Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.915255
| 1 ... 3 4 56 |
Write A Review
October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My wife and I adopted our first bird from Mickaboo in 2006 and have remained enthusiastic supporters ever since. This decentralized group, consisting of 100s of diverse volunteers living throughout the Bay Area is perhaps the most dedicated, efficient, and effective service organization I know. They have rescued and rehomed almost 2,000 birds and improved the lives of thousands more through free education, outreach and rehabilitation work. Mickaboo is completely dedicated to its birds as individuals and supports all those who foster or adopt in countless ways. They offer a wealth of free information and resources and help each otehr and members of the community at large in emergencies and rescues. Because there is no paid staff or physical headaquarters, almost all donations go directly to support the care of birds, particularly veterinary care, which is running over $15,000 per month.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked with Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue for a few years now and am never surprised by the continued committment to rescue, rehabilitate, foster, provide adoption AND provide FREE continuing avian education classes....throughout the San Francisco Bay Area. I have adopted and fostered several species of birds over the years, helping each bird as an individual. They come to us in every possible condition. Each bird is provided with AVIAN veterninary support: SO! If you want to know where the money goes, there you have it. No one receives a paycheck, there is no office: a TOTALLY VOLUNTEER organization that works with each person, each bird, that comes there way as an individual. SUPPORT MICKABOO!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue is run by a wonderful unselfish network of individuls who donate hours upon hours to educate people on the proper care and feeding of their birds. They work tirelessly as volunteers to get cages to those folks who are fostering a bird and need a cage, to pick up and deliver food when it has been donated to anyone who may need it, etc. They educate the public by holding Adoption Fairs and give classes they must take, as a step to fostering or adopting a bird from Mickaboo. The next step is telephone screening. A volenteer will contact an individual intersted in Adopting or Fostering...then comes a home visit. All the while quizzing forlks to be sure they understand the responsibility of bird care and ownership, etc. All of this takes a small Army of very dedicated volunteers to accomplish. Birds who are ill are seen by quality knowledgable vets. Mickaboo pays for their care, including surgery or medicines, etc. The volunteers are dedicated people who truly love the birds and find sheer joy in each and every one of them. It is a labor of LOVE. Thank goodness for this organization and all the caring volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Really enjoy the performances that I have had the opportunity to see. What a GREAT deal !!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I just started volunteering with Mickaboo but I already feel they are a great organization. I receive many emails through the day and I see how they are actively trying to rescue not only companion birds but other birds that come their way. I am happy to be part of this group.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It never fails to amaze me how quickly and effectiently the hard working folks at Mickaboo pull together to help when the call goes out...day or night. We often get calls when people see stray parrots because they are in danger from predators and unacclimated to forgaging on their own. Well one bird in particular had gotton our attention as he had been out in his own for a long time and the family who had been giving food contacted Micaboi because tge weather was getting cold and a neighbor did not like him coming into his yard to eat the oranges and was going to do something sbout so they were concerned. Volunteers went out for a week trying to help and we all keep checking for updates. Then one evening...success! Now it was a matter of where to take this very tired double yellow head amazon. That's where I cane in. I was just leaving work and after a frantic call to my husband this guy had a home to come to. He arrived later that night and made little fuss as we put in his new home and settled in for a well deserved peacefull nights sleep. The next day it was clear he was covered with black sticky substance. Concerned it might be roof tar I made a call to get authorization to take him to an avian veterinarian. That day we were off to go see the vet. He was a real trooper and it took the vet and two vet techs all working on him to get what probably tree sap off him. I was just going to be a foster home for him but I after all he had been through surviving on his own I wanted him to have a forever home. He has been with me for 7 years this month :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This is a great group of volunteers, each contributing in his or her own way to help neglected, surrendered, abandonned, and mistreated birds. They raise money to provide veterinary care, open their homes to foster birds, interview and teach classes to potential volunteers, and do all the many many chores required.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We adopt one of San Francisco wild flock Conure baby from Mickaboo. After that we start fostering different birds.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mickaboo is full of volunteers who care deeply for feathered friends in need, and who each contribute in their own way. I help with the accounting, fundraising and outreach events. It is astonishing how many members of the general public don't know about parrot rescue! I have 8 birds of my own, all adopted from Mickaboo. How each of them came to me reminds me of the birds - and their former owners, in a way - who needed Mickaboo's help, and others who still do. While being an all-volunteer organization sometimes presents organizational challenges (who's doing what? when?) the volunteers can be counted on to unite and get the job done when the need is urgent.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 9, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Mickaboo is an amazing organization dedicated to changing the lives of neglected, abandoned, or unwanted birds. I am a foster mom for Mickaboo, and have had an amazing experience watching my scared little foster grow into such an amazing bird. The network of volunteers are extremely knowledgeable, helpful, dedicated, and passionate about what they do. The adoption approval process is really well designed to make sure the birds go to great, knowledgeable homes.

I highly recommend that anyone interested in adopting a bird, but not quite sure they can handle it, become a foster parent. That way you can see if having a bird is a good fit for you, while helping out a bird in need! And it gives you such a sense of pride and accomplishment when that bird you fostered for all those weeks/months/years finally gets adopted. :)

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my foster Willow, the Indian Ringneck Parakeet. He came to me as a baby, terrified of people, with his wing and tail feathers cut off to the skin. In the months he has been in foster care, he has bloomed into an amazing bird. He steps up now, plays with his toys, is eating a healthy diet, has grown back all his beautiful feathers, and is starting to speak English! He says "Hello", "Willow", "How are you?", "What are you doing?", "Hi", and many other mumblings that are words to come! He is the sweetest!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find us more foster homes so that we could help even more birds!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

We need more publicity. People don't know that we exist!

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes, I have made life-long friends that I share a passion with, learned about the necessity that is lighting for a birds well-being, husbandry skills, and much more I am sure. The amount I have learned since starting with Mickaboo, and the amazingly knowledgeable network of volunteers is an invaluable resource for anyone interested in parrot care.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

Volunteering with Mickaboo has given me a huge sense of accomplishment, and life purpose. I am a part of such an amazing group of people, and we have changed the lives of so many birds it is amazing. Absolutely amazing.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers