Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
79 Reviews
1234.987345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
November 12, 2014

more

November 12, 2014

My husband and I recently noticed a "pink bird" that seemed to have taken up residence on our roof. Actually one of our dogs brought it to our attention that this bird was on our roof and hanging around our back yard. It was so unusual to see a "pink bird" so I started emailing different bird websites that I found on line asking if they knew what type of bird this was. It was consistently in our yard for almost two weeks which seemed very odd to me. Luckily I came across Elizabeth's website and sent her a picture of the bird asking if she knew what type of bird it was. Elizabeth emailed me immediately telling me that his was a domestic bird that someone had painted pink, probably for a wedding or some event and that we needed to catch it right away or it was very likely to be scooped up by a predator, being domestic it has no survival skills. To make a long story short, we caught it thinking we would be turning it over to someone local that was part of Elizabeth's team....however, my husband and I got a little attached to it so it is now living safely in a large cage in our back yard safe from harm. Elizabeth was and continues to be a great resource for us and I can't say enough about her devotion to these vulnerable birds. They really do make nice low maintenance pets.
October 30, 2014

more

October 30, 2014

Mickacoo is one of my favorite nonprofits because they support an often overlooked and unloved animal - the pigeon (and doves, too, which are basically the same thing but smaller). Founder Elizabeth Young works tirelessly to give homes to as many pigeons as humanly possible, and she's also very generous with her time and advice when people have pigeon or dove questions.

One of my best friends rescued a lost ringneck pigeon and contacted Mickacoo about finding a spouse for his new dove "Penelope". Mickacoo brought him Petunia, a petite white dove with a sweet and slightly shy temperament. In the end, Penelope turned out to be a boy, Petunia was indeed a girl, and it was love at first sight. The pair has been "married" for a couple years now, and they're very happy together as the only two residents of a large outdoor aviary. Mr. P loves his little wife and constantly watches over her and offers her presents and songs.
October 7, 2014

more

October 7, 2014

This non-profit is unbelievable. After a lost racing pigeon ended up in our backyard, my husband and I did not know what to do. An Internet search yielded MickaCoo Pigeon and Dove Rescue, which may very well be the only organization of its kind nationally and internationally. Elizabeth Young is an expert, and provided tons of support. First, she introduced me to other people in my area. Second, she personally wrote back to me and once even spent an hour on the phone helping me. Finally, the website and its resources are top notch. There is a plethora of information on there from what to feed pigeons to how to build an aviary. Unbelievable support to the community.
Janice
October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

This summer, I acquired several disabled pigeons who needed a home. I live far from the area that MickaCoo serves, but they have still offered advice and their website has been an invaluable resource for helping me get set up with proper care. I also follow their Facebook page, and it is so encouraging and uplifting to see photos and stories of birds who have been helped, and to know that there is a community out there that cares about doves and pigeons as much as I do. I only wish that I were close enough to volunteer!
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I met and fell in love with my first pigeon last year. Since then I have acquired 3 more, and recently I adopted two birds from Mickacoo. The pigeon is a bird who is often times despised in society, and what impresses me most about Mickacoo is their devotion to changing this perception. They work constantly doing outreaches in the public, presenting these birds in pants at events, and showing the general public what awesome birds pigeons really are. I had no idea. Rescue work is exhausting and sometimes heartbreaking but they keep hanging in there and doing it. Their adoption site showing all their birds is fun to look at, and a pigeon will be your best friend! They are the best non profit!
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

There are no words to express the joy that MickaCoo has brought me. They helped me to adopt my two beloved pet pigeons, Coo Jackman and Talma, and their volunteers have stuck close by me in the year since the adoption, giving me advice on how to care for my birds, and answering the many questions I've had in an incredibly timely fashion. They have also given me many wonderful opportunities to share my joy with the public as a volunteer during outreach events. We teach thousands of people each year about how intelligent, noble, and charming pigeons are, and present them as excellent, hearty pets. The MickaCoo volunteers are kind, clever, capable, lovely people who do amazing work using the most meager of funds and supplies. I can only imagine the miracles they could perform if they reached their funding goals! This is a highly ethical organization that I recommend without any hesitation to anyone seeking to help animals.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

Mickacoo helped me adopt an amazing little bird who brings joy to my household every day. Elizabeth Young works heart and soul for this rescue, bringing together laymen and experts in aid of living beings whose feeling individuality goes generally unnoticed and devalued . Mickacoo saves and heals birds for whom there's no other hope, educates the public and brings unexpected happiness to those who adopt, foster or just visit with these remarkable creatures. I feel great admiration for Mickacoo, and will always do whatever I can to support this humane, determined and well-structured effort.

P.S. First I put "a lot" under the "help received" section below because I thought "life changing" might sound excessive for having gained a little avian friend by adoption. But you know what -- I was wrestling with a real depression and human loss, and the bright spirit of this tiny, playful, affectionate being, supremely vulnerable yet alive and courageous against all odds -- that is a lift every single day. Yes, it is "life changing."

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can think of no way in which I could better Mickacoo -- I consider it a remarkable achievement.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

MickaCoo is one of a kind. The plight of homeless domestic animals is significant, and that of domestic pigeons and doves all the more so because no one even knows about them. Most people have such misinformed ideas about pigeons, and MickaCoo does amazing and necessary work by reaching out to the community and showing people that (domestic) pigeons are kind, intelligent birds full of personality who deserve loving homes. I have been in contact with the founder of MickaCoo, Elizabeth Young, and she has been so helpful and supportive in answering all of my questions regarding my own adopted pigeons, even though she is incredibly busy. She truly cares about pigeons and doves and it warms my heart to know that there is such an amazing organization out there advocating for these under-appreciated birds.
August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I fostered a pigeon and had very little experience working with birds. MickaCoo was very supportive and helpful, giving me very specific advice for keeping Woofle happy and healthy while in my care. MickaCoo also found a perfect home for him and he is happily settled in his forever home now!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Unsure

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

MickaCoo truly serves the welfare and rights of domestic pigeons, a bird too often maligned. I'm often surprised by the dedication and compassion of their staff, volunteers and supporters by how they go to great lengths to rescue pigeons found lost outdoors or in shelters and needing medical care. MickaCoo addresses all aspects of this issue, not just rescuing and caring for these birds, but doing adoptions, education on how great pjs are, and classes on caretaking. They partner with local groups and agencies to offer these services. I don't have much money for donations, but always feel that some must go to this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!