Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.985295
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

The MickaCoo organization is truly exceptional in that its volunteers go above and beyond in order to secure safe, happy homes that are specifically appropriate to each individual bird. After rescuing a wounded baby dove last summer, I was at a loss for what to do with the little guy. I ended up raising him myself, as one of his legs was permanently crippled and he could not be released into the wild. I searched for months trying to find a home for him, only to be met with closed doors and negative reactions. After stumbling upon the MickaCoo website during one of my searches, I immediately emailed the organization. MickaCoo began the process of pairing my dove with suitable partners (both human and dove). I was touched by their concern for the welfare of this tiny creature. When the time came to give "Tweet" up, I was confident he was in good hands. The work MickaCoo does is invaluable, and gives precious, oft overlooked birds, a chance at a healthy, happy life!
March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

My two beautiful ringneck doves were adopted from MickaCoo. As an adopter I've received all the support I needed to make the birds happy and healthy members of the family. They are thriving thanks to the skill and kindness that flows from MickaCoo.

As an organization, this group is a
class act. Few rescues work as hard or as effectively as they do. I'm proud to be a continuing donor to their honorable cause of rescuing and homing these deserving birds.
March 15, 2014

more

March 15, 2014

I am not a supporter of most organizations that ask for donations, as I know that most of the money is pocketed and not spent in the manner one would hope (or what is marketed). But MickaCoo is the first organization EVER that did not need to ask for a donation, I JUST HAD TO SEND MONEY to help Elizabeth and her incredible work. I had rescued a poor Pigeon, who experienced a Hawk attack, and MickaCoo helped me rehab this darling Pigeon (Homie-the-WunderBird) back from the brink of death. Elizabeth found me a local experienced Pij person, to not only increase my education on their care, but also to check out Homie to make sure she was ok. And just this week, I am happy to say, that Homie has fallen in love with one of the MickaCoo adoptees, and now 'Bubba' is a member of our family. I will likely adopt a 'couple' (2) pigeons to finish out Homies new aviary, and help lessen Elizabeths load, just a wee bit. In Elizabeth I see a passionate, woman, who cares for an underserved population, the Pigeon, and does superhuman work to make sure all are carried for, none are bred and many humans learn about the wonderment of being owned by a pet pigeon!!
November 28, 2013

more

November 28, 2013

MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue is ONLY charity in the bay area that offers help to pigeons. Without them many beautiful birds, who make great companions would be euthanised. I have two birds and MickaCoo has helped us so much!!! Pigeons make great pets and are extremely intelligent. My birds know their names, my son's name, they watch TV with us, they "talk" to us, they snuggle with us. They are such loving animals, and so underappreciated. It's difficult to find affordable vets that will take in birds and without MickaCoo one of my birds would be in very bad shape!

Also, check out Angel. This story is just one of many AMAZING things MickaCoo has done for our city birds: http://www.pigeonrescue.org/2013/10/23/angel-standing-tall/img_2936-2/

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

MickaCoo and Elizabeth Young are terrific! When I initially expressed interest in adopting a few pigeons (this had been a hobby of mine as a kid and I thoroughly enjoyed it), MickaCoo and Elizabeth were immediately responsive, enthusiastic and respectful. Also, very helpful as regards all the details surrounding adoptions. Such a worthwhile organization doing fantastic work! I'm inspired to spread the word and hope to work with wineries in Sonoma and Napa counties as potential aviary builders and pigeon adopters!! So many need permanent homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I met Elizabeth, the Director of MickaCoo thru our local animal shelter. They suggested I talk to her as I had already established a small flock of pigeons. I grew up with these birds and just love their intelligence and their friendly sweet nature. I looked them up and found their Facebook link, website and blog, to be very informative. I had been following them for quite sometime as I loved seeing pictures of their efforts to re home misplaced, rehabilitated or abandoned domestic pigeons. What I found was that this organization was in communication with other rescue efforts across California. Wildcare ( a rehab center for wild animals) and our local humane society, vets and a large following of volunteers. As I learned more about this organization, I realized how necessary their rescue efforts are needed. I learned that pigeon releases for event and weddings, pigeon racers, and hobbyists rarely get these birds returned to the owner. They either get killed by hawks, dogs or other predators or they just starve as they have been injured. I learned that many racing homer enthusiasts release their birds for racing only when these pigeons have babies in their nests to insure they get home to win a race. They are often released in late summer when temperatures could reach in the 100's. These pigeons are set free often over 400 miles from their home and are desperately trying to get to their young ones that are completely helpless and hungry. When I offered to help, I was asked to fill out an adoption form. Clearly the form was used to show you that this group took this adoption very seriously. Would you be there for them? Do you have someone that would care for them if you were unable? Do you have housing for them that was clean safe and dry? I received very caring helpful emails from the Director when my adoption form was approved. This lovely woman had been out all day educating the public regarding pigeons at various schools and organizations then on her way home stopped by for a home visit. I so admired her dedication and energy in helping these birds. I also learned so much about what I could do to my coop to make it safer and the feeding habits that would benefit these birds. I was grateful when I was given 4 birds to adopt. I'm still in contact with this amazing organization. They have made such a difference to the lives of hundreds of birds every year. I am so impressed by this effort to re home birds that would have otherwise suffered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help them with fundraising.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 16, 2013

more

June 16, 2013

I knew of MickaCoo through a friend who volunteers for the organization. I love hearing her tales of her fosters and the work they do. I've followed them on Facebook for quite some time. I'm the crazy cat lady, having 16 cats at home. Imagine my surprise when God saw fit to drop a lost/emaciated racing pigeon in my campsite in the mountains, far from anywere pigeons would normally be.

Speaking with Jill (my friend who volunteers) proved to be invaluable information and she quickly introduced me to Elizabeth and Zoe. These women, through the blessing of social media and across 3000 miles, talked me off the ledge and helped me rescue this baby.

I'm sure this beautiful racer would have met her fate had she flown 1/2 mile further and ended up inside the boundary of the Great Smoky Mtns. These wonderful ladies steered me in the right direction as to what to feed, how to provide water, how to secure her cage since she's outside, etc.

She was lonely though. And these ladies even went so far as to help me rescue another pigeon not far from me that had met with the same fate...fell from the sky. They helped arrange transport to get him to me. He now also resides on my back deck. They are wonderful.

I don't live anywhere close to where they are. In fact, I'm in the eastern part of TN. But these women reached out to the crazy cat lady, 3000 miles away, and provided more information that I could ever have asked for.

I have two beautiful thriving pigeons now that would have otherwise died. I feel knowledgeable and able to care for them. And I love having these women to reach out to for even the simplest of answers to this otherwise novice bird person.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!! They are doing an amazing job!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2013

We had a little injured homing pigeon walk in our cat door a few months ago and I took it to WildCare in Marin to see if they could help him. They did while he was there he hooked up with a little rol... more

April 6, 2013

I rescued an injured pigeon and her mate and Elizabeth at MickaCoo was so friendly and helpful in getting me started with them. I am getting to know them now and adore them! I would love to see more people get involved in making aviaries for these wonderful and smart little birds that bring so much sweetness to life!
They need our support! They are a fantastic group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

We had a little injured homing pigeon walk in our cat door a few months ago and I took it to WildCare in Marin to see if they could help him. They did while he was there he hooked up with a little roller pigeon and they were inseparable. I kept checking on them because I didn't want them to be euthanized at the Humane Society if there was no room for them anymore. I found Elizabeth at MickaCoo and she was so incredible! She walked me through everything about having pigeons, and even brought one over! We then built an aviary and I have Polka Dot and Pansy and they are so happy! I have always had cats and have 4 but the pigeons are happy and I am really enjoying them! I didn't think I could do this, I am so busy with work and life, but having them has enriched our life tremendously. Elizabeth is a perfect ambassador for these sweet creatures! Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This past December a wayward pigeon landed on our deck in one of the worst storms ever. Dazed and exhausted, it took refuge under the plants growing there. We were concerned, yet had no idea what to do beyond putting out some water and food, hoping it would find its way back home once the weather cleared.

In the days that followed, this most brave and beautiful bird stayed on our deck, hiding from predators flying overhead during the day. Intuitively we knew time was of the essence, so my spouse began searching online for information. Because there was a band on this bird's leg, we thought it was a racing pigeon. So we were trying to find it's owner to come retrieve it from our deck.

A few days turned into a few weeks, as we searched online and talked with people. Although none produced the rescue help we needed, one did determine that the bird on our deck was not a racing pigeon. He told us he had read a recent article on SFGate about a woman who rescues pigeons. This lead us to Elizabeth Young and her pigeon and dove rescue organization, MickaCoo. We called and, within hours, Elizabeth came over after dark and retrieved the pigeon from our deck. She even helped us set up a temporary safe space for it inside, came back the next day to examine the birds condition, and talk with us about rescuing this beautiful bird.

At the start of this quest, neither my spouse nor I ever would have considered ourselves candidates for having a bird. We had raised kids and dogs. Still, the notion that "we are all connected" created an opening for a back-and-forth of questions, answers, and willingness to try something new. Three months later, a brave new possibility continues unfolding in our lives -- one that began with the pigeon who came to us, took us to Elizabeth, and now includes a second rescue pigeon from MickaCoo.

We are truly grateful for the help we received and the work Elizabeth and MickaCoo continue to provide in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

We found an abandoned king pigeon at a local park. We had no idea what to do, but found MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue online. We contacted the founder, Elizabeth, and she was incredibly helpful. She gave us advice, and we were able to find a lovely home for the bird. Without her help, we would have been at a loss as to what to do.

Elizabeth genuinely cares about each bird. She stayed in touch with us while we fostered the bird and even followed up with the bird's adopter to make sure that all was well. This is a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!