Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
3 Reviews
123.6666745
Write A Review
February 4, 2014

more

February 4, 2014

I am a senior citizen in the City of St. Paul. Four to five years ago, I requested help with snow shoveling from the Merrick Community Center. The first year it went well, but in the 2nd half of the second season, help from the same person became unreliable. Eventually a new person was assigned which lasted for about two months, and then another for one event. the third year help was sporadic and unreliable. At that time I emailed the Director of Merrick about my concerns about the situation, but received no response. This year was typical of my contact with Merrick. Early in the season I received a call from J.A., Merrick Senior Chores, who told me that interviews with Contractors were being held, and that more help would be available. Shortly after that a female called me and said that she and her family had been assigned to me for temporary help with snow removal, that help never came. Then S. from Merrick Chores called me to say that Someone was coming right over to shovel snow, and she gave me her phone to call her if there was any problem. The Someone never showed up. When I called S. from Merrick , she did not respond to my phone call. In December of 2014, a man named J. came to my door with a Paper from Merrick for me to sign, and said he had been assigned to me for snow shoveling. J. came twice to my house when I was home, gave me a work receipt for payment. I sent the payment to Merrick, J. came to my house a third time, when I wasn't home and did the work, but did not leave a receipt. I called Merrick, and left a message for J.A. to ask for a receipt so I could make a payment to Merrick, but she never responded to my message. More than a month ago, I made several phone calls to J.A. to let her know that J. had never shown up again, and I asked to call me and let me know what was going on. To this date, Feb. 4th, 2014, J.A. from Merrick Chore Service has never returned my phone calls. Last week I called the Merrick Office and I spoke to a Staff member, and I asked that she tell the Director of my concerns about Merrick Chore Services. I also inquired of her why my contacts with past calls to Merrick have not received a response. She said that the response given by Staff, was that they had been unable to reach me. I have a phone feature that is a answering machine. In recent past there has never been a message on it from any Merrick staff responding to me. So I am very skeptical about that answer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Merrick Community Service has to be made available to All Senior citizens who express a need for help with Chore services and to be respectful by returning messages, so seniors know WHAT is going on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 6, 2011

more

December 6, 2011

Merrick's new food bank facility is arranged and managed focused on the needs of participants. I attended the recent open house and was impressed with the efficiency, layout, helpful volunteers and staff along with the children's play area. This program offers participants a choice in the food they select - making sure they get a variety of nutritious food that fits their family's needs. Nancy Diekmann

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

Merrick Community Service's new food shelf located at 1075 Hudson Road in St. Paul, is clean, convenient and inviting. It offers a wide variety of food to accommodate diverse cultures. The staff and volunteers are friendly and helpful. The new food shelf is a great addition to the East side community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers