Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
68 Reviews
1234.985295
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014

more

April 17, 2014

Pigeons and doves are remarkable animals. They can hear the sound of wind rushing over mountains a thousand miles away. They see colors we can only imagine. They have spectacular memories and retain hundreds of mental images for years. They may be among a small number of animals capable of passing the "mirror test" for self-recognition. They are loving parents—sometimes even foster parents to other species—and affectionate companions.

Almost singlehandedly, MickaCoo has taken responsibility for helping these gentle creatures in a world where they have been misunderstood, often hatefully stereotyped, abused, and routinely euthanized at animal shelters. Not only have MickaCoo volunteers rescued and rehabilitated hundreds, releasing those who could rejoin wild flocks and finding homes for those who could not; in doing so, they are fundamentally changing common misperceptions of pigeons and doves: first among their many volunteers and supporters, who foster, adopt, and come to know these birds as intelligent, loving, and unique individuals; then, more broadly, as their experience and understanding is shared among among friends and spreads to the public at large. MickaCoo is one of the most dedicated and effective volunteer organizations I have ever known. I wholeheartedly endorse and support their work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 7, 2014

more

April 7, 2014

The MickaCoo organization is truly exceptional in that its volunteers go above and beyond in order to secure safe, happy homes that are specifically appropriate to each individual bird. After rescuing a wounded baby dove last summer, I was at a loss for what to do with the little guy. I ended up raising him myself, as one of his legs was permanently crippled and he could not be released into the wild. I searched for months trying to find a home for him, only to be met with closed doors and negative reactions. After stumbling upon the MickaCoo website during one of my searches, I immediately emailed the organization. MickaCoo began the process of pairing my dove with suitable partners (both human and dove). I was touched by their concern for the welfare of this tiny creature. When the time came to give "Tweet" up, I was confident he was in good hands. The work MickaCoo does is invaluable, and gives precious, oft overlooked birds, a chance at a healthy, happy life!
March 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 27, 2012

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescu... more

March 29, 2014

MickaCoo has introduced me to many wonderful, vibrant pigeons, each with their own unique personality. I have made new friends-- both pigeon and human-- through my involvement with MickaCoo, and feel fortunate to be involved in their life-saving work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to create even more forever homes for pigeons and doves

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 27, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo serves some of the most under-represented animals in the Bay Area: pigeons and doves. I discovered them when my husband and I were looking for a companion for the feral pigeon that we rescued when her nest was abandoned, and were fortunate enough to adopt two more pigeons. MickaCoo helps unreleasable pigeons and doves by raising public awareness of their plight and by providing temporary foster homes, veterinary care, and adoption placements.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 9, 2013

This unique rescue is the only one I know of that promotes the cause of domestic pigeons and doves. Like everyone else, I thought of the wild pigeons and knew nothing of the domestics. Elizabeth Young... more

March 28, 2014

MickaCoo is unique in that it addresses an group of animals overlooked by the majority of rescues. Not only does MickaCoo rescue, provide foster care and avian medical care, and find forever homes for domestic pigeons and doves, but they are changing the rescue culture by educating rescues and the public about these amazing birds. I am amazed daily by how much is accomplished on the tight budget they have. With only 1 paid employee, volunteers are critical to MickaCoo's success. They are exceptionally caring and devoted to making a difference in the lives of these beautiful, intelligent, and gentle birds. Imagine what they could accomplish with a larger budget!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MickaCoo is so professional and devoted, I don't think anything would make it better except more volunteers and more money.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This unique rescue is the only one I know of that promotes the cause of domestic pigeons and doves. Like everyone else, I thought of the wild pigeons and knew nothing of the domestics. Elizabeth Young's enthusiasm is contagious, she is so passionate about the pigeons and doves. I caught 'the fever' when a homing pigeon, Little Cloud, came into my life. He adopted me, and we are both so very happy. He is a special member of the family. We want to share the domestic pigeon and dove story with everyone. They are smart and beautiful and make wonderful pets and companions. They are easy to care for, quiet, and calming. MickaCoo teaches anyone interested in adopting how to care for the birds and provide a safe enclosure indoors or out. This is a fantastic non-profit run by an incredible woman and staffed by devoted volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012

I knew nothing about domestic pigeons and doves until I met Elizabeth Young, Executive Director of MickaCoo. She explained the plight of these lovely, intelligent, and very misunderstood birds. I began working with her and discovered immediately how dedicated she is to help these birds. She is a POWERHOUSE of energy and stops at nothihg to spread their news. Her small but growing team of volunteers (myself included) are motivated by her as well as the desire to save these birds. The team brings a very wide variety of skills and talents and an abundance of energy to work to save these wonderful animals. Please help us teach the public to once again revere these birds as they once were. There is even a pigeon on display in the Smithsonian because she was a hero in WW I and saved many American soldiers' lives. They need to be respected and enjoyed again.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By moving birds from my foster home to a perment home, by seeing money donated, and by scheduling lectures. I see other fosters' birds move into loving, forever homes.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers and sponsors to provide in-kind services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We do everything imaginable. If I think of anything else, I'll do it!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

YES! I've learned how wonderful these birds are, and I've met great people who share the passion for helping the animals.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Gratified and frustrated. Gratified when I am able to help a bird, but frustrated that more people aren't aware of their situation. But we're working on that. Each time someone new says, "Oh, I didn't know that" I feel terrific that we are spreading the word.

