Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.151525
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Went to this place and they tried to convince me that all my problems were because of the terrib le parents that I had. I came out accusing my dad of sexually abusing me in some horrific ways! When I finally came to myself-the truth , that my parents have nothing to do with my problems, Mercy Ministries has abandoned me. Now I have no family and , ironically, no mercy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
March 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries is a wolf in sheep's clothing. Its techniques and ideology are an affront to Christianity. The ministry steals donors money by contriving results and even manufacturing "patients". My daughter was the product of a loving home. Against her parents' wishes she entered MM for "treatment". They convinced her to renounce her family, cutting off all communication ties (for two years and counting). She has likely been convinced that her parents' abused her through repressed memory techniques. The pain to her family, including her many siblings, has been immense. MM falsely advertises a desire to utilize family therapy, and convinces adolescent girls that their families are the problem, not the cure. Vulnerable girls who have not been abused or victimized are convinced that they have been. Donating to MM is donating to the devil.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I highly discourage anyone from supporting or receiving services from MMOA. I was spiritually and emotionally abused while there. I'm glad that I was aware enough to see what was going on and not give in to their manipulative tactics or mind control. Medical treatment was also withheld as they said that if I just "trusted in God" or had "more faith" it would get better. They even went as far as to say that I was blocking God's ability to work in me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

February 23, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Do not go to this place! I read these reviews and they are very shallow! They are not personal experiences!
I have a daughter who went to this place and she was brainwashed into believing all her problems were her parents fault- oh so common among young girls today- blame it on the parents!!!
Consequently our daughter has not spoken to us going on three years! She still has her same problems and worse, only now she will not let us help her. This review will probably be removed because the ones that stay here are the lies! Basically this organization is a CULT!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

more

February 13, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

I graduated from Mercy Ministries in 2006.
The main reason why I do not and never will financially support Mercy Ministries is that they are completely unqualified to address mental illness, particularly eating disorders. My counselor was not trained in eating disorder treatment. I came to
Mercy with an eating disorder. I was not treated for my eating disorder. It was lumped in with all of my other mental illnesses. They "monitored" my eating, and by monitor, I mean that untrained , unhealthy staff would look at our plates and decide if it looked good. We had a nutritionist during the day, but she would merely do plate checks - not meet with us, one on one, regarding healthy eating practices. If our nutritionist was trained in eating disorder treatment, she certainly did not practice it. I never met with her regarding my eating disorder. I entered with anorexia/bulimia, and left with an unhealthy BMI and no ability to consciously choose a healthy nutritional lifestyle.
I did experience 'exorcism' as part of the counseling program, though I heard they did away with that counseling program due to negative feedback. It is extremely disconcerting to me that they do not use clinically tested counseling practices.
Essentially, they believe that demons and the devil are the cause of all negativity and illness. So, they believe, it is not necessary to address the illness, one must simply address the devil. This is very harmful to many women who go through the program. The approach has NO medical foundation (which is actually something they seemed proud of, because they would tout the fact that God heals, not doctors. In actuality, God uses doctors to heal - but there is a reason doctors go to medical school and complete residency).
Most unsettling is that Mercy practiced "healing" for lesbian women while I was there. I was young at the time, and naive, so I did not fully understand the weight of this. Now, the thought of praying the gay away makes me sick to my stomach. I wish I could apologize for ever graduating from such an institution for this sole reason.
I am currently a graduate student, and have worked to come to a place of true mental and physical health after graduating Mercy. I am not an erratic, confused, or hateful Mercy graduate; however, I am concerned about the future of the program and I am ashamed to have "graduated" from Mercy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I am so very sorry to hear that you felt that way. I know of someone who can help you. Please check out the videos for Katie Souza. Also Sid Roth. http://www.YouTube.com/Watch?v=CIGQm3foS4Y

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries tried to brainwash me into thinking my illness was all better. But when I didn't respond, they dismissed me, with no aftercare and suicidal. I wasn't going to make them any money when I graduated still sick. I have severe PTSD and they encouraged me off all my medications. They're a dirty organization who mistakenly makes girls believe the world of them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
May 14, 2010

I was a 15 year old girl on over 20 different antiphyschotic medications. I went from dr to dr with the diagnosis of bi-polar. Then it changed to PMDD. Then it was we have no idea whats wrong with her... more

October 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries is a ministry that saves lives. I was 16 when I choose to go there. I was in a place of despair and had nowhere else to turn. I was told that I wouldn't be normal anymore. The doctors I had been going to had given up on me and sent to psych ward after psysch ward. Money was running tight because of all the medical bills and then one day my parents mental health insurance ran out. I had heard of Mercy but never felt like I needed it. I was diagnosed Bi-Polar, extreme bi-polar. I was behind in High School because of all my mental institution stays and was on 16 different medications when I went to Mercy. I attempted suicide at least once a month and never actually succeeded. Mercy saved me. I went to Mercy without any money because my parents spent their savings on mental wards. That didn't matter to Mercy, they bring in girls free of charge due to the donations they receieve. I was given a new life. I was at Mercy for a year and when I left I was a new person. I was a new person in Christ. I was on only my ADHD medication. Mercy showed me a love of Christ that I had never seen before. They took me for who I was and who I still am today. What the doctors said about me not being able to lead a normal life I have proved wrong. I was told by one of my psychologists that first diagnosed me bipolar that a miracle must of happened, because they didn't see any signs of bi-polar inside me. I know who created that miracle, and Mercy showed me the love of Christ. Christ is the one miracle maker who healed me from all my depression, my suicidal thoughts, and my diagnosis of bi-polar. Mercy Ministries was the one place that didn't label me, they showed that I was a new creation in Christ. I was told I could never lead a normal life. 12 years after leaving Mercy, I am not on any mediciations, I was in the military for 8 years and ranked up, I have a beautiful daughter, and am now a full time student getting my nursing degree with all A's and B's. Mercy took me in free of charge and I left there with more hope than ever before. Mercy Ministries is the most amazing ministry, who truely does what they say they are going to do. This would be on my number one list for non-profit organizations. I now do whatever I can do to raise money so that other girls like me can also get a life-changing experience.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 14, 2010

I was a 15 year old girl on over 20 different antiphyschotic medications. I went from dr to dr with the diagnosis of bi-polar. Then it changed to PMDD. Then it was we have no idea whats wrong with her. I became a ward of the state and was told to go to a home. I chose Mercy Minsitries because I just got done touring it, and was amazed at how much the girls loved it. They were so happy. I wanted to be that happy. I grew up in a Christain home, but did not always get it. I came to Mercy broken, misunderstood, and alone. I came home from Mercy whole, understood, and with a whole new family. I grew up in the year that I was there and learned that when no one else is around. There is a God who is there at all times. Since being there I went over to Iraq and got injured. I learned that I had a brain tumor (after which the doctors say probably caused the problems I had as a teenager (who knew)) I have been through 3 brain surgeries and 3 months of serious radiation treatments. I still have the tumor there, but it has shrunk considerably. I will probably always have a brain tumor, yet at the same time. I was strong because of my faith. I had my strong faith because of Mercy. I was optimistic because of Mercy. I fought because I had Jesus Christ on my side. I live by Ephesisans 6:10 "Be Strong in the Lord and in the POWER of his Might." Mercy Ministries not only gave me the faith, but the family that still surrounds me today. After 10 years of leaving Mercy, I still keep in touch with many of the girls. Without Mercy Ministries (which helped me get off ALL medication and showed me that I COULD be normal and live a normal life even after dr's told me no) I would probably still be going from Dr to Dr and feeling lost and alone. Mercy Minsitries saved my life!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was a Mercy Girl. My life was forever changed forever.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2000

April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was only 17 and was already in adolocent mental institutions for suicide attempts, cutting, an eating disorder, and substance abuse. My home life was awful. I was physically abused by a member of my family constantly. I felt like I had no hope left in me, no drive to keep living. I just wanted to end it all. I would do anything at all to mask the pain, to cover it up. Whether It was cutting to try to relieve the pain I felt inside. Or using alcohol and drugs to mask it. I learned about Mercy from my church. I had applied and was at the Nashville home within a few months. I believe with all of my heart I would not be here today if it wasnt for Mercy and God. All of the other places I had been only medicated me or tryed to teach me new coping skills. Mercy went way beyond that. They showed me the Love and mercy of God. The staff were absolutely amazing. They were very educated and knew what they were doing. Every single day, they went beyond their job title, by showing us the love and grace of God. They were the most loving people I have ever been around. At Mercy, It wasnt an Institution, or a hospital. It was a Home. An inviting, modern, and comfortable home. My time at Mercy was the most amazing 6 months of my life. I was able to develop a true relationship with Christ and surrender all of me to him. I learned I am perfect exactly the way I am. I Graduated from Mercy Ministries in October of 2008, a completely new and free woman. My past no longer defines who I am, Christ does. If you are trying to find a charity to donate to, Mercy Ministries is the perfect one. They change girls lifes every single day. They not only help girls who are hurting and desperate, They transform and restore precious lives.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was in the Nashville home in 2008. The results far exceeds any of my expectations.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

How did you find this group?

I learned about Mercy Ministries when the founder, Nancy Alcorn, visited my church as a guest speaker.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Mercy encouraged us to surrender all of ourselves to God. They also encouraged us to be positive and have hope and faith.

May 13, 2010

more

May 13, 2010

It always amazes me the power of God's word. I never dreamed of how God could use the things which were not God. Mercy Ministries really is about the Love of God, Jesus, and Holy Spirit. I never dreamed that my mentors would tell my story to help others but that is the God we serve. So thankful they use God's word to address every feeling, emotion, issue with God's word. So thankful they never give up regardless of the situation they still quote God's word. Its the only thing that sets a person free. Always amazed at how the God I serve takes something that was meant for evil but God used it for His glory. Mercy represents Godhead. So thankful just to sit at their feet. It really is God that makes the difference. The world has nothing on them. So thankful for the teaching has to line up with Gods word. I never get tired of hearing or reading the stories for it really is the power of Gods word. Many come to Jesus. Upon graduation so many answer a call of God from becoming a Missionary, Seminary, Counseling but by addressing everything with using God's Word. I'm still amazed because God really doesn't waste anything. The other volunteers/interns and those on Staff are my just some of my heros. My other heros are the girls the ones in the program and those on the waiting list. For their voise cries out "You say I didn't have to live like this you said there is more to life and they learn that there really is a life. My favorite story is when the girls say that is in the Old Testament I want something from the New Testament or vice versa. One of my mentors who is on Staff @ Mercy told me while touring the home if its not in the Bible than we don't have an answer.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

so many areas.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers