Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.987345
Write A Review
March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This past December a wayward pigeon landed on our deck in one of the worst storms ever. Dazed and exhausted, it took refuge under the plants growing there. We were concerned, yet had no idea what to do beyond putting out some water and food, hoping it would find its way back home once the weather cleared.

In the days that followed, this most brave and beautiful bird stayed on our deck, hiding from predators flying overhead during the day. Intuitively we knew time was of the essence, so my spouse began searching online for information. Because there was a band on this bird's leg, we thought it was a racing pigeon. So we were trying to find it's owner to come retrieve it from our deck.

A few days turned into a few weeks, as we searched online and talked with people. Although none produced the rescue help we needed, one did determine that the bird on our deck was not a racing pigeon. He told us he had read a recent article on SFGate about a woman who rescues pigeons. This lead us to Elizabeth Young and her pigeon and dove rescue organization, MickaCoo. We called and, within hours, Elizabeth came over after dark and retrieved the pigeon from our deck. She even helped us set up a temporary safe space for it inside, came back the next day to examine the birds condition, and talk with us about rescuing this beautiful bird.

At the start of this quest, neither my spouse nor I ever would have considered ourselves candidates for having a bird. We had raised kids and dogs. Still, the notion that "we are all connected" created an opening for a back-and-forth of questions, answers, and willingness to try something new. Three months later, a brave new possibility continues unfolding in our lives -- one that began with the pigeon who came to us, took us to Elizabeth, and now includes a second rescue pigeon from MickaCoo.

We are truly grateful for the help we received and the work Elizabeth and MickaCoo continue to provide in our community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 1, 2013

more

February 1, 2013

We found an abandoned king pigeon at a local park. We had no idea what to do, but found MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue online. We contacted the founder, Elizabeth, and she was incredibly helpful. She gave us advice, and we were able to find a lovely home for the bird. Without her help, we would have been at a loss as to what to do.

Elizabeth genuinely cares about each bird. She stayed in touch with us while we fostered the bird and even followed up with the bird's adopter to make sure that all was well. This is a wonderful organization!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One morning we came across an unusually friendly pigeon in the parking lot of a mall in New Jersey, dancing and cooing on car rooftops. He climbed onto my arm but pecked at my skin quite hard, so at the time it wasn't clear that he wanted to be handled or taken home. Luckily, I found information about MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue online with Elizabeth Young's phone number. Elizabeth listened to my description of the bird and explained that it was a lost domestic pigeon asking for help. She gave us tips about how to bring him to safety and some referrals of places in the NY-NJ area that might take him in (being in California, MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue was not an option). It took over a week to find a bird rescue organization able to receive the pigeon, and during that time Elizabeth took every one of our daily calls to help us care for him. She was incredibly knowledgeable about his needs and talked us through some stressful moments, as well as sending us detailed information online. She was patient about answering all our questions and genuinely supportive, despite the fact that we were on the other side of the country. We eventually brought the pigeon to a rescue organization where he is in good hands, all thanks to her ongoing assistance and support. We are extremely grateful for the heartfelt, professional services that Elizabeth Young extended in our time of need, all at no charge. CA pigeons and doves are fortunate to have her on their side, as is anyone in the country in need of her expert advice!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

When a friend of mine found a white bird sitting still on the lawn outside of a hospital, he thought it was a dove and gave her to me as a gift, as I had been wanting a pet and sort of fell enchanted with the pretty creature. I had no idea how to care for this bird tho, so I luckily found MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue, and it has been invaluable help for me to be able to provide my new house mate a satisfying life. As it turns out the bird, who I named Almira, is actually a King Pigeon, a breed of pigeon that although extremely intelligent and emotionally engaged, have a slim chance to live if they are not found good homes and care givers. MickaCoo does excellent work in educating the public about not "setting free" these king pigeons who are being sold as squab to restaurants (such a sad fact). MickaCoo has also helped me along every step of the way in caring for Almira. They came down to my apartment to give Almira some lice and mite treatment, preventative antibiotics, and to give me some pigeon 101, letting me know about appropriate feeding and safety issues regarding my home, about trying out pigeon pants, and how to build an aviary. MickaCoo even connected me to some other volunteers who helped me to plan out and build my outdoor aviary. The non-profit's leader has been available when I've had queries regarding Almira's health and behavior. I have no doubt at all that MickaCoo cares deeply about providing happy homes for pigeons and doves who would otherwise be killed because of the ignorance of people who buy squab to release at weddings (when King Pigeons have no homing instincts or ability to survive alone in the wild). The work that MickaCoo is committed to is truly moving, and I can appreciate this especially because I know what adorable companions pigeons can be, and how deserving they are of healthy happy lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012

more

October 25, 2012

I came across some women at a bake sale one afternoon that changed my life. They had pigeons wearing pants and told me about what great pets pigeons can be, and how there were so many that needed rescuing. A few months later, I had a foster pair of beautiful birds in my living room. Mickacoo came over with a cage, food and dishes, a nest box and everything else I needed to get started. Elizabeth at Mickacoo is always available for anything I or my birds might need at any hour. Having the birds has been a wonderful experience, and knowing that I have Mickacoo support is really valuable.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

Although Pigeon & Dove rescue might not be the highest priority for most people, there is a need and a niche for this in our society and for that, noone deserves higher praise than Elizabeth Young and her non-profit, Mickacoo. Her love and dedication for these birds is evident in everything that she does and no creature has a more forceful advocate on their side. Not only does she tirelessly strive to save the birds in her care, she educates people and makes them aware that there is much more to the humble pigeon then meets the eye and lastly, she's a true believer in what she does. They might be little lives but she's saved thousands of them from undue pain, suffering and death and for that, Mickapoo deserves the highest praise and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 7, 2012

more

October 7, 2012

I LOVE THIS ORGANIZATION. I HAVE NEVER MET ANYONE AS PASSIONATE AS ELIZABETH YOUNG AND HER TEAM. THEY NEVER CEASE TO AMAZE ME, AND WHEN OTHER'S THINK THEY ARE CRAZY FOR TRYING TO SAVE SOME ANIMALS THAT SEEM BEYOND SAVING, THEY HAVE PROVED US WRONG, OVER AND OVER AGAIN. THEY DESERVE SO MUCH MORE RECOGNITION. I WILL ALWAYS STAND BEHIND THIS ORGANIZATION. THEY DO SO MUCH, FOR SO LITTLE IN RETURN. THEY INSPIRE ME TO DO THEY VERY BEST, AND TO LEARN AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE ABOUT THESE ANIMALS, BECAUSE THEY ALL DERSERVE A CHANCE TO LIVE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012

more

October 4, 2012

Mickacoo rescues pigeons and doves, and there are not many groups that do that. When I wanted to rescue pigeons, Mickacoo helped me find a beautiful aviary that i could afford, and they found other volunteers to help me put it together (and knew how to put it together.) They are always there for support and to answer questions. This is a great great organization, and the people who run it and volunteer with it are incredible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012

more

October 3, 2012

Sadly, it never occurred to me that pigeons needed rescue. The creation and growth of MickaCoo has made the plight of homeless, abused, abandoned, and neglected racing pigeons, King pigeons, homing pigeons, "fancy" pigeons, and the hybridized domestic/wild birds a vivid and worthwhile object of philanthropy. The dedication and passion brought to the care of these birds and the care taken to characterize their beauty, gentle nature, and positive characteristics makes it very clear why we as human beings have a responsibility to protect them. All of the creatures we domesticate are forever altered by what we do to them; if we abandon them when they are helpless, what does that say for us as a species? MickaCoo provides an alternative - usually, the only alternative to such terrible treatment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I fell in love with pigeons when I met Elizabeth Young at the Marin Humane Society in San Rafael, California. Elizabeth was doing outreach with two of her lovely King Pigeons, and I happened to walk by...that conversation changed my world! I now have a beautiful aviary in my backyard and two delightful pigeons. Elizabeth rescues these birds in need and shows so many people how loving and beautiful they are. They are calm and patient and very intelligent. People like Elizabeth make the world a better place...Thank you, Elizabeth!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!