Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.985295
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough good things about MickaCoo Pigeon & Dove Rescue and the group's leader, Elizabeth Young-- What a wonderful organization!! I connected with MickaCoo in the Fall of 2012, after I rescued a white racing pigeon from a state park near my office in Gainesville, Florida. At the time, I knew NOTHING about pigeons, so was desperate for good info. on their care and an answer to all my questions about these lovely birds. Internet searches brought me to all the great info. on MickaCoo's website and Facebook page....and even though it was a group located clear on the other side of the country, I knew that I needed to get in touch with Elizabeth. She immediately replied with the loveliest, kindest letter--filled with valuable info. as well as all the encouragement I needed to properly care for Mr. Bird (what we very fondly call him) and begin the process of looking for alternative homes for him. Since then I've e-mailed her numerous times with questions--and have always gotten a kind, well-written, detailed reply. The info. and encouragement Elizabeth provides has made a world of difference to me and my husband as we care for this delightful little bird (who is now a permanent member of our family, I might add--we are his "forever home"! ☺). Through the daily posts to the MickaCoo Facebook page, I am able to experience, from afar, the GREAT work she and her wonderful volunteers are continually doing to help the many pigeons and doves who need care and good homes (and would otherwise suffer and die or be killed outright). In addition to directly rescuing and rehabilitating the birds, they also spend a great deal of time educating people from all walks of life about pigeons and doves and what great birds they are, as well as the may dangers they face and abuse they needlessly suffer. They encourage people to adopt, not breed, these birds (so many need homes!)....and they promote kindness and compassion toward these sometimes misunderstood creatures (and in doing so, they help create a kinder, gentler, more compassionate world). MickaCoo's work is 24/7 and they do an amazing job!! Thank you MickaCoo (and a special shout-out and thanks to Elizabeth Young from Mr. Bird's family in Florida). ☺

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None. This organization is great just the way it is! I wouldn't change it any...but if I could make sure it had more funds, I'd definitely arrange for that. Oh, and I'd put branches of it in every state. ☺

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 2, 2012

We adopted our lovely Eurasian collared doves from Mickacoo a year ago. Neela and Sandpiper are gentle, sweet creatures. We fully support the work that Mickacoo does and the education it provides in o... more

April 22, 2013

My son started our love affair with doves and pigeons and Mickacoo gave us a great opportunity to adopt and foster these lovely, gentle birds. We are grateful to Mickacoo for the good work they do. Rescuing doves and pigeons, educating the public to their plight and finding homes for them. We are proud to be Mickacoo volunteers, doing education and outreach and to be doing our part to raise funds for this outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted our lovely Eurasian collared doves from Mickacoo a year ago. Neela and Sandpiper are gentle, sweet creatures. We fully support the work that Mickacoo does and the education it provides in our community. Until people learn the consequences of our actions, thank goodness these gentle birds have a safety net giving them a chance to live. Using these birds as a type of confetti during celebrations or having them escape a from live food market leads them to be at the mercy of the elements, cars, dogs, cats, hawks and other hazards. Thank you Mickacoo for your dedication. Our lives are richer as we share them with our doves and pigeon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 25, 2012

I am a bird person, and when I learned about Mickacoo, I was thrilled to find a group that truly cares about the well-being of birds! I have been a regular donor since learning about them in 2002, and... more

April 21, 2013

I love birds, but my work requires frequent travel, so I'm not able to take direct responsibility for caring for birds. MickaCoo does a fantastic job of caring for birds, and educating the public about the joys of pigeons and doves as companion birds. I have a friend who adopted two birds from MickaCoo, and they bring her (and me, vicariously) so much joy on a daily basis.

I appreciate and value all that MickaCoo does for birds and the people who love them!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a bird person, and when I learned about Mickacoo, I was thrilled to find a group that truly cares about the well-being of birds! I have been a regular donor since learning about them in 2002, and am pleased to support a group of wonderfully dedicated and devoted people who truly love the beautiful creatures who make life so sweet for all of us.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I have been rescuing, rehabilitating and then giving unreleasable doves a" Forever Home" since 1990. I found out about MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue through Facebook about six months ago and have been supporting them with financial donations ever since. I am still in awe of what these wonderful people do for birds that would have been euthanized because there was no where for them to go. Through dedication, tireless volunteering, generosity with their own money as more donations are still needed ,
and lots of love and caring these people have placed birds in "Forever Homes" , or Foster Homes until adoptive families are found. The adoption process is thorough and careful- birds are not simply given away. This leads to permanence AND happy birds and families. I plan to continue to help these MickaCoo volunteers as much as I can because I firmly believe that every living being deserves a chance, If I did not live so far away ( the Jersey Shore !!! ) I would consider it an HONOR to work side by side with these people.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I had for two years, and though he could be a little brat most of the time, he was still a sweet heart that would make a nest around his little beanie baby friend.

When I was sick and needed to go to the hospital, my mom was unable to care for him, so as a last resort we found Mickaboo, who directed us to MickaCoo. The last thing I wanted to do was rehome him, but at the same time it would be good for him as well to have other pigeons around. Elizabeth Young and I shared a few emails and pictures, I sent of Darius, and she sent of where he'd be living. When it came time for him to go, she invited us to her house and back into her aviary where Darius would be staying a while.

Darius eventually went to an aviary in the Berkeley hills where he found his mate Harper.

Since then, I was having housing trouble and was unable to foster or adopt, so I did what I could to help out, went to events to talk about birds, cleaned up aviaries and what not. Now I have my own little apartment, fostering birds and caring for sick pigeons I find.

Thanks to MickaCoo, I found my passion for birds again, and if it weren't for these birds I would still be in that really terrible place. They are the perfect pet to just have around as a companion, easy to care for and so loving, and MickaCoo has saved so many of them from the cruelty of the streets where people mainly see them as a nuisance rather than the amazing birds they are.

So please, don't breed, don't buy, adopt!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

MickaCoo is an incredible organization. Their commitment to saving and placing domestic pigeons and doves saves the lives of hundreds of birds that would otherwise be euthainized, or who would meet with a tragic death from being unable to survive in the wild.

As a MickaCoo volunteer,
I have met some of the most wonderful, caring, compassionate people ever. The organization is incredibly well run, and I feel completely supported and appreciated in everything that I do as a volunteer. I had been an independent rescuer of pigeons and doves for years before joining MickaCoo, and now I have a fantastic network of people and resources that allow me to do far more than I would be able to do on my own.

MickaCoo's outreach and education helps birds by allowing members of the public to interact with healthy, domestic pigeons, which is very instrumental in changing the negative attitude that many people hold against pigeons.

I love MickaCoo! My adopted rescues love MickaCoo! My foster pigeons love MickaCoo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

My name is Stevie Bird...I am an umbrella cockatoo. I met Elizabeth and Mr. Valiant last year. I think Valiant is a distant cousin...he is white and so am I. My mom, Donna Rose, helped with an event last year for MickaCoo and I volunteered my time and energy to perform at the event. I gave away some of my books written by Larry B and showed people the difference between exotic birds and pigeons/dove.
I like to give to help other birds and MickaCoo is a great organization that helps pigeons and doves.
Wing hugs,
Stevie Bird

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 16, 2013

more

April 16, 2013

Domestic pigeons and doves are gentle, charming, quiet, affectionate pets. They are also among the most misunderstood and maligned. Fortunately for them, Elizabeth Young saw their beauty and their vulnerability, and set about forming MICKACOO, a bird rescue group dedicated to saving and rehoming these deserving birds. Anyone who meets her recognizes her passion and her integrity - and indeed many hundreds of Fantail Pigeons, Homing Pigeons, all white KIng Pigeons, and ring neck doves owe tier lives to Mickacoo and its hardy band of dedicated volunteers. They are well worth supporting.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I had never heard of MickaCoo before we found a blind and broken-winged baby pigeon in our care. Fortunately, we did find MickaCoo and Elizabeth and Jenny, our pigeon, lives happily with her mate in our home, since we adopted them about a year and a half ago. I have worked on a couple of volunteer projects with them and the fosters and other, more regular, volunteers and Elizabeth work tirelessly to help these birds. They mostly focus on King Pigeons, who are beautiful birds and wonderful pets, but are bred to be eaten as squab, so have lost all ability to survive in the wild. Elizabeth helps so many pigeons and doves and there really is no one else who does what she does and with so few resources. This is a truly amazing non-profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 20, 2013

We had a little injured homing pigeon walk in our cat door a few months ago and I took it to WildCare in Marin to see if they could help him. They did while he was there he hooked up with a little rol... more

April 6, 2013

I rescued an injured pigeon and her mate and Elizabeth at MickaCoo was so friendly and helpful in getting me started with them. I am getting to know them now and adore them! I would love to see more people get involved in making aviaries for these wonderful and smart little birds that bring so much sweetness to life!
They need our support! They are a fantastic group!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 20, 2013

We had a little injured homing pigeon walk in our cat door a few months ago and I took it to WildCare in Marin to see if they could help him. They did while he was there he hooked up with a little roller pigeon and they were inseparable. I kept checking on them because I didn't want them to be euthanized at the Humane Society if there was no room for them anymore. I found Elizabeth at MickaCoo and she was so incredible! She walked me through everything about having pigeons, and even brought one over! We then built an aviary and I have Polka Dot and Pansy and they are so happy! I have always had cats and have 4 but the pigeons are happy and I am really enjoying them! I didn't think I could do this, I am so busy with work and life, but having them has enriched our life tremendously. Elizabeth is a perfect ambassador for these sweet creatures! Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!