March 26, 2014

more

March 26, 2014

MickaCoo is a great program with many devoted volunteers and community supporters. They help care for, find homes for and, even more importantly, educate the public about releasing pigeons and/or doves at ceremonial events, about producing birds for squab, as well as use for hunting practice and live pigeon shoots. Having MickaCoo as part of our community is invaluable...and hard, hard work! Thank you, MickaCoo.
March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

MickaCoo had my heart at the word "pigeon." An organization that rescues, rehabilitates and champions animals who so often get the short shrift in our world earns my affection and respect for that endeavor alone. But MickaCoo transcends even that valuable role. They exceed all expectations of compassion when it comes to interpersonal advocacy.

Several years ago, my husband and I found ourselves with a lost and unwanted racing pigeon, no outdoor space, and no real guidance on how to care for our new rescue. Even as a volunteer wildlife rehabilitator, I had precious few contacts in terms helping domestic pigeons.

Despite an always overwhelming case load, MickaCoo stepped up to offer us counsel and resources. It was through MickaCoo that we learned how to properly house, feed and care for our wayward bird. MickaCoo came in to help when we encountered a rescue situation that was beyond our capacities to handle. And it is entirely because of MickaCoo -- and the deep care they showed for the birds and for us -- that we ourselves, became allies and advocates for the well-being of pigeons.

It's difficult to assign a value to the tireless work of animal rescue and advocacy groups. No quantification can possibly capture the totality of what they do. But I can think of no greater measure of an organization than its ability to change hearts and minds. MickaCoo and its volunteers, through their own passions and commitments, did just that. They engendered in us a deep ethic of care for these birds -- and they continuously create a lasting legacy of compassion, one by one, bird by bird.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 24, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 6, 2012

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece to... more

March 24, 2014

More than twenty years ago, I was adopted by a baby King pigeon who needed my help. I didn't know the first thing about pigeons then, and I so wished there had been an organization like MickaCoo to help us. My pigeon and I had to figure it all out from scratch, which we did -- and she lived with me for almost thirteen years. During that time, I rescued other pigeons that needed help, again wishing there were an organization to provide dedicated support to these smart, sweet birds. I was so grateful when Elizabeth started MickaCoo to fill this need!

Today, I have four rescued pigeons that I adopted through MickaCoo, and I volunteer with the organization whenever I can. It's also the only nonprofit to which I donate money on a monthly basis. I couldn't imagine a more hardworking, caring director than Elizabeth or a group of more compassionate volunteers and supporters than MickaCoo's network. MickaCoo helps hundreds of beautiful birds every year, providing them with care and loving homes. I only wish I could do more to help!
June 6, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I rescued my first King pigeon in 1993, many years before MickaCoo existed. At that time, there were no ready resources for learning about the beautiful bird who had "adopted" me, so I had to piece together information about pigeons and how to properly care for them. Given the unfair bias that many individuals and even wildlife rescue organizations have toward pigeons, this was not always easy to do -- but we worked it out and my bird Luna lived with me for 13 happy years. Having learned that pigeons are delightful, wonderful companions, I later decided to build a proper aviary to provide a home for a pair of birds in need of rescue. Thank goodness for MickaCoo! The organization has found loving homes for hundreds of abandoned domestic pigeons and doves, along with the information and support necessary to make adopting easy and fun. I support the organization 100%!

Photos

Videos

Pigeons Love Fresh Greens!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 21, 2014

more

March 21, 2014

My two beautiful ringneck doves were adopted from MickaCoo. As an adopter I've received all the support I needed to make the birds happy and healthy members of the family. They are thriving thanks to the skill and kindness that flows from MickaCoo.

As an organization, this group is a
class act. Few rescues work as hard or as effectively as they do. I'm proud to be a continuing donor to their honorable cause of rescuing and homing these deserving birds.
March 15, 2014

more

March 15, 2014

I am not a supporter of most organizations that ask for donations, as I know that most of the money is pocketed and not spent in the manner one would hope (or what is marketed). But MickaCoo is the first organization EVER that did not need to ask for a donation, I JUST HAD TO SEND MONEY to help Elizabeth and her incredible work. I had rescued a poor Pigeon, who experienced a Hawk attack, and MickaCoo helped me rehab this darling Pigeon (Homie-the-WunderBird) back from the brink of death. Elizabeth found me a local experienced Pij person, to not only increase my education on their care, but also to check out Homie to make sure she was ok. And just this week, I am happy to say, that Homie has fallen in love with one of the MickaCoo adoptees, and now 'Bubba' is a member of our family. I will likely adopt a 'couple' (2) pigeons to finish out Homies new aviary, and help lessen Elizabeths load, just a wee bit. In Elizabeth I see a passionate, woman, who cares for an underserved population, the Pigeon, and does superhuman work to make sure all are carried for, none are bred and many humans learn about the wonderment of being owned by a pet pigeon!!
March 4, 2014

more

March 4, 2014

WHY I FOSTER 24 PIGEONS

I was never very interested in birds. I love dogs, I dream of galloping on my own horse, I bonded with my future husband over rabbits, we have fostered kittens. But birds don’t have names, or personalities, or loveability. So I thought.

When I first
signed up with a new rescue association for pigeons that could not be released into the wild, my reasons were hardly persuasive. The rescued rabbits that we kept for years in a huge aviary-style outdoor cage had finally gone to the Big Carrot in the Sky. The aviary was empty, wasting.

We were tired of rabbits, didn’t want chickens, and weren’t prepared to take on any time-consuming pets. Then I heard about Elizabeth Young, who had committed herself to saving king pigeons. Kings are bred for eating in restaurants, called squab on the menu, so their breast meat is disproportionately large. As a result, they are slow fliers and easy targets for hawks. When kind-hearted people see the beautiful huge white pigeons for sale at Vietnamese and Chinese markets and buy and release them with good intentions, the birds’ “freedom” lasts only a few days and their death is horrible. There are other pigeons too that cannot be released into the wild, such as racing pigeons and “wedding-release” homers that have become lost and are no longer wanted by their owners, as well as some feral pigeons with injuries or who have been raised indoors and then abandoned. Elizabeth formed Mickacoo to rescue these birds, trying to find people who would foster them for a while or adopt them permanently. And there I was, with an unused aviary.

I committed to fostering for a few months. I am still fostering three years later, with a changing group of twenty to twenty-seven birds in my care. Some of my friends think I’m crazy, or at least eccentric, but if they will listen, I explain that the pigeons have been, other than dogs, the most interesting pets I’ve ever had, and compared with my other pets, especially dogs, they are the least trouble. Most days, I spend less than three minutes in the cage, simply filling their food and water bowls. Once a week, I check for eggs, apologizing guiltily as I sneakily remove real eggs and replace them with wooden look-a-likes. (There are too many pigeons in need of rescue, so offspring are a big mistake – called Oops Babies.) The wooden eggs are accepted with grace, and the pigeon couples sit on them patiently for weeks – alternating duties between dad during the day and mom at night - until they decide that location, location, location is the problem, and they move to another hutch and start again. Other days I spend some time hosing off the gravel on the ground or changing the newspaper in their hutches. On the best days, I just sit and watch them, endlessly fascinated by their behavior.

Pigeons mate for life. Their courting, which is recognizable after you’ve seen it once or twice, takes from a few minutes to a few weeks, and then that’s it – they are committed. Unlike humans, the strong and the good looking do not feel entitled to the cream of the crop: their mating choices are inexplicable, but once made, that’s it. The next step is to choose a hutch, win it against any competitors, and build a haphazard nest of straw or twigs. Finally an egg is laid, followed the next day by a second. Then the pressure increases. Whoever is not on duty, spends a huge and hilarious amount of energy chasing the one is on duty back to the nest. No time to eat, or explore, or stretch legs. Round and round the aviary, he/she chases him/her, little legs pumping, efforts to “duke” or bob or weave persistently thwarted. With single-minded determination, the bossy one chases the other back to work.

Animal behaviorists have shown that pigeons can recognize faces, can do tricks, can even be taught to play a form of ping pong. I find it more interesting to watch the way they “kiss” for long moments, a movement that is actually a preparation for feeding a baby bird mouth-to-mouth. To watch mates grooming each other. To hear the soft, calming coo-ing that seems generic at first, but eventually reveals the individuality of each pigeon’s voice.

Elizabeth can tell all the birds apart, but most of the big white ones look the same to me, and I usually have to check the colored bands on their legs or observe where they are nesting and who they are nuzzling. Mackenzie is the one I know best, because he was my first bird, along with an unnamed female, whom I called Ichiban, Number One in Japanese. When they suddenly decided many months later that they were going to be a couple, I watched Mackenzie’s self confidence grow until he was lording it over all newcomers, chasing any rude youngsters out of the cubbies next to and above and below his love nest. Two good years later, Ichiban developed a large lump that made her wing stick out crazily. The avian vet diagnosed a cancerous growth, and Mackenzie accompanied Ichiban to a volunteer with more medical knowledge than I have, and a much smaller aviary. He stayed close to his mate as she grew more and more lopsided. When Ichiban died, it took a while before he paid any attention to the three females placed in his little aviary to distract him. Tomorrow he is coming home to me with his second mate. His original cubby has been usurped in his absence but I know Mackenzie better than I ever thought I would know a bird. He will choose a new place, guard it against any trespassers, settle down into being a faithful husband, boss his wife unmercifully, and recognize my face.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help in many ways! Foster homeless pigeons or doves, outreach to potential adopters, support humane education efforts, have a garage sale benefit, help with data-entry or website development and more!