Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.987015
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This non-profit is unbelievable. After a lost racing pigeon ended up in our backyard, my husband and I did not know what to do. An Internet search yielded MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue, which may very well be the only organization of its kind nationally and internationally. Elizabeth Young is an expert, and provided tons of support. First, she introduced me to other people in my area. Second, she personally wrote back to me and once even spent an hour on the phone helping me. Finally, the website and its resources are top notch. There is a plethora of information on there from what to feed pigeons to how to build an aviary. Unbelievable support to the community.
Janice
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I met and fell in love with my first pigeon last year. Since then I have acquired 3 more, and recently I adopted two birds from Mickacoo. The pigeon is a bird who is often times despised in society, and what impresses me most about Mickacoo is their devotion to changing this perception. They work constantly doing outreaches in the public, presenting these birds in pants at events, and showing the general public what awesome birds pigeons really are. I had no idea. Rescue work is exhausting and sometimes heartbreaking but they keep hanging in there and doing it. Their adoption site showing all their birds is fun to look at, and a pigeon will be your best friend! They are the best non profit!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Mickacoo helped me adopt an amazing little bird who brings joy to my household every day. Elizabeth Young works heart and soul for this rescue, bringing together laymen and experts in aid of living beings whose feeling individuality goes generally unnoticed and devalued . Mickacoo saves and heals birds for whom there's no other hope, educates the public and brings unexpected happiness to those who adopt, foster or just visit with these remarkable creatures. I feel great admiration for Mickacoo, and will always do whatever I can to support this humane, determined and well-structured effort.

P.S. First I put "a lot" under the "help received" section below because I thought "life changing" might sound excessive for having gained a little avian friend by adoption. But you know what -- I was wrestling with a real depression and human loss, and the bright spirit of this tiny, playful, affectionate being, supremely vulnerable yet alive and courageous against all odds -- that is a lift every single day. Yes, it is "life changing."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no way in which I could better Mickacoo -- I consider it a remarkable achievement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I ha... more

July 29, 2014

I've had an appreciation for pigeons for some time, I had a bird of my own, a King pigeon named Darius, when I got sick I could no longer care for him. I went through caigslist and all I got were sketchy people that would've probably used him for squab. Then someone suggested MickaCoo. I contacted Elizabeth and she was amazingly supportive and helpful. She invited us to her house and showed us where Darius would be staying until he was transferred to a place more suited for him. We got to spend some time with him before he was brave enough to hop into the mix with the other birds. I've been getting updates throughout the years, he's now going to his forever home with his wife Harper and I couldn't be happier.

MickaCoo saves so many birds and makes so many sacrifices to save every bird they possibly can, it is by far the most dedicated rescue I've ever encountered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, if anything have more foster homes and adopters for these amazing birds and the amazing people that rescue them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I had for two years, and though he could be a little brat most of the time, he was still a sweet heart that would make a nest around his little beanie baby friend.

When I was sick and needed to go to the hospital, my mom was unable to care for him, so as a last resort we found Mickaboo, who directed us to MickaCoo. The last thing I wanted to do was rehome him, but at the same time it would be good for him as well to have other pigeons around. Elizabeth Young and I shared a few emails and pictures, I sent of Darius, and she sent of where he'd be living. When it came time for him to go, she invited us to her house and back into her aviary where Darius would be staying a while.

Darius eventually went to an aviary in the Berkeley hills where he found his mate Harper.

Since then, I was having housing trouble and was unable to foster or adopt, so I did what I could to help out, went to events to talk about birds, cleaned up aviaries and what not. Now I have my own little apartment, fostering birds and caring for sick pigeons I find.

Thanks to MickaCoo, I found my passion for birds again, and if it weren't for these birds I would still be in that really terrible place. They are the perfect pet to just have around as a companion, easy to care for and so loving, and MickaCoo has saved so many of them from the cruelty of the streets where people mainly see them as a nuisance rather than the amazing birds they are.

So please, don't breed, don't buy, adopt!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

The MickaCoo organization is truly exceptional in that its volunteers go above and beyond in order to secure safe, happy homes that are specifically appropriate to each individual bird. After rescuing a wounded baby dove last summer, I was at a loss for what to do with the little guy. I ended up raising him myself, as one of his legs was permanently crippled and he could not be released into the wild. I searched for months trying to find a home for him, only to be met with closed doors and negative reactions. After stumbling upon the MickaCoo website during one of my searches, I immediately emailed the organization. MickaCoo began the process of pairing my dove with suitable partners (both human and dove). I was touched by their concern for the welfare of this tiny creature. When the time came to give "Tweet" up, I was confident he was in good hands. The work MickaCoo does is invaluable, and gives precious, oft overlooked birds, a chance at a healthy, happy life!
March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

My two beautiful ringneck doves were adopted from MickaCoo. As an adopter I've received all the support I needed to make the birds happy and healthy members of the family. They are thriving thanks to the skill and kindness that flows from MickaCoo.

As an organization, this group is a
class act. Few rescues work as hard or as effectively as they do. I'm proud to be a continuing donor to their honorable cause of rescuing and homing these deserving birds.
March 15, 2014

more

March 15, 2014

I am not a supporter of most organizations that ask for donations, as I know that most of the money is pocketed and not spent in the manner one would hope (or what is marketed). But MickaCoo is the first organization EVER that did not need to ask for a donation, I JUST HAD TO SEND MONEY to help Elizabeth and her incredible work. I had rescued a poor Pigeon, who experienced a Hawk attack, and MickaCoo helped me rehab this darling Pigeon (Homie-the-WunderBird) back from the brink of death. Elizabeth found me a local experienced Pij person, to not only increase my education on their care, but also to check out Homie to make sure she was ok. And just this week, I am happy to say, that Homie has fallen in love with one of the MickaCoo adoptees, and now 'Bubba' is a member of our family. I will likely adopt a 'couple' (2) pigeons to finish out Homies new aviary, and help lessen Elizabeths load, just a wee bit. In Elizabeth I see a passionate, woman, who cares for an underserved population, the Pigeon, and does superhuman work to make sure all are carried for, none are bred and many humans learn about the wonderment of being owned by a pet pigeon!!
November 28, 2013

more

November 28, 2013

MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue is ONLY charity in the bay area that offers help to pigeons. Without them many beautiful birds, who make great companions would be euthanised. I have two birds and MickaCoo has helped us so much!!! Pigeons make great pets and are extremely intelligent. My birds know their names, my son's name, they watch TV with us, they "talk" to us, they snuggle with us. They are such loving animals, and so underappreciated. It's difficult to find affordable vets that will take in birds and without MickaCoo one of my birds would be in very bad shape!

Also, check out Angel. This story is just one of many AMAZING things MickaCoo has done for our city birds: http://www.pigeonrescue.org/2013/10/23/angel-standing-tall/img_2936-2/

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

MickaCoo and Elizabeth Young are terrific! When I initially expressed interest in adopting a few pigeons (this had been a hobby of mine as a kid and I thoroughly enjoyed it), MickaCoo and Elizabeth were immediately responsive, enthusiastic and respectful. Also, very helpful as regards all the details surrounding adoptions. Such a worthwhile organization doing fantastic work! I'm inspired to spread the word and hope to work with wineries in Sonoma and Napa counties as potential aviary builders and pigeon adopters!! So many need permanent homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I met Elizabeth, the Director of MickaCoo thru our local animal shelter. They suggested I talk to her as I had already established a small flock of pigeons. I grew up with these birds and just love their intelligence and their friendly sweet nature. I looked them up and found their Facebook link, website and blog, to be very informative. I had been following them for quite sometime as I loved seeing pictures of their efforts to re home misplaced, rehabilitated or abandoned domestic pigeons. What I found was that this organization was in communication with other rescue efforts across California. Wildcare ( a rehab center for wild animals) and our local humane society, vets and a large following of volunteers. As I learned more about this organization, I realized how necessary their rescue efforts are needed. I learned that pigeon releases for event and weddings, pigeon racers, and hobbyists rarely get these birds returned to the owner. They either get killed by hawks, dogs or other predators or they just starve as they have been injured. I learned that many racing homer enthusiasts release their birds for racing only when these pigeons have babies in their nests to insure they get home to win a race. They are often released in late summer when temperatures could reach in the 100's. These pigeons are set free often over 400 miles from their home and are desperately trying to get to their young ones that are completely helpless and hungry. When I offered to help, I was asked to fill out an adoption form. Clearly the form was used to show you that this group took this adoption very seriously. Would you be there for them? Do you have someone that would care for them if you were unable? Do you have housing for them that was clean safe and dry? I received very caring helpful emails from the Director when my adoption form was approved. This lovely woman had been out all day educating the public regarding pigeons at various schools and organizations then on her way home stopped by for a home visit. I so admired her dedication and energy in helping these birds. I also learned so much about what I could do to my coop to make it safer and the feeding habits that would benefit these birds. I was grateful when I was given 4 birds to adopt. I'm still in contact with this amazing organization. They have made such a difference to the lives of hundreds of birds every year. I am so impressed by this effort to re home birds that would have otherwise suffered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to help them with fundraising.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!