Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.985925
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I fostered a pigeon and had very little experience working with birds. MickaCoo was very supportive and helpful, giving me very specific advice for keeping Woofle happy and healthy while in my care. MickaCoo also found a perfect home for him and he is happily settled in his forever home now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

MickaCoo truly serves the welfare and rights of domestic pigeons, a bird too often maligned. I'm often surprised by the dedication and compassion of their staff, volunteers and supporters by how they go to great lengths to rescue pigeons found lost outdoors or in shelters and needing medical care. MickaCoo addresses all aspects of this issue, not just rescuing and caring for these birds, but doing adoptions, education on how great pjs are, and classes on caretaking. They partner with local groups and agencies to offer these services. I don't have much money for donations, but always feel that some must go to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 16, 2013

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I ha... more

July 29, 2014

I've had an appreciation for pigeons for some time, I had a bird of my own, a King pigeon named Darius, when I got sick I could no longer care for him. I went through caigslist and all I got were sketchy people that would've probably used him for squab. Then someone suggested MickaCoo. I contacted Elizabeth and she was amazingly supportive and helpful. She invited us to her house and showed us where Darius would be staying until he was transferred to a place more suited for him. We got to spend some time with him before he was brave enough to hop into the mix with the other birds. I've been getting updates throughout the years, he's now going to his forever home with his wife Harper and I couldn't be happier.

MickaCoo saves so many birds and makes so many sacrifices to save every bird they possibly can, it is by far the most dedicated rescue I've ever encountered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, if anything have more foster homes and adopters for these amazing birds and the amazing people that rescue them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 16, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

When I first discovered MickaCoo, I was in an awful place in my life, it was the first time I was admitted to the hospital. At that time I had a pigeon named Darius, he was a king pigeon mix that I had for two years, and though he could be a little brat most of the time, he was still a sweet heart that would make a nest around his little beanie baby friend.

When I was sick and needed to go to the hospital, my mom was unable to care for him, so as a last resort we found Mickaboo, who directed us to MickaCoo. The last thing I wanted to do was rehome him, but at the same time it would be good for him as well to have other pigeons around. Elizabeth Young and I shared a few emails and pictures, I sent of Darius, and she sent of where he'd be living. When it came time for him to go, she invited us to her house and back into her aviary where Darius would be staying a while.

Darius eventually went to an aviary in the Berkeley hills where he found his mate Harper.

Since then, I was having housing trouble and was unable to foster or adopt, so I did what I could to help out, went to events to talk about birds, cleaned up aviaries and what not. Now I have my own little apartment, fostering birds and caring for sick pigeons I find.

Thanks to MickaCoo, I found my passion for birds again, and if it weren't for these birds I would still be in that really terrible place. They are the perfect pet to just have around as a companion, easy to care for and so loving, and MickaCoo has saved so many of them from the cruelty of the streets where people mainly see them as a nuisance rather than the amazing birds they are.

So please, don't breed, don't buy, adopt!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Pigeons and doves are remarkable animals. They can hear the sound of wind rushing over mountains a thousand miles away. They see colors we can only imagine. They have spectacular memories and retain hundreds of mental images for years. They may be among a small number of animals capable of passing the "mirror test" for self-recognition. They are loving parents—sometimes even foster parents to other species—and affectionate companions.

Almost singlehandedly, MickaCoo has taken responsibility for helping these gentle creatures in a world where they have been misunderstood, often hatefully stereotyped, abused, and routinely euthanized at animal shelters. Not only have MickaCoo volunteers rescued and rehabilitated hundreds, releasing those who could rejoin wild flocks and finding homes for those who could not; in doing so, they are fundamentally changing common misperceptions of pigeons and doves: first among their many volunteers and supporters, who foster, adopt, and come to know these birds as intelligent, loving, and unique individuals; then, more broadly, as their experience and understanding is shared among among friends and spreads to the public at large. MickaCoo is one of the most dedicated and effective volunteer organizations I have ever known. I wholeheartedly endorse and support their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

The MickaCoo organization is truly exceptional in that its volunteers go above and beyond in order to secure safe, happy homes that are specifically appropriate to each individual bird. After rescuing a wounded baby dove last summer, I was at a loss for what to do with the little guy. I ended up raising him myself, as one of his legs was permanently crippled and he could not be released into the wild. I searched for months trying to find a home for him, only to be met with closed doors and negative reactions. After stumbling upon the MickaCoo website during one of my searches, I immediately emailed the organization. MickaCoo began the process of pairing my dove with suitable partners (both human and dove). I was touched by their concern for the welfare of this tiny creature. When the time came to give "Tweet" up, I was confident he was in good hands. The work MickaCoo does is invaluable, and gives precious, oft overlooked birds, a chance at a healthy, happy life!
March 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescu... more

March 29, 2014

MickaCoo has introduced me to many wonderful, vibrant pigeons, each with their own unique personality. I have made new friends-- both pigeon and human-- through my involvement with MickaCoo, and feel fortunate to be involved in their life-saving work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to create even more forever homes for pigeons and doves

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescued when her nest was abandoned, and were fortunate enough to adopt two more pigeons. MickaCoo helps unreleasable pigeons and doves by raising public awareness of their plight and by providing temporary foster homes, veterinary care, and adoption placements.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

This unique rescue is the only one I know of that promotes the cause of domestic pigeons and doves. Like everyone else, I thought of the wild pigeons and knew nothing of the domestics. Elizabeth Young... more

March 28, 2014

MickaCoo is unique in that it addresses an group of animals overlooked by the majority of rescues. Not only does MickaCoo rescue, provide foster care and avian medical care, and find forever homes for domestic pigeons and doves, but they are changing the rescue culture by educating rescues and the public about these amazing birds. I am amazed daily by how much is accomplished on the tight budget they have. With only 1 paid employee, volunteers are critical to MickaCoo's success. They are exceptionally caring and devoted to making a difference in the lives of these beautiful, intelligent, and gentle birds. Imagine what they could accomplish with a larger budget!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MickaCoo is so professional and devoted, I don't think anything would make it better except more volunteers and more money.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This unique rescue is the only one I know of that promotes the cause of domestic pigeons and doves. Like everyone else, I thought of the wild pigeons and knew nothing of the domestics. Elizabeth Young's enthusiasm is contagious, she is so passionate about the pigeons and doves. I caught 'the fever' when a homing pigeon, Little Cloud, came into my life. He adopted me, and we are both so very happy. He is a special member of the family. We want to share the domestic pigeon and dove story with everyone. They are smart and beautiful and make wonderful pets and companions. They are easy to care for, quiet, and calming. MickaCoo teaches anyone interested in adopting how to care for the birds and provide a safe enclosure indoors or out. This is a fantastic non-profit run by an incredible woman and staffed by devoted volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

I knew nothing about domestic pigeons and doves until I met Elizabeth Young, Executive Director of MickaCoo. She explained the plight of these lovely, intelligent, and very misunderstood birds. I began working with her and discovered immediately how dedicated she is to help these birds. She is a POWERHOUSE of energy and stops at nothihg to spread their news. Her small but growing team of volunteers (myself included) are motivated by her as well as the desire to save these birds. The team brings a very wide variety of skills and talents and an abundance of energy to work to save these wonderful animals. Please help us teach the public to once again revere these birds as they once were. There is even a pigeon on display in the Smithsonian because she was a hero in WW I and saved many American soldiers' lives. They need to be respected and enjoyed again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By moving birds from my foster home to a perment home, by seeing money donated, and by scheduling lectures. I see other fosters' birds move into loving, forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and sponsors to provide in-kind services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We do everything imaginable. If I think of anything else, I'll do it!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

YES! I've learned how wonderful these birds are, and I've met great people who share the passion for helping the animals.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Gratified and frustrated. Gratified when I am able to help a bird, but frustrated that more people aren't aware of their situation. But we're working on that. Each time someone new says, "Oh, I didn't know that" I feel terrific that we are spreading the word.

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

MickaCoo is a great program with many devoted volunteers and community supporters. They help care for, find homes for and, even more importantly, educate the public about releasing pigeons and/or doves at ceremonial events, about producing birds for squab, as well as use for hunting practice and live pigeon shoots. Having MickaCoo as part of our community is invaluable...and hard, hard work! Thank you, MickaCoo.
March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo had my heart at the word "pigeon." An organization that rescues, rehabilitates and champions animals who so often get the short shrift in our world earns my affection and respect for that endeavor alone. But MickaCoo transcends even that valuable role. They exceed all expectations of compassion when it comes to interpersonal advocacy.

Several years ago, my husband and I found ourselves with a lost and unwanted racing pigeon, no outdoor space, and no real guidance on how to care for our new rescue. Even as a volunteer wildlife rehabilitator, I had precious few contacts in terms helping domestic pigeons.

Despite an always overwhelming case load, MickaCoo stepped up to offer us counsel and resources. It was through MickaCoo that we learned how to properly house, feed and care for our wayward bird. MickaCoo came in to help when we encountered a rescue situation that was beyond our capacities to handle. And it is entirely because of MickaCoo -- and the deep care they showed for the birds and for us -- that we ourselves, became allies and advocates for the well-being of pigeons.

It's difficult to assign a value to the tireless work of animal rescue and advocacy groups. No quantification can possibly capture the totality of what they do. But I can think of no greater measure of an organization than its ability to change hearts and minds. MickaCoo and its volunteers, through their own passions and commitments, did just that. They engendered in us a deep ethic of care for these birds -- and they continuously create a lasting legacy of compassion, one by one, bird by bird.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece to... more

March 24, 2014

More than twenty years ago, I was adopted by a baby King pigeon who needed my help. I didn't know the first thing about pigeons then, and I so wished there had been an organization like MickaCoo to help us. My pigeon and I had to figure it all out from scratch, which we did -- and she lived with me for almost thirteen years. During that time, I rescued other pigeons that needed help, again wishing there were an organization to provide dedicated support to these smart, sweet birds. I was so grateful when Elizabeth started MickaCoo to fill this need!

Today, I have four rescued pigeons that I adopted through MickaCoo, and I volunteer with the organization whenever I can. It's also the only nonprofit to which I donate money on a monthly basis. I couldn't imagine a more hardworking, caring director than Elizabeth or a group of more compassionate volunteers and supporters than MickaCoo's network. MickaCoo helps hundreds of beautiful birds every year, providing them with care and loving homes. I only wish I could do more to help!
June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece together information about pigeons and how to properly care for them. Given the unfair bias that many individuals and even wildlife rescue organizations have toward pigeons, this was not always easy to do -- but we worked it out and my bird Luna lived with me for 13 happy years. Having learned that pigeons are delightful, wonderful companions, I later decided to build a proper aviary to provide a home for a pair of birds in need of rescue. Thank goodness for MickaCoo! The organization has found loving homes for hundreds of abandoned domestic pigeons and doves, along with the information and support necessary to make adopting easy and fun. I support the organization 100%!

Photos

Videos

Pigeons Love Fresh Greens!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!