Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
59 Reviews
1234.915255
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Learning about Mickaboo's existence was an incredible relief to me. I have had my Severe Macaw Kaiya for 24 years. I have also had serious health issues. It had crossed my mind, if something happened to me, my parrot could be in need of a new home. It was a heart wrenching thought as parrots are incredibly intelligent and not easily cared for. Thankfully, my children are older now and have developed a good relationship with Kaiya. And Mickaboo is another safety net. Since learning about Mickaboo, I have become a volunteer and parrot advocate and educator. I started a business and fundraising project called Art For The Birds - Cruelty Free Feather Jewelry. I receive feathers from other Mickaboo supporters, volunteers, foster families and adopters. I make the feather jewelry, educate my customers about Mickaboo and Parrots and give Mickaboo 25% of my profits. As an all volunteer organization, Mickaboo does an incredible job to rescue parrots and other companion birds, care for them and find them new homes. I am very proud to be part of the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

When we found about Mickaboo I thought they just wanted to find homes for their birds, but come to find out they do more than that. they educate the public on how to take care of their own birds too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

About 10 years ago, not knowing about Mickaboo we bought our birds. We took care of them the best we knew and learned from the Internet and visiting our vets as well as from the lady we got them from. However, at some point we felt we wanted to learn if 1) we were doing the right things with our birds and 2) were we caring for them to the fullest. After much searching we found Mickaboo to be exactly what we wanted and needed. Someone to "talk companion birds to" that would talk the same language (birdy) and continue our education of caring for them. We have not been disappointed! We have even joined in and volunteering for them. There are so many ways to help birds that were taken into homes with good intentions, but the owners either couldn't keep them, they passed away, life changes in general prohibiting their ownership. It is great to know there is someone out there that will help find these wonderful birds a forever home. The knowledge and education we have learned in less than a year is so vast. It is so rewarding to also help the birds find a forever home or get the medical attention they need to get back to wellness. I hope we can continue expanding everyone's knowledge of these birds. If you don't volunteer, consider it! As said, it is so rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love cockatiels, and adopted two through Mickaboo. They were wonderful- then I saw another male cockatiel up for adoption. He was obviously hand-fed and super tame and very young (I am sorry his past owner somehow let him end up on the streets until a kind soul rescued him and a Mickaboo foster took him in). I adopted him, too! They are the most wonderful trio of friends: with each other and with me. So glad I found Mickaboo and glad I can be their forever home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Some years ago I found a small parrot in my back yard. I didn't know what species it was or what to do with it. After trying to locate the owner I contacted an avian vet and found out about Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue. I took their basic bird class to learn how to care for her. From there I learned about the 100's of birds being fostered by Mickaboo volunteers who care for birds and their well being at their own expense, except for vet care. Some of their stories were heartwrenching and I wanted to help.

Now I foster small parrots for Mickaboo, do phone interviews and homevisits for perspective adopters or fosters, and help relocate birds from shelters to foster or veterinary care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 3, 2012

Since my last review in 2008 I have personally worked with Mickaboo to save over 50 parrots that needed new homes. Mickaboo is an all volunteer rescue that has helped hundreds of birds and currently ... more

April 5, 2013

I just learned another benefit of Mickaboo's free bird care classes. As much as our all volunteer rescue needs help from new people for some a parrot is not the best pet choice.

We just had some people take our class and decide that a parrot is not the right pet for them and I think
that is great. Because parrots live so much longer than other pets and require special care that is quite different from say cats and dogs the best thing is for people to learn about birds as pets before they get one.

Even if a person does not foster adopt a bird from us there are many other ways to help Mickaboo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since my last review in 2008 I have personally worked with Mickaboo to save over 50 parrots that needed new homes. Mickaboo is an all volunteer rescue that has helped hundreds of birds and currently has over three hundred birds in foster care all in volunteer's homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2008

Mickaboo has a new name Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue and is a great organization. Mickaboo takes in sick and injured birds from almost anywhere in Northern California and helpsturn them into healthy wonderful companions for bird lovers.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

I never understood why people had birds as pets until I inherited my daughter's cockatiel. I had zero knowledge about caring for birds and found Mickaboo during an online search back in 2001. Everything I needed to know was either available or a link was provided to find the needed resources. When my little Sweetie died, I became commited to the plight of parrots sold from breeders and pet stores like my cockatiel. She was always ill and not humanely bred. Since then, I only adopt unwanted, abandoned parrots and Mickaboo has been a solid consistent resource of education and support throughout the years. They are 100% volunteer run. These are ordinary people like you and me, who work, raise families and donate their personal time and money to reduce the suffering of the parrots that they care for in their own homes. An Amazing organization. Beyond the pale in service and commitment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue helps parrots who need forever homes, foster care and emergency medical care. Mickaboo is a necessary component because too many parrots are still being breed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Volunteering for Mickaboo changed my life. Certain volunteers gave me experience in husbandry, medical care and the diet for proper parrot care.

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I have had birds for at least 40 yrs. For a long time in the beginning, i had my own birds and acepted several rescues on my own. At some point, i found myself without birds due to a tragic accident and decided to just adopt rescue birds. Every since then i have helped Mickaboo in minor ways and currently have 5 adopted rescues and 2 fosters. (Both of my fosters are older birds with serious medical problems.) Mickaboo's passion is over the top. Not one person gets paid...all money goes to the rescue, care (including vet care) and adoption of these amazing critters. Local shelters TURNS THEIR BIRDS OVER TO MICKABOO and as i understand it pays nothing to Mickaboo. Mickaboo accepts this because the primary passion is to see that every bird has a chance at a healthy happy "forever" home. Every cent helps save a wonderful FID (feather kid).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Some time ago Mickaboo rescued 18 cockatiels from a breeder who kept them in deplorable conditions only relatable as to a puppy mill. They were fed poorly and in disgusting conditions, never seeing sunlight. I adopted one of the females who mothered multiple clutches of babies over and over again. Her name is Marie and she is a lovely sweet lady who has since blossomed into a caring bird who loves to be scratched on the cheeks, occasionally flying around my house and sits soaking up sunlight all afternoon with her 2 fellow rescued cage mates. If not for Mickaboo I cannot even imagine the conditions she would be living in now if she had survived this long.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers