Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Metastasis is what kills cancer patients, but research in this critical area is woefully underfunded compared to the magnitude of the problem. METAvivor is a grassroots organization that is raising support for laboratory research directly targeting metastasis. They also provide support for patients living with metastatic cancer. Perhaps as importantly, they have begun to shine a light on the growing number of patients living with metastatic cancer -- their real problems, challenges and realities. METAvivor solicits advice from experts to assure that their research grants are going to the best possible science. They do all of this with a minimum administrative overhead. In short, if I want money going directly to metastasis research, this is the place I send my contribution!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 31, 2013

I have watched this grassroots organization since its inception and have seen these women with metastatic breast cancer work tirelessly and without any compensation I might add, make funding for metastic breast cancer a reality. What they do for one another and the Metastatic Breast Community as a whole is remarkable. I applaude their determination.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

As a genetic counselor, I know that one can make all the right lifestyle choices, do all the recommended screening and/or surgery and sometimes still not avoid metastatic breast cancer. Metavivor is completely dedicated to women with metastatic disease. This organization puts 100% of donations towards funding research that pursues new insights, new protocols and new results. One phone call to them will convince you that they keep up to date so that they can make the best decisions about the allocation of funds, and support the women who come to them for hope.

J.H., LCGC

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

As a nurse, I know and hear the stories of women with metastatic breast cancer, and I know the place to send them. Metavivor understands what they are going through like no one else. They help fund the research that makes a difference an support the women, who need it most and who are the most neglected. They give the patient the respect, information and support that can truly make a difference in their lives now, while funding the research that will make a difference in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 29, 2013

This is an amazing organization, professionally run by volunteers. Because of this they are able to give 100% of donations to metastatic breast cancer research. Leadership is mostly by people with metastatic breast cancer. This is such an important issue that is often overlooked by traditional breast cancer organizations. The research Metavivor funds is critical for women with MBC.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 27, 2013

It is an honor to work with such amazing people who are committed to the cause.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 26, 2013

I am a volunteer working with patients/families on the journey with breast cancer. Unfortunately and often overlooked are those who have been diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer. The unbelievable, dedicated and energetic members of METAVIVOR have been instrumental in gaining funds to support research to change metastatic breast cancer from a terminal disease to a chronic disease that can allow for the journey to be long...NOT short-lived. I have known many of the members of this group and, in addition to their tireless work, they have had to deal with the emotional challenges of watching their members succumb to this dreaded disease. Please go to METAVIVOR.ORG and offer help to eliminate this terminal disease which can affect anyone of us!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

METavivor is a 100 percent volunteer, patient led non profit organization. It started out as a support group for metastatic breast cancer patients, an area that sadly has very little support. Now, in addition to the caring support, METavivor, funds research for treatment for patients whose cancer has spread. To date, they have awarded over $600,000 in metastatic breast cancer research grants. They put 100 percent of donations and 100 percent of fundraiser proceeds into the grants. I am pleased to contribute to an organization who uses my donations so efficiently, and for such a worthy cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give them more exposure

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

I am a medical anthropologist, health educator and administrator, working with metastatic breast cancer patients for the past 7 years. I know of no better organization for metastatic cancer patients, than Metatvivor. Their commitment to funding research which will benefit the stage IV patient, and their total volunteer status, gives me complete confidence that my personal donations will do the most good. But in addition to funding research they provide direct , hands on support and care with knowledge, grace, and practicality. I am confident when I refer a patient to them, that they will be well taken care of. And I myself turn to them for up to date and practical information about options for treatment and the relevance of programs I might be considering. This is not the kind of organization that spends more time promoting itself than looking for solutions or giving support, but rather the kind you want when you or your loved ones need guidance. I give them my highest recommendation. Kathryn Devanny, MA, MPH

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Duplicate them, in the middle and west of the nation.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

This organization is run by an amazing group of professionals - all volunteer and all extremely accomplished in their fields. Their professionalism and tireless dedication is reflected in the success of this very worthy charity .

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Send emails to friends and family telling them about METAvivor and suggesting their donate. 100% of all donations go strictly toward metastatic breast cancer research. Volunteer