Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.987015
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 28, 2013

more

August 28, 2013

I consult to many nonprofit organizations. I took MickaCoo on because of their unique mission, and that they were incredibly well managed considering their small staff resources (1.0 FTE) and excellent professional dedicated volunteers. The pigeons and doves are well cared for and open my eyes to the needs of these birds--which I never knew about! Donors can be absolutely confident in their donations being used wisely and efficiently for the MickaCoo pigeons and doves. I know this as I have been consulting ton nonprofits for over 10 years and I am very picky with the public's money and how it is spent. Hats off to Elizabeth Young and her talented professional volunteer staff!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise more money for it and help to expand its rescues and its fosters as well as its outreach and education program.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

May 28, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue is a well organized volunteer driven rescue group that have saved hundred of highly overlooked pigeons and doves from euthanasia at Bay Area shelters since 2007. I first experienced the compassion of this group back in October 2008 when I found a lost King Pigeon. I knew nothing about birds and was even afraid to touch the King Pigeon I found. I knew I wanted to help save the bird I found, so I contacted Elizabeth Young the founder of MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue. Although the foster capacity was full, MickaCoo agreed to support me to foster the bird until they could find it a home. I quickly was given lessons on how to care for pigeons and became a foster home. Since I knew nothing about birds, the support I received was endless. I started to volunteer at adoption events and in the year to follow I started to recognize the need to help these homeless birds. I was so impressed and amazed by the MickaCoo, I became a volunteer. I saw how wonderful, smart and loving pigeons could be as pets. Later in 2009, I built a larger aviary and increased my foster population and even adopted six pigeons as my own pets. With each year I became more dedicated to also helping pigeons and have become an active volunteer and part of the advisory committee. The work that MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue is doing is saving the lives of 100’s of birds and have developed a wonderful compassionate community. Volunteers gather from all over the area to help adopters build back yard aviaries to provide homes for rescued Pigeons and Doves. MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue joins forces with Local Shelters, the SPCA and even with the S.F. Exploritorium to help educate and put pigeons on the map. This community that has grown to the hundreds over the past three years. It is an amazing group of people and organization which I am proud to be a part of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescu... more

March 29, 2014

MickaCoo has introduced me to many wonderful, vibrant pigeons, each with their own unique personality. I have made new friends-- both pigeon and human-- through my involvement with MickaCoo, and feel fortunate to be involved in their life-saving work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to create even more forever homes for pigeons and doves

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescued when her nest was abandoned, and were fortunate enough to adopt two more pigeons. MickaCoo helps unreleasable pigeons and doves by raising public awareness of their plight and by providing temporary foster homes, veterinary care, and adoption placements.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!