Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Metastasis is what kills cancer patients, but research in this critical area is woefully underfunded compared to the magnitude of the problem. METAvivor is a grassroots organization that is raising support for laboratory research directly targeting metastasis. They also provide support for patients living with metastatic cancer. Perhaps as importantly, they have begun to shine a light on the growing number of patients living with metastatic cancer -- their real problems, challenges and realities. METAvivor solicits advice from experts to assure that their research grants are going to the best possible science. They do all of this with a minimum administrative overhead. In short, if I want money going directly to metastasis research, this is the place I send my contribution!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a genetic counselor, I know that one can make all the right lifestyle choices, do all the recommended screening and/or surgery and sometimes still not avoid metastatic breast cancer. Metavivor is completely dedicated to women with metastatic disease. This organization puts 100% of donations towards funding research that pursues new insights, new protocols and new results. One phone call to them will convince you that they keep up to date so that they can make the best decisions about the allocation of funds, and support the women who come to them for hope.

J.H., LCGC

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a nurse, I know and hear the stories of women with metastatic breast cancer, and I know the place to send them. Metavivor understands what they are going through like no one else. They help fund the research that makes a difference an support the women, who need it most and who are the most neglected. They give the patient the respect, information and support that can truly make a difference in their lives now, while funding the research that will make a difference in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 27, 2013

It is an honor to work with such amazing people who are committed to the cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

I am a medical anthropologist, health educator and administrator, working with metastatic breast cancer patients for the past 7 years. I know of no better organization for metastatic cancer patients, than Metatvivor. Their commitment to funding research which will benefit the stage IV patient, and their total volunteer status, gives me complete confidence that my personal donations will do the most good. But in addition to funding research they provide direct , hands on support and care with knowledge, grace, and practicality. I am confident when I refer a patient to them, that they will be well taken care of. And I myself turn to them for up to date and practical information about options for treatment and the relevance of programs I might be considering. This is not the kind of organization that spends more time promoting itself than looking for solutions or giving support, but rather the kind you want when you or your loved ones need guidance. I give them my highest recommendation. Kathryn Devanny, MA, MPH

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate them, in the middle and west of the nation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

This dedicated non-profit group is focused on helping men and women with metastatic breast cancer. They understand the physiological, psychological, social and spiritual impact of metastatic breast cancer. The volunteer leadership of this group is working to increase options to prevent and treat metastatic disease. Articulate and professional, the leadership has presented to Congress, as well as outreached to the public. This non-profit organization is stellar in their mission and approaches it with integrity and conviction. MOK

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue with the same level of enthusiasm and keep spreading your message...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Not many people realize that metastatic breast cancer is almost always incurable, and that up to 30% of all breast cancer patients die from metastasis. That's more than 40,000 people every year in the US alone! Furthermore, metastasis is usually not discovered until years - even decades - after the initial diagnosis, surgery, and treatment, leaving hundreds of thousands of patients with years of uncertainty. Metastasis research is critical to improve breast cancer death rates, yet it is difficult and slow. METAvivor brings together patients, advocates, and experts to get accurate information to the public, and to raise money to fund important research specifically on breast cancer metastasis.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer