Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.878055
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I began volunteering with Mickaboo about 1 month ago & am blown away by the incredibly unselfish & wonderful team of people who help facilitate & run the organization. While the work is about saving & nurturing birds, it's also about connecting & educating people so we can better cohabit on this killer planet. My foster cockatiel, Tristen, has made me aware of my crappy diet & I've started munching on raw broccoli right alongside him. We have so much to learn! Every day is a classroom & it can be fun, we just have to be creative & roll up our sleeves. Bless the birds & their caretakers! Mickaboo is a great companion bird rescue organization & I highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning more.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 5, 2012

I love all animals but my own flock is 4 parrots. Having learned about Mickaboo, Mickacoo, I immediately felt an incredible connection to the work they do. I now volunteer and seek every opportunity... more

April 9, 2013

Companion Bird Rescue??!!?? Most people are unaware of the need for bird rescues. Mickaboo has over 300 birds in foster care looking for new homes. The organization's standards are top notch. I have been volunteering with them for the past couple of years and it has been such a rewarding experience. The people involved with the organization (all volunteers) are so devoted to the welfare and care of all the birds taken in and bird welfare in general.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I love all animals but my own flock is 4 parrots. Having learned about Mickaboo, Mickacoo, I immediately felt an incredible connection to the work they do. I now volunteer and seek every opportunity I can to contribute to this great group of volunteers who are so committed. I am proud to be a part of them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 3, 2012

Ever since taking my basic bird care class from a Mickaboo volunteer teacher, I have been fostering paronting parrots. I have also enjoyed watching the actions of all the many wonderful volunteer who ... more

April 9, 2013

Curiosity brought me to a Mickaboo Basic Bird class. I certainly had no intention of adopting a parrot--or any other animal. Discovering the intrigue of parrots, but also the plight of these magnificent creatures, sometimes abandoned in garages, maltreated by owners, or just out-living their owners, moved me to adopt my first parrot. Mickaboo volunteers gave me advice and support as I learned more and more about bird care.
I became even more impressed with the willingness of Mickaboo. a completely volunteer organization, to take on the burden of caring for the San Francisco wild flock--and not consider it a burden, but to view it as a privilege.
The next step was to become a volunteer foster parront myself. Five foster parrots later, I continue to be amazed at the caring and love these Mickaboo volunteers provide to their charges, nursing them back to health when they are ill, providing a supportive environment to crippled and disabled parrots, even providing "hospice" care for those parrots who will not recover.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Ever since taking my basic bird care class from a Mickaboo volunteer teacher, I have been fostering paronting parrots. I have also enjoyed watching the actions of all the many wonderful volunteer who are willing to drop everything to rescue a lost parrot, or travel many miles to pick up a surrendered macaw or senegal parrot. They care for the parrots, feeding them better food, providing for veterinarian care.This is one of the finest organization I've had the pleasure of participating in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I was lucky enough to come across Mickaboo because of my neighbors involvement. By going thru their classes and adoption process, I've been able to provide better housing for my own birds, knowledge for others, and fosters with a healthy chance at a new full life in a well prepared forever home. What could be better then that for me or the birds? Thank you Mickaboo!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

Learning about Mickaboo's existence was an incredible relief to me. I have had my Severe Macaw Kaiya for 24 years. I have also had serious health issues. It had crossed my mind, if something happened to me, my parrot could be in need of a new home. It was a heart wrenching thought as parrots are incredibly intelligent and not easily cared for. Thankfully, my children are older now and have developed a good relationship with Kaiya. And Mickaboo is another safety net. Since learning about Mickaboo, I have become a volunteer and parrot advocate and educator. I started a business and fundraising project called Art For The Birds - Cruelty Free Feather Jewelry. I receive feathers from other Mickaboo supporters, volunteers, foster families and adopters. I make the feather jewelry, educate my customers about Mickaboo and Parrots and give Mickaboo 25% of my profits. As an all volunteer organization, Mickaboo does an incredible job to rescue parrots and other companion birds, care for them and find them new homes. I am very proud to be part of the organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

When we found about Mickaboo I thought they just wanted to find homes for their birds, but come to find out they do more than that. they educate the public on how to take care of their own birds too.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

About 10 years ago, not knowing about Mickaboo we bought our birds. We took care of them the best we knew and learned from the Internet and visiting our vets as well as from the lady we got them from. However, at some point we felt we wanted to learn if 1) we were doing the right things with our birds and 2) were we caring for them to the fullest. After much searching we found Mickaboo to be exactly what we wanted and needed. Someone to "talk companion birds to" that would talk the same language (birdy) and continue our education of caring for them. We have not been disappointed! We have even joined in and volunteering for them. There are so many ways to help birds that were taken into homes with good intentions, but the owners either couldn't keep them, they passed away, life changes in general prohibiting their ownership. It is great to know there is someone out there that will help find these wonderful birds a forever home. The knowledge and education we have learned in less than a year is so vast. It is so rewarding to also help the birds find a forever home or get the medical attention they need to get back to wellness. I hope we can continue expanding everyone's knowledge of these birds. If you don't volunteer, consider it! As said, it is so rewarding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love cockatiels, and adopted two through Mickaboo. They were wonderful- then I saw another male cockatiel up for adoption. He was obviously hand-fed and super tame and very young (I am sorry his past owner somehow let him end up on the streets until a kind soul rescued him and a Mickaboo foster took him in). I adopted him, too! They are the most wonderful trio of friends: with each other and with me. So glad I found Mickaboo and glad I can be their forever home!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Some years ago I found a small parrot in my back yard. I didn't know what species it was or what to do with it. After trying to locate the owner I contacted an avian vet and found out about Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue. I took their basic bird class to learn how to care for her. From there I learned about the 100's of birds being fostered by Mickaboo volunteers who care for birds and their well being at their own expense, except for vet care. Some of their stories were heartwrenching and I wanted to help.

Now I foster small parrots for Mickaboo, do phone interviews and homevisits for perspective adopters or fosters, and help relocate birds from shelters to foster or veterinary care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 3, 2012

Since my last review in 2008 I have personally worked with Mickaboo to save over 50 parrots that needed new homes. Mickaboo is an all volunteer rescue that has helped hundreds of birds and currently ... more

April 5, 2013

I just learned another benefit of Mickaboo's free bird care classes. As much as our all volunteer rescue needs help from new people for some a parrot is not the best pet choice.

We just had some people take our class and decide that a parrot is not the right pet for them and I think
that is great. Because parrots live so much longer than other pets and require special care that is quite different from say cats and dogs the best thing is for people to learn about birds as pets before they get one.

Even if a person does not foster adopt a bird from us there are many other ways to help Mickaboo.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Since my last review in 2008 I have personally worked with Mickaboo to save over 50 parrots that needed new homes. Mickaboo is an all volunteer rescue that has helped hundreds of birds and currently has over three hundred birds in foster care all in volunteer's homes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 27, 2008

Mickaboo has a new name Mickaboo Companion Bird Rescue and is a great organization. Mickaboo takes in sick and injured birds from almost anywhere in Northern California and helpsturn them into healthy wonderful companions for bird lovers.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very dedicated.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers