Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
99 Reviews
1234.848485
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 21, 2009

more

October 21, 2009

We are a voluntary organization providing food to between 32 and 36 families on a weekly basis. Met Council has been there for us always and responds to our needs in a timely manner. Without them, our organization would not be able to perform the services we do.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The interaction between myself and the staff whenever a problem crops up, is solved in a timely manner.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 21, 2009

more

October 21, 2009

My mother works for Met Council, and sometimes, my sister and I get to visit. We were able to help with different tasks around the office including sorting coins, making copies, alphabetizing files and more depending on what was needed. Met Council is a great organization, I look forward to visiting and helping any chance I get. All of the people that work there are so friendly and caring - they help so many in need - keep up the amazing work!

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

so caring and kind. They truly want to help and they make you feel important.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 21, 2009

more

October 21, 2009

President John F. Kennedy once wrote, Do not ask what your country can do for you, but rather what you can do for your country". Met Council embodies this in the way they seek to help the people they serve. In working along side the staff, it was alwasy a challenge to determine not what they are doing, but rather what are they not doing for those in a state of Poverty. Their committment, their professionalism, their untiring efforts, and most of all the energy to getting their mission accomplished is a real force to reckon with and a great blessing to those in need.

Photos

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The accolades that I can give to the talented, professionals that I have worked with and met do not do justice to the work which is performed in their heart. There is a profound feeling of doing in each and every staff and volunteer that follows them home

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 19, 2009

more

October 19, 2009

I volunteered at the Met Council Crisis Department and was amazed by the true and genuine charitable approach that the employees took on a daily basis. If any person came in and needed his/hers previous month's rent paid off they would provide the money in a heartbeat (assuming the person's needs were legitimate). There was just a general caring for all of the clients that was just very tangible.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the charitable/giving atmosphere. The sense that the agency wants to really help the world become a better place.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 19, 2009

more

October 19, 2009

my name is stephanie and i am still in the process of dealing with met council. I just want to express that this organization is the best thing that has ever happened for someone like me. I am ambitious, and eager to learn. met council has given me a finicial way to acheive my goals. This organization also keep up with me as far a academics go,and also they help with job placement,which is also a blessing because in these times are very hard. so i want to thank met council for this great opportunity.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

i believe they would use most of the funds for the low income people, like myself.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

One time

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 19, 2009

more

October 19, 2009

Met Council on Jewish Poverty is an incredible organization boasting many accomplishments, among them being their devotion to helping other non-profit organizations allowing these organizations to improve the quality of their services. Being closely involved in an organization called SPARKS (Serving Pre & post natal women & families with Awareness, Relief, Knowledge and Support), I work almost daily with Met Council to improve our services. Thanks to the devoted and committed staff at Met Council, who guide us and support us every step of the way, I can say with absolute certainty that we wouldn't be able to help so many people and we definitely wouldn't be where we are now without the help of this organization. Met Council helps us obtain grants enabling us to train more mentors for our hot-line and guides us in giving the proper guidance and the right support for the clients, their husbands and their families. I'm proud to be associated with such an extraordinary organization.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Going out of their way in helping others

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

Ways to make it better...

nothing

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 18, 2009

more

October 18, 2009

I am happy to volunteer for Met Council. Their wide range of services to the elderly, the poor, and to those who have nowhere else to turn, is extensive. Both in outright financial help and training, social services, distribution of food and clothing they make all the difference between a life of hardship and a life of hope. I've picked Met Council for my contributions and volunteer projects.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extremely visionary, creative regarding program and goals and clear as to how my volunteer proposalcould be put to use.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

During each of the several times that I have volunteered for MetCouncil, I have been amazed by the amount of help MetCouncil provides to New Yorkers. Their food warehouse is a major operation. I packed Passover food for women in crisis when I was there. While sorting out the bottles of applesauce, grape juice, and other foods, I marveled at the way people can really make a difference by donating simple items. Many people are unable to buy basic foods! During my time with MetCouncil, I have learned that MetCouncil helps people afford their rent payments and utilities, helps them get healthcare, and even provides people with clothes for job interviews. I am always happy to get an e-mail from MetCouncil notifying me of a volunteer opportunity. The notices save me time and allow me to step in when I am able. Considering that all types of people simultaneously volunteer for MetCouncil's projects, it is truly impressive that MetCouncil's volunteer projects are well organized and things actually get done.

Photos

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

reach and serve even more people in need of help.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

I was a volunteer consultant in communications which gave me insight into the scope of the issue of Jewish poverty as well as to the breadth and depth of services provided by Met Council. Importantly, I was greatly impressed by the way Met Council provides support to people in crisis in a way that allows them to maintain their dignity. But I also was impressed by how Met Council gives back to the nonprofit community by sponsoring workshops and training seminars in community outreach, fundraising, marketing/communications, to help other NPOs benefit from their expertise. I truly am proud to have been a Met Council volunteer.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Make a tremendous dent in alleviating many of the issues related to poverty within the Jewish community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 14, 2009

more

October 14, 2009

I have been in the Met Council offices many times I work for a government social service agency & haave never seen people so caring & dedicated to the population that Met Council serves, the elderly, the disabled, the poor, the homeless, the battered, the hungry. There is no poulation that Met Council does not serve. I have seen the dedicated employees who help the elderly find housing, volunteers who paint or plant gardens for clients, volunteers who built a library for a shelter & many other programs

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

everybody gets involved employees become involved in each others programs & work to make them better

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers