Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Metastasis is what kills cancer patients, but research in this critical area is woefully underfunded compared to the magnitude of the problem. METAvivor is a grassroots organization that is raising support for laboratory research directly targeting metastasis. They also provide support for patients living with metastatic cancer. Perhaps as importantly, they have begun to shine a light on the growing number of patients living with metastatic cancer -- their real problems, challenges and realities. METAvivor solicits advice from experts to assure that their research grants are going to the best possible science. They do all of this with a minimum administrative overhead. In short, if I want money going directly to metastasis research, this is the place I send my contribution!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

METAvivor is the only national organization that exclusively supports research that benefits patients living with metastatic breast cancer through a peer-reviewed grant process. 100% of every donation made to METAvivor goes directly to research. Thanks to volunteer efforts and direct sponsorships, not one penny of donations are used for overhead. I love that.
September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 26, 2013

METavivor is a 100 percent volunteer, patient led non profit organization. It started out as a support group for metastatic breast cancer patients, an area that sadly has very little support. Now, i... more

September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Metavivor is one of the non profits that we support annually. All money goes directly into research for metastatic disease. Metavivor has been a leader for support, advocacy and fund raising for metastatic breast cancer. The research done as a result of Metavivor's grants will directly or indirectly lead to progress in all metastatic cancer. Each year they innovate many new ways to raise funds for this worthy cause. Well done, and keep up the good work!
October 26, 2013

METavivor is a 100 percent volunteer, patient led non profit organization. It started out as a support group for metastatic breast cancer patients, an area that sadly has very little support. Now, in addition to the caring support, METavivor, funds research for treatment for patients whose cancer has spread. To date, they have awarded over $600,000 in metastatic breast cancer research grants. They put 100 percent of donations and 100 percent of fundraiser proceeds into the grants. I am pleased to contribute to an organization who uses my donations so efficiently, and for such a worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more exposure

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very accepting organization that counseled & supported me when I was diagnosed with Stage IV cancer at the age of 32 & continue to support me to this day. I have 2 very young daughters & the women of the group have helped me throughout the many hardships I have endured. My breast cancer spread to my liver, skin, lymph nodes, & brain. i have been on chemo since diagnosis & also had surgery & radiation. each time i was connected to someone in the group who had gone before me - told me what i can expect & the truth about side effects. They have also given me the opportunity to make a difference in the world. They connected me to the right people & recommended me as a patient advisor. I have been able to share my story through their guidance. Every time I do I am encouraged & uplifted by hope. This organization is the key to research & ultimately a cure to stage IV breast cancer.
September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

This outstanding organization has put metastatic breast cancer on the map and in the consciousness of the public, literally from the grassroots. METAvivor started as a local program and, through the sheer determination and dedication of its founders and volunteers has developed quality programs, amazing outreach, and steady, growing fundraising.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I recently co-chaired a luncheon for this great organization. After attending the luncheon last year and meeting one of the nonprofit’s co-founders, who while very ill, made sure that she worked to make the luncheon a success, I was very inspired to help. Metastatic breast cancer research is distressingly unfunded for the most part. What METAvivor is doing to raise funds and raise awareness is exemplary. The spirit and dedication of this group made me proud to be a volunteer for them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

METAVIVOR as an organization that has shown tremendous respect for the metastatic breast patients by being an advocate for those whose voices may not be heard due to the overwhelming attention given to the breast cancer community who are not Metastatic. They have committed to helping those whose disease has progressed and are fighting to ensure that research continues for those whose outlook may be more challenging.
By working with us in the community they have made it easy to partner with them in building fund raisers that will benefit metastatic patients and help get money for research and provide a hopefully longer, enjoyable, productive life for the metastatic patient and bless their families with more time and love.
A wonderful organization, helping patients have a wonderful outlook on the future.
Doug McGuire

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2013

I have watched this grassroots organization since its inception and have seen these women with metastatic breast cancer work tirelessly and without any compensation I might add, make funding for metastic breast cancer a reality. What they do for one another and the Metastatic Breast Community as a whole is remarkable. I applaude their determination.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a genetic counselor, I know that one can make all the right lifestyle choices, do all the recommended screening and/or surgery and sometimes still not avoid metastatic breast cancer. Metavivor is completely dedicated to women with metastatic disease. This organization puts 100% of donations towards funding research that pursues new insights, new protocols and new results. One phone call to them will convince you that they keep up to date so that they can make the best decisions about the allocation of funds, and support the women who come to them for hope.

J.H., LCGC

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a nurse, I know and hear the stories of women with metastatic breast cancer, and I know the place to send them. Metavivor understands what they are going through like no one else. They help fund the research that makes a difference an support the women, who need it most and who are the most neglected. They give the patient the respect, information and support that can truly make a difference in their lives now, while funding the research that will make a difference in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer