Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
65 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

The Meso Foundation has been an incredible support in my life. In 2009, my mom was diagnosed with Mesothelioma. She passed away 2 years later when I was 24 years old. She was the third person in her family to die from Mesothelimoa, and also not the last. Her sister, my Aunt passed away a year later in 2012.

Mesothelioma is a cancer that has literally destroyed my family. It can often be an isolating disease. Few people have heard of it, even fewer know what it truly is. The Foundation has been there for my family in every way, for my mom & aunt who were patients, for me as a loved one and now as a bereaved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make more people aware of it!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This nonprofit was instrumental in its early days as families like ours watched a loved one suffer so much before death. Whenever I called there was a friendly person to provide advice. Our loved one has been gone for 11 years now. However, this nonprofit is still helping others in so many new ways! We continue to support their efforts for a health issue that is so devastating. This organization is top notch!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2002

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

When my father was diagnosed with mesothelioma we had no idea where to turn. I stayed up researching on the internet through the night, fighting my way through the law firm sites to try to get REAL help! Within 36 hours I was on the phone with MARF. It was a Sunday afternoon when Mary Hesdorffer answered the phone. That same Sunday, she had us on the phone with the top thorasic surgeon at New York University Medical Center in Manhattan. By Tuesday, my dad was in his office and Friday he was conducting a surgical biopsy.

This organization is the real deal! They have been there for us from the diagnosis and even now. The mission is to help patients and their loved ones to advocate, fight, survive and live well with mesothelioma. Of course, they also want to find a cure so pivotal research is funded.

My dad was with us for 20 months after his diagnosis. All of my initial research said that we would be lucky to get six months. There is not a doubt in my mind that we would not have had all of that time had we not found MARF. Even now that my father is no longer here, Mary and the foundation are still there trying to support us in our grief and loss. My mom calls Mary her angel: for without that support it would have been impossible to carry on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I have family members & thousands of families are in the US Asbestos Exposure Health Emergency of Libby, Montana. In seeking Life Saving Medical Treatment for my family, I called the National Cancer Institute (NCI), and explained my families health situations. The NCI informed me that there are Zero Designated Cancer Treatment Centers in the Whole State of Montana, and Referred me to the Mesothelioma Applied Research Foundation aka CureMeso. This said everything to me, that CureMeso is the Best.
To this day, I'm still working with Mary Hesdorffer at CureMeso, in obtaining help for my family members, and appreciate all the time and effort she has given to my family members. Asbestos exposure not only affects the Lungs, it also affects other vital organs of the body. My brother Diagnosed by Dr. Brad Black of Libby CARD Clinic, has had to have a Kidney removed, and his wife is in Double Kidney Failure, so not only am I appreciative of CureMeso, but also The Kidney Foundation and UHCancerCenter whom also is now working with my family to save their lives. I appreciate all whom are helping to save the lives of my family members, and others with Asbestos Related Diseases.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

I subscribed to this foundation after my beautiful Mum was diagnosed with Meso last year. It gives me hope & feels like there's a whole community of people who care out there as I read their regular social media updates. They are always extremely positive & do a great job of updating us all on trials & research from all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a sub branch in Australia

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

This non profit organization has helped so many others. Whether you are fighting for your life, caring for a loved one, lost a loved one or want to support research, the great people at mesothelioma applied research can help guide, direct and comfort you in your personal journey!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Work for them myself. :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My husband is a stage 4 Mesothelioma patient and this site has helped us both greatly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

When my husband was diagnosed with meso in March of 2006, we knew nothing--what it meant, where to go for treatment, etc. The resources we found here were enourmously helpful, and so were the boards/forums. The support and comfort we received there cannot be quantified. Although my husband passed in 2008, I continue to keep up with the research. No one should have to die from meso--it's preventable, if ONLY we could get asbestos banned--but in the meantime, the research MARF funds goes a long way to helping find viable treatments, if not a cure.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

My husband was diagnosed in June 2012, we were devastated with the diagnosis of Mesothelioma and really needed someone who was in our shoes to walk through this with. We inquired at the hospital if there was a support group for this cancer and that evening we received a call from a patient who was willing to talk about their experience with Mesothelioma. In that conversation we were introduced to MARF and were invited to participate in a private group atmosphere. This place of comfort took on so many different roles in our fight. At first it was a place to ask and receive answers from our peers, it included an opportunity to have private conversations with people you relate to and share a common mind set. Then it was our lifeline to ask and understand medical issues so foreign to us in the beginning. Finally, it was our research link to our persistent stretch for a cure. It is a non profit research foundation that only wants a cure and it is given freely. Privacy and Respect

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 9, 2013

more

October 9, 2013

My husband, John, was diagnosed with peritoneal mesothelioma a year ago. We frantically searched for help, but it seemed there was no place to find information or support for this rare type of cancer. So when we found MARF online it was God-sent! Mary was so encouraging! She was kind with a wealth of knowledge. She added us to a survivors and caregivers support group - an ongoing blessing! We were moved from fear to hope as knowledge gained from MARF's research helped us navigate to the best possible treatment options. John had a 14 hr. surgery with the only dr. in our area having the expertise to perform it. Today John is doing very well! Only those that have walked this road know what is needed for survival. We are grateful to the MARF staff for all they do to fight this terrible disease and their mission to find a cure for mesothelioma, including grants for clinical trials.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers