Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

So far, I have been one of the lucky ones: a woman whose breast cancer was caught early and treated successfully. But my heart goes out to my sisters who are not so fortunate. METAvivor has been in the forefront of raising money for research into this woefully underfunded disease, metastatic breast cancer. The organization is run completely by volunteers, and you'll never meet a more competent, dedicated group. I cannot thank them enough for the efforts they are putting into extending and saving the lives of so many women. We all know the odds: 1 in 8 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in her lifetime.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

This dedicated non-profit group is focused on helping men and women with metastatic breast cancer. They understand the physiological, psychological, social and spiritual impact of metastatic breast cancer. The volunteer leadership of this group is working to increase options to prevent and treat metastatic disease. Articulate and professional, the leadership has presented to Congress, as well as outreached to the public. This non-profit organization is stellar in their mission and approaches it with integrity and conviction. MOK

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue with the same level of enthusiasm and keep spreading your message...

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

October 19, 2013

In the midst of so much pink hype, especially every October, it's hard to find a breast cancer charity that has a meaningful impact on the national stage, which does its work with integrity, and which is responsible, accountable and transparent to donors. METAvivor is all of that! As a 100% volunteer group, every penny is available to fund critical research to support scientific study that will directly benefit those of us living with metastatic breast cancer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Broaden it's reach across the country and expand visibility as a stand-out breast cancer charity.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Good to see this organization get the support it needs to continue serving those with Stage IV cancers. Please donate. The money will all be for research.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Despite having Metastatic Breast Cancer we as a community do not feel represented by the general Breast Cancer organizations. It is though they don't want to bring the "true" statistics to light and if we are around they would have to explain the truth about our disorder eg roughly 30% of early stage breast cancer patients will progress to Metastatic(stage IV) cancer and 8-10% start with MBC that means the approx 40% will have MBC AND that is a VERY different picture to the PINK story that says BC has a 90% cure rate. Metavivor advocates that 30% of funds should go towards MBC research. this is the stage where people die!!! Stop the metastasis= stop the deaths!! NO BODY DIES from EARLY STAGE BREAST CANCER!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

To find an organisation that is so transparent about everything it does is quite frankly surprising, even in the non-profit world. I have metastatic breast cancer and we need to be noticed and accepted, especially by the breast cancer community as a whole who usually ignore our existence as we are not pink fluffy "survivors". We don't fit into the Pink Survivor scenario although uur plight is used to raise funds that do nothing to help or benefit those who have MBC. It is as though there is nothing between early stage breast cancer (which is survivable) and End of Life. Well, THERE IS, and METAvivor is the only group I know of which is dedicated to the life of these men and women, and to finding treatments for us. 30% of the "Early Stage Survivors" will develop metastatic disease and METAvivor is actually doing something to help them when they cross over the divide between SURvivor and METAvivor.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Metavivor is dedicated to stage IV Metastatic Breast Cancer Research and is dedicated to placing a spotlight on metastatic breast cancer which kills nearly 40,000 a year; approximately 30% of breast cancer patients with breast cancer develop MBC-cancer that has spread beyond the breast. The Metavivor organization's analysis of cancer organizations from the western world suggests that only 5% of total cancer research funding goes towards metastatic disease. Unfortunately, metastasis can happen to anyone, at any stage of the disease making additional research funding and patient support services critical for stage IV patients in a time when the efforts of fundraising are geared towards early prevention and detection and because of this, stage IV is cast in the shadow-"Out of sight, out of mind" MBC IS the worst nightmare of every patient with breast cancer but so little funding is given to save so many lives-MBC is fatal so lets work together to make a change, our lives are depending on it!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2012

more

September 22, 2012

Metavivor is an organization dedicated to funding research for metastatic breast cancer. Everyone at the organization generously VOLUNTEERS their time. I am a blogger and an advocate who is extremely involved in all issues surrounding breast cancer. There are so many different organizations all competing for donor dollars. It is so important to be sure our donations are being used wisely. If you are looking to put your money into research to stop breast cancer deaths, this is where your donation should be sent. I know of no other organization whose sole mission is to see that the most "ignored" breast cancer patients, the ones who will likely die of the disease, are properly served. Metastatic research is sorely underfunded and Metavivor is spreading that message, too. They are doing everything right and should be held up as a model for all other organizations. They embody the meaning of grass-roots advocacy. Metavivor isn't just the name of a non-profit, it's a group of dedicated and devoted people working tirelessly to seek change. They are most worthy of any and all donations sent their way. The potential is there for Metavivor to be more than life-changing... they will be life-SAVING and nothing is more important than that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I learned about Metavivor from a few women who were stage IV breast cancer patients. They would often speak of the organization in the highest regard. Several of those women have since passed away. Their deaths prompted me to take a close look at the structure and operation of the organization. I remain impressed.

September 17, 2012

more

September 17, 2012

I have worked as an editor in the magazine business for more than 20 years in California and Maryland. In fact, I was the editor of a magazine in Palm Springs that focused on philanthropy and good causes. In all those years, I never personally joined any of organizations I covered until I encountered METAvivor. They have such a clear, unclouded mission. There's nothing superfluous or nonessential in their efforts and campaigns. They are going to change the lives of people with Metastatic Breast Cancer. And I want to be there to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 8, 2012

more

May 8, 2012

Not many people realize that metastatic breast cancer is almost always incurable, and that up to 30% of all breast cancer patients die from metastasis. That's more than 40,000 people every year in the US alone! Furthermore, metastasis is usually not discovered until years - even decades - after the initial diagnosis, surgery, and treatment, leaving hundreds of thousands of patients with years of uncertainty. Metastasis research is critical to improve breast cancer death rates, yet it is difficult and slow. METAvivor brings together patients, advocates, and experts to get accurate information to the public, and to raise money to fund important research specifically on breast cancer metastasis.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer