Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
34 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

Metastasis is what kills cancer patients, but research in this critical area is woefully underfunded compared to the magnitude of the problem. METAvivor is a grassroots organization that is raising support for laboratory research directly targeting metastasis. They also provide support for patients living with metastatic cancer. Perhaps as importantly, they have begun to shine a light on the growing number of patients living with metastatic cancer -- their real problems, challenges and realities. METAvivor solicits advice from experts to assure that their research grants are going to the best possible science. They do all of this with a minimum administrative overhead. In short, if I want money going directly to metastasis research, this is the place I send my contribution!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 18, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
October 18, 2014

Great organization filling a real need. Led by "metavivors", the organization is focused on fighting the disease and helping those who are fighting it. Unlike many nonprofits, it is not caught up in trying to have the splashiest brochures, coolest office, etc. As a donor, it is refreshing to know that donations are actually used for the purposes intended.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 14, 2014

more

October 14, 2014

Metavivor is a wonderful organization that stands out from other cancer related nonprofits. I am amazed at the hard work, quality of work, and dedication each of member of this organization contributes in order to raise awareness and fund research directly related to metastatic breast cancer. I look forward to following this organization to see the amazing things it continues to do.
September 24, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 24, 2014

Metavivor fills a dearly-needed role in making sure metastatic breast cancer gets the attention and research it needs to help the 150,000 Americans who are living with MBC. The staff is living with this disease themselves, so they understand all too well the urgency and importance of Metavivor.
September 21, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 21, 2014

As a breast cancer surgeon, I am asked to support many breast cancer related non-profit organizations. Metavivor is at the top of my list. They are one of the few organizations providing support to individuals as well as researchers who focus on metastatic breast cancer - these women are not well represented in clinical trials and research efforts. In addition, they are extremely transparent regarding where the donations are going. For these reasons, I will continue to support Metavivor and would recommend that others do so as well.
September 20, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 20, 2014

Metavivor is a nonprofit organization that supports people living with metastatic breast cancer. 100% of the proceeds go to research. Unlike Susan G. Komen. I donate exclusively to Metavivor in the hopes that metastatic disease will be part of our past.

Susan Rahn
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

METAvivor is the only national organization that exclusively supports research that benefits patients living with metastatic breast cancer through a peer-reviewed grant process. 100% of every donation made to METAvivor goes directly to research. Thanks to volunteer efforts and direct sponsorships, not one penny of donations are used for overhead. I love that.
September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 26, 2013

METavivor is a 100 percent volunteer, patient led non profit organization. It started out as a support group for metastatic breast cancer patients, an area that sadly has very little support. Now, i... more

September 16, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Metavivor is one of the non profits that we support annually. All money goes directly into research for metastatic disease. Metavivor has been a leader for support, advocacy and fund raising for metastatic breast cancer. The research done as a result of Metavivor's grants will directly or indirectly lead to progress in all metastatic cancer. Each year they innovate many new ways to raise funds for this worthy cause. Well done, and keep up the good work!
October 26, 2013

METavivor is a 100 percent volunteer, patient led non profit organization. It started out as a support group for metastatic breast cancer patients, an area that sadly has very little support. Now, in addition to the caring support, METavivor, funds research for treatment for patients whose cancer has spread. To date, they have awarded over $600,000 in metastatic breast cancer research grants. They put 100 percent of donations and 100 percent of fundraiser proceeds into the grants. I am pleased to contribute to an organization who uses my donations so efficiently, and for such a worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more exposure

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This is a very accepting organization that counseled & supported me when I was diagnosed with Stage IV cancer at the age of 32 & continue to support me to this day. I have 2 very young daughters & the women of the group have helped me throughout the many hardships I have endured. My breast cancer spread to my liver, skin, lymph nodes, & brain. i have been on chemo since diagnosis & also had surgery & radiation. each time i was connected to someone in the group who had gone before me - told me what i can expect & the truth about side effects. They have also given me the opportunity to make a difference in the world. They connected me to the right people & recommended me as a patient advisor. I have been able to share my story through their guidance. Every time I do I am encouraged & uplifted by hope. This organization is the key to research & ultimately a cure to stage IV breast cancer.
September 15, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
September 15, 2014

This outstanding organization has put metastatic breast cancer on the map and in the consciousness of the public, literally from the grassroots. METAvivor started as a local program and, through the sheer determination and dedication of its founders and volunteers has developed quality programs, amazing outreach, and steady, growing fundraising.
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer