Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

As a board member I have watched MCAH grow in services and relevance over the past five years. The staff is incredible and driven by the mission. I am always impressed and heartened to hear and witness the work happening in all the communities in Michigan. Keep up the great work!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

Working with MCAH has been a wonderful experience. Through workshops, daily tasks, and a great office atmosphere I have really grown at this organization. The complex issue of homelessness is one that was always interesting to me but I didn't know where and how to begin helping. The Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness has given me extraordinary opportunities to educate myself and those around me on this important issue!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The issue of homelessness is a very complicated one and because of its complexity it has a myriad of human service agencies and not-for-profit organizations that are working on behalf of various population segments. It's extremely important to have a collective voice that will seek to enhance homeless services and, more importantly, seek to end homelessness altogether. MCAH is unique in it role and mission and the state is well-served by its efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Although my time with Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) has been short lived, the experiences I have gained while volunteering have been rewarding. The amount of teamwork that is produced from this agency is incredible, and effective in raising awareness for local homelessness around our state of Michigan. The MCAH program seeks to provide support and guidance to those who need it, and as a result, the gratitude is well-reflected among the staff and team members. I look forward to the future MCAH has, and the ability the agency has to change the face of homelessness in our own state; and I am honored to have been a part of it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

The Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) has achieved statewide recognition for its advocacy role in support of the Michigan statewide campaign to end homeless. MCAH is also recognized across the state, and nationally, for its implementation of the Michigan Statewide Homeless Management Information System (MSHMIS). I have worked in the human services field, in various capacities, for 36 years and have begun my fifth year as part of the MCAH professional team. I see, on a daily basis, the dedication to informing policy and budget priority decisions, in the advocacy realm, and providing capable MSHMIS support to every county and region in Michigan. Through these efforts, there is much greater awareness of the nature and extent of homelessness in Michigan and local communities are better equipped to help homeless persons acquire stable housing and become productive citizens. I fondly think of our organization as the "A Team."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I've been a Board member of the Michigan Coalition against Homelessness for the past six or more years. I worked as Executive Director of a non-profit development organization for affordable, permanent, and supportive housing of homeless individuals and families with disabilities for the past ten years. I have found the Coalition very helpful since it quantifies the issue of homelessness in our State, and has become very effective at working with community organizations in addressing ten year plans to end homelessness in our state. I have been happy with Coalition's ability to seek and work within partnerships in accomplishing this very important work. It is one of the most efficient organizations I have had the pleasure of working with in my 30 years of non-profit organization administration.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I have been working for the Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness since March '12. In the time I've been here, I can see that all of the staff are compassionate toward the needs of homeless individuals. Most of the staff have the only complaint that they wish they could do more. MCAH is a wonderful organization that promotes homeless advocacy and awareness through several programs and its efforts through the Michigan Statewide Homeless Management Information System. With such a great group of people, I wouldn't want to work anywhere else!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) has been raising awareness successfully for the homeless population for quite some time. Their involvement in providing grants to local counties through Project Homeless Connects has not only raised more awareness in local communities, but raised awareness statewide. The MCAH AmeriCorp program seeks out to help directly serve the homeless population as well as increase volunteerism for this population.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My time at the Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) has been very rewarding. Beginning with my first day I immediately felt welcomed by the helpful staff. Within no time I was immersed within the issue area of homelessness, constantly learning and at every turn, being supported by staff members and my supervisor. Frequent connections with the Executive Director always kept me on track and reassured that my work was meeting expectations. I was always encouraged to give my full disgression on issues, insuring that my work had a real impact. This all attributed to the high level of professionalism in my first office experience, helping me develop new and applicable skills for the future. My experiences at MCAH greatly affected me and my outlook, overall leaving a very positive impact.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

The Michigan Coalition Against Homelessness (MCAH) is a wonderful place to volunteer. I felt as though I was part of a supportive team with the staff members, and that we were all working towards the common goal of preventing and advocating for homelessness. My experiences at MCAH were very fruitful, and I appreciated my supervisor's guidance to teach me how a successful non-profit is managed. The skills I developed at MCAH will carry over into any other non-profit organizations, or businesses that I work for, due to their professional nature. I am very grateful to MCAH for investing the time and energy necessary to turn my volunteering time into what felt like a valuable and transferable apprenticeship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers