Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.987345
Write A Review
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There are no words to express the joy that MickaCoo has brought me. They helped me to adopt my two beloved pet pigeons, Coo Jackman and Talma, and their volunteers have stuck close by me in the year since the adoption, giving me advice on how to care for my birds, and answering the many questions I've had in an incredibly timely fashion. They have also given me many wonderful opportunities to share my joy with the public as a volunteer during outreach events. We teach thousands of people each year about how intelligent, noble, and charming pigeons are, and present them as excellent, hearty pets. The MickaCoo volunteers are kind, clever, capable, lovely people who do amazing work using the most meager of funds and supplies. I can only imagine the miracles they could perform if they reached their funding goals! This is a highly ethical organization that I recommend without any hesitation to anyone seeking to help animals.
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I fostered a pigeon and had very little experience working with birds. MickaCoo was very supportive and helpful, giving me very specific advice for keeping Woofle happy and healthy while in my care. MickaCoo also found a perfect home for him and he is happily settled in his forever home now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo had my heart at the word "pigeon." An organization that rescues, rehabilitates and champions animals who so often get the short shrift in our world earns my affection and respect for that endeavor alone. But MickaCoo transcends even that valuable role. They exceed all expectations of compassion when it comes to interpersonal advocacy.

Several years ago, my husband and I found ourselves with a lost and unwanted racing pigeon, no outdoor space, and no real guidance on how to care for our new rescue. Even as a volunteer wildlife rehabilitator, I had precious few contacts in terms helping domestic pigeons.

Despite an always overwhelming case load, MickaCoo stepped up to offer us counsel and resources. It was through MickaCoo that we learned how to properly house, feed and care for our wayward bird. MickaCoo came in to help when we encountered a rescue situation that was beyond our capacities to handle. And it is entirely because of MickaCoo -- and the deep care they showed for the birds and for us -- that we ourselves, became allies and advocates for the well-being of pigeons.

It's difficult to assign a value to the tireless work of animal rescue and advocacy groups. No quantification can possibly capture the totality of what they do. But I can think of no greater measure of an organization than its ability to change hearts and minds. MickaCoo and its volunteers, through their own passions and commitments, did just that. They engendered in us a deep ethic of care for these birds -- and they continuously create a lasting legacy of compassion, one by one, bird by bird.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece to... more

March 24, 2014

More than twenty years ago, I was adopted by a baby King pigeon who needed my help. I didn't know the first thing about pigeons then, and I so wished there had been an organization like MickaCoo to help us. My pigeon and I had to figure it all out from scratch, which we did -- and she lived with me for almost thirteen years. During that time, I rescued other pigeons that needed help, again wishing there were an organization to provide dedicated support to these smart, sweet birds. I was so grateful when Elizabeth started MickaCoo to fill this need!

Today, I have four rescued pigeons that I adopted through MickaCoo, and I volunteer with the organization whenever I can. It's also the only nonprofit to which I donate money on a monthly basis. I couldn't imagine a more hardworking, caring director than Elizabeth or a group of more compassionate volunteers and supporters than MickaCoo's network. MickaCoo helps hundreds of beautiful birds every year, providing them with care and loving homes. I only wish I could do more to help!
June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece together information about pigeons and how to properly care for them. Given the unfair bias that many individuals and even wildlife rescue organizations have toward pigeons, this was not always easy to do -- but we worked it out and my bird Luna lived with me for 13 happy years. Having learned that pigeons are delightful, wonderful companions, I later decided to build a proper aviary to provide a home for a pair of birds in need of rescue. Thank goodness for MickaCoo! The organization has found loving homes for hundreds of abandoned domestic pigeons and doves, along with the information and support necessary to make adopting easy and fun. I support the organization 100%!

Photos

Videos

Pigeons Love Fresh Greens!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 4, 2014

more

March 4, 2014

WHY I FOSTER 24 PIGEONS

I was never very interested in birds. I love dogs, I dream of galloping on my own horse, I bonded with my future husband over rabbits, we have fostered kittens. But birds don’t have names, or personalities, or loveability. So I thought.

When I first
signed up with a new rescue association for pigeons that could not be released into the wild, my reasons were hardly persuasive. The rescued rabbits that we kept for years in a huge aviary-style outdoor cage had finally gone to the Big Carrot in the Sky. The aviary was empty, wasting.

We were tired of rabbits, didn’t want chickens, and weren’t prepared to take on any time-consuming pets. Then I heard about Elizabeth Young, who had committed herself to saving king pigeons. Kings are bred for eating in restaurants, called squab on the menu, so their breast meat is disproportionately large. As a result, they are slow fliers and easy targets for hawks. When kind-hearted people see the beautiful huge white pigeons for sale at Vietnamese and Chinese markets and buy and release them with good intentions, the birds’ “freedom” lasts only a few days and their death is horrible. There are other pigeons too that cannot be released into the wild, such as racing pigeons and “wedding-release” homers that have become lost and are no longer wanted by their owners, as well as some feral pigeons with injuries or who have been raised indoors and then abandoned. Elizabeth formed Mickacoo to rescue these birds, trying to find people who would foster them for a while or adopt them permanently. And there I was, with an unused aviary.

I committed to fostering for a few months. I am still fostering three years later, with a changing group of twenty to twenty-seven birds in my care. Some of my friends think I’m crazy, or at least eccentric, but if they will listen, I explain that the pigeons have been, other than dogs, the most interesting pets I’ve ever had, and compared with my other pets, especially dogs, they are the least trouble. Most days, I spend less than three minutes in the cage, simply filling their food and water bowls. Once a week, I check for eggs, apologizing guiltily as I sneakily remove real eggs and replace them with wooden look-a-likes. (There are too many pigeons in need of rescue, so offspring are a big mistake – called Oops Babies.) The wooden eggs are accepted with grace, and the pigeon couples sit on them patiently for weeks – alternating duties between dad during the day and mom at night - until they decide that location, location, location is the problem, and they move to another hutch and start again. Other days I spend some time hosing off the gravel on the ground or changing the newspaper in their hutches. On the best days, I just sit and watch them, endlessly fascinated by their behavior.

Pigeons mate for life. Their courting, which is recognizable after you’ve seen it once or twice, takes from a few minutes to a few weeks, and then that’s it – they are committed. Unlike humans, the strong and the good looking do not feel entitled to the cream of the crop: their mating choices are inexplicable, but once made, that’s it. The next step is to choose a hutch, win it against any competitors, and build a haphazard nest of straw or twigs. Finally an egg is laid, followed the next day by a second. Then the pressure increases. Whoever is not on duty, spends a huge and hilarious amount of energy chasing the one is on duty back to the nest. No time to eat, or explore, or stretch legs. Round and round the aviary, he/she chases him/her, little legs pumping, efforts to “duke” or bob or weave persistently thwarted. With single-minded determination, the bossy one chases the other back to work.

Animal behaviorists have shown that pigeons can recognize faces, can do tricks, can even be taught to play a form of ping pong. I find it more interesting to watch the way they “kiss” for long moments, a movement that is actually a preparation for feeding a baby bird mouth-to-mouth. To watch mates grooming each other. To hear the soft, calming coo-ing that seems generic at first, but eventually reveals the individuality of each pigeon’s voice.

Elizabeth can tell all the birds apart, but most of the big white ones look the same to me, and I usually have to check the colored bands on their legs or observe where they are nesting and who they are nuzzling. Mackenzie is the one I know best, because he was my first bird, along with an unnamed female, whom I called Ichiban, Number One in Japanese. When they suddenly decided many months later that they were going to be a couple, I watched Mackenzie’s self confidence grow until he was lording it over all newcomers, chasing any rude youngsters out of the cubbies next to and above and below his love nest. Two good years later, Ichiban developed a large lump that made her wing stick out crazily. The avian vet diagnosed a cancerous growth, and Mackenzie accompanied Ichiban to a volunteer with more medical knowledge than I have, and a much smaller aviary. He stayed close to his mate as she grew more and more lopsided. When Ichiban died, it took a while before he paid any attention to the three females placed in his little aviary to distract him. Tomorrow he is coming home to me with his second mate. His original cubby has been usurped in his absence but I know Mackenzie better than I ever thought I would know a bird. He will choose a new place, guard it against any trespassers, settle down into being a faithful husband, boss his wife unmercifully, and recognize my face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 2, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 29, 2012

We first learned of MickaCoo when we discovered someone had released domestic king pigeons in a church park, only to be attacked by hawks. The founder of MickaCoo helped us find foster homes, adopters... more

February 2, 2014

I love MickaCoo. They save so many pigeons and doves, offering these beautiful and smart birds the chance they deserve at a happy and quality filled life. I've been volunteering with MickaCoo since they helped me with a dozen domestic pigeons that were released in a park. MickaCoo came to the rescue when I had no idea what to do. Elizabeth, the founder, drove an hour, to educate us on how to take care of these birds, and she also placed each one in foster homes and then in aviaries where they will now live out their lives, happy and safe. I'm now the proud adopter of a MickaCoo rescue bird who has brought so much joy to our lives. MickaCoo's supportive efforts, outreach, and their unwavering commitment is truly inspiring! Every MickaCoo's member I've had the pleasure to meet has shown so much compassion and I am ever grateful for this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2012

We first learned of MickaCoo when we discovered someone had released domestic king pigeons in a church park, only to be attacked by hawks. The founder of MickaCoo helped us find foster homes, adopters, and helped us with vet care for all the birds, who have all been adopted into loving homes, all thanks to the efforts of this wonderful rescue organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 2, 2012

We adopted our lovely Eurasian collared doves from Mickacoo a year ago. Neela and Sandpiper are gentle, sweet creatures. We fully support the work that Mickacoo does and the education it provides in o... more

April 22, 2013

My son started our love affair with doves and pigeons and Mickacoo gave us a great opportunity to adopt and foster these lovely, gentle birds. We are grateful to Mickacoo for the good work they do. Rescuing doves and pigeons, educating the public to their plight and finding homes for them. We are proud to be Mickacoo volunteers, doing education and outreach and to be doing our part to raise funds for this outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our lovely Eurasian collared doves from Mickacoo a year ago. Neela and Sandpiper are gentle, sweet creatures. We fully support the work that Mickacoo does and the education it provides in our community. Until people learn the consequences of our actions, thank goodness these gentle birds have a safety net giving them a chance to live. Using these birds as a type of confetti during celebrations or having them escape a from live food market leads them to be at the mercy of the elements, cars, dogs, cats, hawks and other hazards. Thank you Mickacoo for your dedication. Our lives are richer as we share them with our doves and pigeon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I ha... more

July 29, 2014

I've had an appreciation for pigeons for some time, I had a bird of my own, a King pigeon named Darius, when I got sick I could no longer care for him. I went through caigslist and all I got were sketchy people that would've probably used him for squab. Then someone suggested MickaCoo. I contacted Elizabeth and she was amazingly supportive and helpful. She invited us to her house and showed us where Darius would be staying until he was transferred to a place more suited for him. We got to spend some time with him before he was brave enough to hop into the mix with the other birds. I've been getting updates throughout the years, he's now going to his forever home with his wife Harper and I couldn't be happier.

MickaCoo saves so many birds and makes so many sacrifices to save every bird they possibly can, it is by far the most dedicated rescue I've ever encountered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, if anything have more foster homes and adopters for these amazing birds and the amazing people that rescue them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I had for two years, and though he could be a little brat most of the time, he was still a sweet heart that would make a nest around his little beanie baby friend.

When I was sick and needed to go to the hospital, my mom was unable to care for him, so as a last resort we found Mickaboo, who directed us to MickaCoo. The last thing I wanted to do was rehome him, but at the same time it would be good for him as well to have other pigeons around. Elizabeth Young and I shared a few emails and pictures, I sent of Darius, and she sent of where he'd be living. When it came time for him to go, she invited us to her house and back into her aviary where Darius would be staying a while.

Darius eventually went to an aviary in the Berkeley hills where he found his mate Harper.

Since then, I was having housing trouble and was unable to foster or adopt, so I did what I could to help out, went to events to talk about birds, cleaned up aviaries and what not. Now I have my own little apartment, fostering birds and caring for sick pigeons I find.

Thanks to MickaCoo, I found my passion for birds again, and if it weren't for these birds I would still be in that really terrible place. They are the perfect pet to just have around as a companion, easy to care for and so loving, and MickaCoo has saved so many of them from the cruelty of the streets where people mainly see them as a nuisance rather than the amazing birds they are.

So please, don't breed, don't buy, adopt!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

MickaCoo is an incredible organization. Their commitment to saving and placing domestic pigeons and doves saves the lives of hundreds of birds that would otherwise be euthainized, or who would meet with a tragic death from being unable to survive in the wild.

As a MickaCoo volunteer,
I have met some of the most wonderful, caring, compassionate people ever. The organization is incredibly well run, and I feel completely supported and appreciated in everything that I do as a volunteer. I had been an independent rescuer of pigeons and doves for years before joining MickaCoo, and now I have a fantastic network of people and resources that allow me to do far more than I would be able to do on my own.

MickaCoo's outreach and education helps birds by allowing members of the public to interact with healthy, domestic pigeons, which is very instrumental in changing the negative attitude that many people hold against pigeons.

I love MickaCoo! My adopted rescues love MickaCoo! My foster pigeons love MickaCoo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

My name is Stevie Bird...I am an umbrella cockatoo. I met Elizabeth and Mr. Valiant last year. I think Valiant is a distant cousin...he is white and so am I. My mom, Donna Rose, helped with an event last year for MickaCoo and I volunteered my time and energy to perform at the event. I gave away some of my books written by Larry B and showed people the difference between exotic birds and pigeons/dove.
I like to give to help other birds and MickaCoo is a great organization that helps pigeons and doves.
Wing hugs,
Stevie Bird

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!