Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.6345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 13, 2014

more

June 13, 2014

I have three kitties adopted from Mewtopia and my experience there has always been very pleasant.
It's sad but sometimes people have to be declined for adoption.
There is absolutely NO way a rescue can predict the future illnesses any cat can come down with. It's unfair to hold a rescue
accountable for an illness that shows up a year later.
I've visited many animal rescues, both public and private, and Mewtopia is one of the most cheerful, clean and well-run facilities I've ever seen.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 3, 2014

more

May 3, 2014

My husband and I stopped by Mewtopia today. The staff was incredibly helpful. They were honest when asked about the personalities of different cats and asked great questions to help us choose which pet would be best for us. We're torn between adopting an adult vs a kitten and they walked us through the pros and cons of each. The shelter location is well kept and all of the animals were well cared for. The staff didn't try to pressure us into choosing right away and I cannot say enough how passionate these wonderful people are about helping cats find forever homes. My husband and I will be back to adopt in the next few weeks once our cat tree arrives. Thank you Mewtopia!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Me and my husband decided to get another cat so the one that we already had could have a companion. When we adopted the kitten, the owner kept trying to push another cat on to us. At $100 a cat, we told her we can't afford it. We did not even have the kitten a full year before she died of a fatal blood disease. She was a year and a week when she passed away. We did some research and found out that all cats are susceptible to this disease, but it really effects kittens. This disease is spread through saliva most effectively. Plus, it runs rampant in no-kill shelters. I am sorry, but I will not get another cat from them or recommend them to anyone. For this to happen and not be told of the consequences of getting a cat from them, is just monstrous.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get a bigger place, keep less cats, stop being pushy with clients, lower the cost of getting a cat

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have recently lost my Russian Blue, Grady, due to a heart attack. He was with me for 10 years. I went to Mewtopia to possibly adopt a new cat for myself and for my other cat who misses her buddy Grady. I walked through the entire Mewtopia shop, petted every single cat, but the ones that reminded me of my sweet Grady were my favorites. I fell in love with a 1 year old gray cat named Quincy. Filled out an application (even checked the box that I would be willing to volunteer for them), during the time I was filling out this paperwork the woman who ran the shop put Quincy away in another room. I asked her if I could pet her again and she said no. I told her that I wanted to adopt this cat, then she told me that I have only been interested in "gray" cats and she did not feel that is what I needed. She felt concerned that I would compare the two cats and therefore did not want me to adopt Quincy. The first priority of this shelter should be finding homes for all of these cats- not running people off by psychological judgements. It is not a bizarre idea that someone would be partial to a particular breed (or color) over others, regardless of whether it is aesthetical or sentimental. The way I see it... this non profit turns away good homes while taking donations. I will find another GRAY cat- and hopefully he will look a little like Grady. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Overseer of Mewtopia is abusing her 501c non-profit status by selling cats for a profit. She dont have up-to-date records for all the cats and kittens. Most of the time, there is a bad order lingering outside. Not sure but The human society may need to pay her at vist. Too many cats in one location.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers