Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.222225
Write A Review
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

It was nine years ago, October 25th 2005, that I entered the doors of Mercy Ministries. I was scared, nervous, and desperate for help. For years I had struggled with an eating disorder and depression, but I found myself near death one year into my marriage. I was afraid that my husband would wake up one morning only to find that I had quit breathing. I knew I needed help, but in all the years that I struggled hospitalization, medication, and therapy proved ineffective. When I was presented with the idea of Mercy I thought it sounded too good to be true, but I felt God nudging me to pursue the application. I did and before I knew it I was leaving my husband and beginning my journey to recovery. What I didn't realize, however, is that I would also be starting a new relationship, with God that is. While I was at Mercy I not only received healing from an eating disorder, but I also discovered what it meant to have an intimate relationship with our amazing God. The staff at Mercy prayed over me, guided me, supported me, and listened to me. I was not merely a "patient," rather I was a sister in Christ. I can't say enough about how wonderful Mercy Ministries is. I will forever be grateful for all the that God has done, blessed me with and for guiding me to Mercy. On an end note, when doctors told me I would not have children as a result of so many years of bodily harm, I rested on what I learned while I was Mercy. That is, with God ALL things are possible!!! I am so excited to share that as of today my husband and I have been blessed with two beautiful, healthy children. Joshua is three and Faith will one this month. God is good, all the time!!! Thank you God, Mercy and Nancy Alcorn!!!
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Before I came to Mercy Ministries I was broken and hurting. I was sexually abused as a child by all of the men in my life that were supposed to protect me. As a young teenager I started looking for love in guys and in attention. But I knew that I needed a change I just had no idea where to get it from. I came across Mercy through my social worker and I applied the next day. When I came to Mercy I was ready for a change and I was thankful for the program that was specialized just for young girls that were all looking for the same change. I made some of the greatest friends and became a stronger woman in Christ. I am thankful for the time that I had to spend there.
October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Mercy completely set me free from an eating disorder, trauma, depression, and more. I went into mercy a scared little girl but came out a completely new person. Seeking freedom can be tough but the staff and other girls are so encouraging! If you welcoming for a place to seek healing and freedom, Mercy is an amazing place! I met my best friends there and I am now living a new person who is whole and happy and healed! I love Mercy and am beyond grateful to be a graduate of the program.
October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My name is Hannah, and I am the Founder/Editor in Chief of UnleashedBeauty—a Christian based fashion magazine. I am also a Mercy Ministries graduate.

Going into the Mercy home, I struggled with an eating disorder, self-harm, depression, anxiety, and had been sexually and physically abused
on multiple occasions. But I walked out of Mercy’s doors a completely different person: whole, free and like I was myself again.

Since graduating from Mercy, I married an amazing man who not only supports me and my career but also Mercy Ministries. He is currently designing a Mercy app that will enable former residents to submit prayer requests to and receive encouragement from Mercy donors.

At the end of the day, I am so thankful for Nancy Alcorn listening to God’s calling on her life, because God changed my life through Mercy. I want to give back as much as I can, because of them my life became a ripple effect helping others who had similar struggles as I faced. Thank you Mercy Ministries!


-Hannah
August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

When I went to Mercy I was a suicidal, clinically depressed, borderline personality, self-harming, emotional drinker. And now I'm not! The staff at Mercy spent countless hours pouring into me and speaking life over me. While I was at Mercy I learned who I am in Christ. That my name is His word for "delight." He showed me where He was during all of the painful times in my life, and during all of my time of running He was crying, "Come to me! " He showed me that those things weren't His will for me. God didn't make a mistake when He made me. He's not angry. He has such a happy heart. He ravished my heart with His love for me. Because of Mercy I am walking in complete freedom. My worst day now is a thousand times better than my best day before Mercy. Thank you!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the staff a raise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries helped me start to become the woman God created me to be. I wasn't always nice actually I was the most bitter and angriest person who had walked in the doors. Everytime I messed up and did something bad, they loved me back to God every time.
It was the love they gave and showed
me that has changed my life forever

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries refused to assist me because I had a disability! My disability is not something that would require extravagant accommodations, I merely need medication twice daily. But this is apparently not possible for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Went to this place and they tried to convince me that all my problems were because of the terrib le parents that I had. I came out accusing my dad of sexually abusing me in some horrific ways! When I finally came to myself-the truth , that my parents have nothing to do with my problems, Mercy Ministries has abandoned me. Now I have no family and , ironically, no mercy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Its techniques and ideology are an affront to Christianity. The ministry steals donors money by contriving results and even manufacturing "patients". My daughter was the product of a loving home. Against her parents' wishes she entered MM for "treatment". They convinced her to renounce her family, cutting off all communication ties (for two years and counting). She has likely been convinced that her parents' abused her through repressed memory techniques. The pain to her family, including her many siblings, has been immense. MM falsely advertises a desire to utilize family therapy, and convinces adolescent girls that their families are the problem, not the cure. Vulnerable girls who have not been abused or victimized are convinced that they have been. Donating to MM is donating to the devil.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I highly discourage anyone from supporting or receiving services from MMOA. I was spiritually and emotionally abused while there. I'm glad that I was aware enough to see what was going on and not give in to their manipulative tactics or mind control. Medical treatment was also withheld as they said that if I just "trusted in God" or had "more faith" it would get better. They even went as far as to say that I was blocking God's ability to work in me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers