Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.985925
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

MickaCoo is a great program with many devoted volunteers and community supporters. They help care for, find homes for and, even more importantly, educate the public about releasing pigeons and/or doves at ceremonial events, about producing birds for squab, as well as use for hunting practice and live pigeon shoots. Having MickaCoo as part of our community is invaluable...and hard, hard work! Thank you, MickaCoo.
March 3, 2014

more

March 3, 2014

Pigeons have been a huge part of my life for a long time. My many birds have been my reason for living. I was thrilled to find Mickacoo as I no longer felt alone in my crusade for pigeons. Because of their wonderful work and advocacy, I was inspired to stop breeding pigeons for my own pleasure and start adopting them for their happiness. I will be expanding my little coop into a large pigeon house with design inspiration from Mickacoo's many lovely coop pictures. I hope I can make a difference in my area all the way in NH with what I have learned from them. Thanks Mickacoo!
-Darcey Mussey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Open an affiliate in my area! :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 17, 2014

more

February 17, 2014

I had reached out to MickaCoo over 2 years ago from CT as I had rescued a racing pigeon. It was quite an experience learning quite a bit in a short amount of time. They are smart and amazing creatures. We had to learn what and how to feed him while building a pigeon loft and then try and get him in it before dead of winter. It all worked out, thanks to the folks at MickaCoo who helped with information and encouraging support . Because of this experience i went on to become a wildlife rehab in-between my fulltime job. This Summer we received a few feral pigeons that were brought back to health and released. We also received a very emaciated racing pigeon which we were able to bring back to health and now I have him in the original loft and flight cage. This big guy is 8 years old and flew in from Chicago, by the info on his leg bands. Amazing, now I am committed to learning more about pigeons and hopefully can take on more in need at a later time. But I did want to say your website and what you do there is very inspiring. Thank you

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue and the group's leader, Elizabeth Young-- What a wonderful organization!! I connected with MickaCoo in the Fall of 2012, after I rescued a white racing pigeon from a state park near my office in Gainesville, Florida. At the time, I knew NOTHING about pigeons, so was desperate for good info. on their care and an answer to all my questions about these lovely birds. Internet searches brought me to all the great info. on MickaCoo's website and Facebook page....and even though it was a group located clear on the other side of the country, I knew that I needed to get in touch with Elizabeth. She immediately replied with the loveliest, kindest letter--filled with valuable info. as well as all the encouragement I needed to properly care for Mr. Bird (what we very fondly call him) and begin the process of looking for alternative homes for him. Since then I've e-mailed her numerous times with questions--and have always gotten a kind, well-written, detailed reply. The info. and encouragement Elizabeth provides has made a world of difference to me and my husband as we care for this delightful little bird (who is now a permanent member of our family, I might add--we are his "forever home"! ☺). Through the daily posts to the MickaCoo Facebook page, I am able to experience, from afar, the GREAT work she and her wonderful volunteers are continually doing to help the many pigeons and doves who need care and good homes (and would otherwise suffer and die or be killed outright). In addition to directly rescuing and rehabilitating the birds, they also spend a great deal of time educating people from all walks of life about pigeons and doves and what great birds they are, as well as the may dangers they face and abuse they needlessly suffer. They encourage people to adopt, not breed, these birds (so many need homes!)....and they promote kindness and compassion toward these sometimes misunderstood creatures (and in doing so, they help create a kinder, gentler, more compassionate world). MickaCoo's work is 24/7 and they do an amazing job!! Thank you MickaCoo (and a special shout-out and thanks to Elizabeth Young from Mr. Bird's family in Florida). ☺

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. This organization is great just the way it is! I wouldn't change it any...but if I could make sure it had more funds, I'd definitely arrange for that. Oh, and I'd put branches of it in every state. ☺

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

I care for handicapped pigeons in Las Vegas, NV. I discovered MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue when I was looking for some info on pigeons. Elizabeth Young, the founder, was very helpful. She and her dedicated staff of volunteers work long hours caring for and finding good homes for unwanted/injured pigeons and doves who would otherwise be left to die. Pigeons and doves are among the most undeservedly maligned species on earth because they can thrive in the most inhospitable environments. MickaCoo helps educate the public about these feathered friends who are actually intelligent and sensitive little beings. Thank you Elizabeth and crew for assisting pigeons and doves and for enlightening the public about these appealing birds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known the director, Elizabeth Young, for a number of years, through my volunteer work with Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue. Over and over I have been amazed at the dedication she shows to pigeons and doves, and really all animals, but her focus is on these neglected birds. Elizabeth, and MickaCoo, have saved so many birds, whether from shelters, or wildlife hospitals, or simply the mean streets. Whenever there is an adoption fair, they are there, they never rest. I am just in awe of Elizabeth and of MickaCoo. They are so deserving of support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!