickaCoo is infectious and inspiring. I've really enjoyed seeing MickaCoo grow as an organization and expand its lifesaving efforts in a meaningful way. I am very excited to see what the future holds for this fantastic group. I strongly encourage everyone to support MickaCoo's pioneering work. Donations to MickaCoo are well-spent on actual bird rescue and advocacy. Small nonprofits change the world. MickaCoo is proof of that!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MickaCoo needs more financial support to expand its work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 21, 2013

more

December 21, 2013

These guys do a great job protecting birds who deserve a break.

They do with with very constrained resources, giving a great deal of themselves.

They almost convinced me to adopt a pair, really difficult under our circumstances.

I love what they do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2012

I am a bird person, and when I learned about Mickacoo, I was thrilled to find a group that truly cares about the well-being of birds! I have been a regular donor since learning about them in 2002, and... more

April 21, 2013

I love birds, but my work requires frequent travel, so I'm not able to take direct responsibility for caring for birds. MickaCoo does a fantastic job of caring for birds, and educating the public about the joys of pigeons and doves as companion birds. I have a friend who adopted two birds from MickaCoo, and they bring her (and me, vicariously) so much joy on a daily basis.

I appreciate and value all that MickaCoo does for birds and the people who love them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a bird person, and when I learned about Mickacoo, I was thrilled to find a group that truly cares about the well-being of birds! I have been a regular donor since learning about them in 2002, and am pleased to support a group of wonderfully dedicated and devoted people who truly love the beautiful creatures who make life so sweet for all of us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I have been rescuing, rehabilitating and then giving unreleasable doves a" Forever Home" since 1990. I found out about MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue through Facebook about six months ago and have been supporting them with financial donations ever since. I am still in awe of what these wonderful people do for birds that would have been euthanized because there was no where for them to go. Through dedication, tireless volunteering, generosity with their own money as more donations are still needed ,
and lots of love and caring these people have placed birds in "Forever Homes" , or Foster Homes until adoptive families are found. The adoption process is thorough and careful- birds are not simply given away. This leads to permanence AND happy birds and families. I plan to continue to help these MickaCoo volunteers as much as I can because I firmly believe that every living being deserves a chance, If I did not live so far away ( the Jersey Shore !!! ) I would consider it an HONOR to work side by side with these people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Sadly, it never occurred to me that pigeons needed rescue. The creation and growth of MickaCoo has made the plight of homeless, abused, abandoned, and neglected racing pigeons, King pigeons, homing pigeons, "fancy" pigeons, and the hybridized domestic/wild birds a vivid and worthwhile object of philanthropy. The dedication and passion brought to the care of these birds and the care taken to characterize their beauty, gentle nature, and positive characteristics makes it very clear why we as human beings have a responsibility to protect them. All of the creatures we domesticate are forever altered by what we do to them; if we abandon them when they are helpless, what does that say for us as a species? MickaCoo provides an alternative - usually, the only alternative to such terrible treatment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I fell in love with pigeons when I met Elizabeth Young at the Marin Humane Society in San Rafael, California. Elizabeth was doing outreach with two of her lovely King Pigeons, and I happened to walk by...that conversation changed my world! I now have a beautiful aviary in my backyard and two delightful pigeons. Elizabeth rescues these birds in need and shows so many people how loving and beautiful they are. They are calm and patient and very intelligent. People like Elizabeth make the world a better place...Thank you, Elizabeth!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!