Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.222225
Write A Review
April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor and largely involved supporter of Mercy Ministries, I can attest to the work done at Mercy Ministries. Nancy Alcorn has held steadfast to the vision of helping girls find life transformation. The hundreds and hundreds of stories of "Mercy Girls" often bring me to tears. I know without a shadow a doubt my financial gifts are going to make a difference and bring freedom to hurting girls. I have met several girls directly impacted by the program, and have been able to rejoice in the freedom and transformation they have found.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

I am so very grateful for ministries such as Mercy Ministries who genuinely exist to help girls with life-controlling issues and who's motives are pure in doing so. It is a free-of-charge residential program staffed with women who love the cause of seeing hope brought to the hopeless and lives transformed. Thank you God for this ministry! So MANY lives have been impacted and changed for the good because of it!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

I have know about and supported Mercy for over 7 years. I also personally know several girls who went through this program that would attest to how awesome the program is and how much it contributed to their success in life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Went to this place and they tried to convince me that all my problems were because of the terrib le parents that I had. I came out accusing my dad of sexually abusing me in some horrific ways! When I finally came to myself-the truth , that my parents have nothing to do with my problems, Mercy Ministries has abandoned me. Now I have no family and , ironically, no mercy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Its techniques and ideology are an affront to Christianity. The ministry steals donors money by contriving results and even manufacturing "patients". My daughter was the product of a loving home. Against her parents' wishes she entered MM for "treatment". They convinced her to renounce her family, cutting off all communication ties (for two years and counting). She has likely been convinced that her parents' abused her through repressed memory techniques. The pain to her family, including her many siblings, has been immense. MM falsely advertises a desire to utilize family therapy, and convinces adolescent girls that their families are the problem, not the cure. Vulnerable girls who have not been abused or victimized are convinced that they have been. Donating to MM is donating to the devil.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I highly discourage anyone from supporting or receiving services from MMOA. I was spiritually and emotionally abused while there. I'm glad that I was aware enough to see what was going on and not give in to their manipulative tactics or mind control. Medical treatment was also withheld as they said that if I just "trusted in God" or had "more faith" it would get better. They even went as far as to say that I was blocking God's ability to work in me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Do not go to this place! I read these reviews and they are very shallow! They are not personal experiences!
I have a daughter who went to this place and she was brainwashed into believing all her problems were her parents fault- oh so common among young girls today- blame it on the parents!!!
Consequently our daughter has not spoken to us going on three years! She still has her same problems and worse, only now she will not let us help her. This review will probably be removed because the ones that stay here are the lies! Basically this organization is a CULT!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

I graduated from Mercy Ministries in 2006.
The main reason why I do not and never will financially support Mercy Ministries is that they are completely unqualified to address mental illness, particularly eating disorders. My counselor was not trained in eating disorder treatment. I came to
Mercy with an eating disorder. I was not treated for my eating disorder. It was lumped in with all of my other mental illnesses. They "monitored" my eating, and by monitor, I mean that untrained , unhealthy staff would look at our plates and decide if it looked good. We had a nutritionist during the day, but she would merely do plate checks - not meet with us, one on one, regarding healthy eating practices. If our nutritionist was trained in eating disorder treatment, she certainly did not practice it. I never met with her regarding my eating disorder. I entered with anorexia/bulimia, and left with an unhealthy BMI and no ability to consciously choose a healthy nutritional lifestyle.
I did experience 'exorcism' as part of the counseling program, though I heard they did away with that counseling program due to negative feedback. It is extremely disconcerting to me that they do not use clinically tested counseling practices.
Essentially, they believe that demons and the devil are the cause of all negativity and illness. So, they believe, it is not necessary to address the illness, one must simply address the devil. This is very harmful to many women who go through the program. The approach has NO medical foundation (which is actually something they seemed proud of, because they would tout the fact that God heals, not doctors. In actuality, God uses doctors to heal - but there is a reason doctors go to medical school and complete residency).
Most unsettling is that Mercy practiced "healing" for lesbian women while I was there. I was young at the time, and naive, so I did not fully understand the weight of this. Now, the thought of praying the gay away makes me sick to my stomach. I wish I could apologize for ever graduating from such an institution for this sole reason.
I am currently a graduate student, and have worked to come to a place of true mental and physical health after graduating Mercy. I am not an erratic, confused, or hateful Mercy graduate; however, I am concerned about the future of the program and I am ashamed to have "graduated" from Mercy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I am so very sorry to hear that you felt that way. I know of someone who can help you. Please check out the videos for Katie Souza. Also Sid Roth. http://www.YouTube.com/Watch?v=CIGQm3foS4Y

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries tried to brainwash me into thinking my illness was all better. But when I didn't respond, they dismissed me, with no aftercare and suicidal. I wasn't going to make them any money when I graduated still sick. I have severe PTSD and they encouraged me off all my medications. They're a dirty organization who mistakenly makes girls believe the world of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers