Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2014

Metavivor fills a dearly-needed role in making sure metastatic breast cancer gets the attention and research it needs to help the 150,000 Americans who are living with MBC. The staff is living with this disease themselves, so they understand all too well the urgency and importance of Metavivor.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I recently co-chaired a luncheon for this great organization. After attending the luncheon last year and meeting one of the nonprofit’s co-founders, who while very ill, made sure that she worked to make the luncheon a success, I was very inspired to help. Metastatic breast cancer research is distressingly unfunded for the most part. What METAvivor is doing to raise funds and raise awareness is exemplary. The spirit and dedication of this group made me proud to be a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

METAVIVOR as an organization that has shown tremendous respect for the metastatic breast patients by being an advocate for those whose voices may not be heard due to the overwhelming attention given to the breast cancer community who are not Metastatic. They have committed to helping those whose disease has progressed and are fighting to ensure that research continues for those whose outlook may be more challenging.
By working with us in the community they have made it easy to partner with them in building fund raisers that will benefit metastatic patients and help get money for research and provide a hopefully longer, enjoyable, productive life for the metastatic patient and bless their families with more time and love.
A wonderful organization, helping patients have a wonderful outlook on the future.
Doug McGuire

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 26, 2013

I am a volunteer working with patients/families on the journey with breast cancer. Unfortunately and often overlooked are those who have been diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer. The unbelievable, dedicated and energetic members of METAVIVOR have been instrumental in gaining funds to support research to change metastatic breast cancer from a terminal disease to a chronic disease that can allow for the journey to be long...NOT short-lived. I have known many of the members of this group and, in addition to their tireless work, they have had to deal with the emotional challenges of watching their members succumb to this dreaded disease. Please go to METAVIVOR.ORG and offer help to eliminate this terminal disease which can affect anyone of us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

To find an organisation that is so transparent about everything it does is quite frankly surprising, even in the non-profit world. I have metastatic breast cancer and we need to be noticed and accepted, especially by the breast cancer community as a whole who usually ignore our existence as we are not pink fluffy "survivors". We don't fit into the Pink Survivor scenario although uur plight is used to raise funds that do nothing to help or benefit those who have MBC. It is as though there is nothing between early stage breast cancer (which is survivable) and End of Life. Well, THERE IS, and METAvivor is the only group I know of which is dedicated to the life of these men and women, and to finding treatments for us. 30% of the "Early Stage Survivors" will develop metastatic disease and METAvivor is actually doing something to help them when they cross over the divide between SURvivor and METAvivor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Metavivor is dedicated to stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer Research and is dedicated to placing a spotlight on metastatic breast cancer which kills nearly 40,000 a year; approximately 30% of breast cancer patients with breast cancer develop MBC-cancer that has spread beyond the breast. The Metavivor organization's analysis of cancer organizations from the western world suggests that only 5% of total cancer research funding goes towards metastatic disease. Unfortunately, metastasis can happen to anyone, at any stage of the disease making additional research funding and patient support services critical for stage IV patients in a time when the efforts of fundraising are geared towards early prevention and detection and because of this, stage IV is cast in the shadow-"Out of sight, out of mind" MBC IS the worst nightmare of every patient with breast cancer but so little funding is given to save so many lives-MBC is fatal so lets work together to make a change, our lives are depending on it!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

I have worked as an editor in the magazine business for more than 20 years in California and Maryland. In fact, I was the editor of a magazine in Palm Springs that focused on philanthropy and good causes. In all those years, I never personally joined any of organizations I covered until I encountered METAvivor. They have such a clear, unclouded mission. There's nothing superfluous or nonessential in their efforts and campaigns. They are going to change the lives of people with Metastatic Breast Cancer. And I want to be there to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer