Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.222225
Write A Review
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

It was nine years ago, October 25th 2005, that I entered the doors of Mercy Ministries. I was scared, nervous, and desperate for help. For years I had struggled with an eating disorder and depression, but I found myself near death one year into my marriage. I was afraid that my husband would wake up one morning only to find that I had quit breathing. I knew I needed help, but in all the years that I struggled hospitalization, medication, and therapy proved ineffective. When I was presented with the idea of Mercy I thought it sounded too good to be true, but I felt God nudging me to pursue the application. I did and before I knew it I was leaving my husband and beginning my journey to recovery. What I didn't realize, however, is that I would also be starting a new relationship, with God that is. While I was at Mercy I not only received healing from an eating disorder, but I also discovered what it meant to have an intimate relationship with our amazing God. The staff at Mercy prayed over me, guided me, supported me, and listened to me. I was not merely a "patient," rather I was a sister in Christ. I can't say enough about how wonderful Mercy Ministries is. I will forever be grateful for all the that God has done, blessed me with and for guiding me to Mercy. On an end note, when doctors told me I would not have children as a result of so many years of bodily harm, I rested on what I learned while I was Mercy. That is, with God ALL things are possible!!! I am so excited to share that as of today my husband and I have been blessed with two beautiful, healthy children. Joshua is three and Faith will one this month. God is good, all the time!!! Thank you God, Mercy and Nancy Alcorn!!!
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Before I came to Mercy Ministries I was broken and hurting. I was sexually abused as a child by all of the men in my life that were supposed to protect me. As a young teenager I started looking for love in guys and in attention. But I knew that I needed a change I just had no idea where to get it from. I came across Mercy through my social worker and I applied the next day. When I came to Mercy I was ready for a change and I was thankful for the program that was specialized just for young girls that were all looking for the same change. I made some of the greatest friends and became a stronger woman in Christ. I am thankful for the time that I had to spend there.
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Roughly 6 Years Ago, I Graduated From Mercy Ministries! I Was Extremely Deceitful, I Had Built Up Anger Issues, I Was Very Insecure, Depressed, I Kept Myself Isolated From Everyone & Engaged Myself In Unhealthy Relationships. I Turned To Drugs For Comfort And Was Just Living Life Like A Zombie, Without A Care In The World, I Was Okay With Just Being "Average".. To Some People, You May Think, Oh That's All? That's Life BUT When It Ruins You And Your Family All In One, It's A Big Deal, It's Time For An Intervention. My Parents Were So Feed Up That It Was Time For A Change. Not Because They Didn't Love Me But Because They Saw Something In Justice That She Didn't See In Herself!! 6 Years Later, She's Working 2 Jobs, Paying Her Owns Bills, Has Her Own Car, Single, No Kids, Very Secure In The Person She Is & The Person She's Becoming. I'm Only Human, Not A Perfect Person, So Yes I Still Fight Many Battles & I Do Still Have Weaknesses But At The End Of The Day My Only Mission Is To Become More Like God. Jeremiah 29:11, I Know God Has A Plan And A Purpose For Me And I'll Do What It Takes To Get There! #MercyMinistries #TransformedLives #Love #Hope #LivesRestored
October 24, 2014

more

October 24, 2014

Mercy completely set me free from an eating disorder, trauma, depression, and more. I went into mercy a scared little girl but came out a completely new person. Seeking freedom can be tough but the staff and other girls are so encouraging! If you welcoming for a place to seek healing and freedom, Mercy is an amazing place! I met my best friends there and I am now living a new person who is whole and happy and healed! I love Mercy and am beyond grateful to be a graduate of the program.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

My name is Hannah, and I am the Founder/Editor in Chief of UnleashedBeauty—a Christian based fashion magazine. I am also a Mercy Ministries graduate.

Going into the Mercy home, I struggled with an eating disorder, self-harm, depression, anxiety, and had been sexually and physically abused
on multiple occasions. But I walked out of Mercy’s doors a completely different person: whole, free and like I was myself again.

Since graduating from Mercy, I married an amazing man who not only supports me and my career but also Mercy Ministries. He is currently designing a Mercy app that will enable former residents to submit prayer requests to and receive encouragement from Mercy donors.

At the end of the day, I am so thankful for Nancy Alcorn listening to God’s calling on her life, because God changed my life through Mercy. I want to give back as much as I can, because of them my life became a ripple effect helping others who had similar struggles as I faced. Thank you Mercy Ministries!


-Hannah
August 6, 2013

more

August 6, 2013

When I went to Mercy I was a suicidal, clinically depressed, borderline personality, self-harming, emotional drinker. And now I'm not! The staff at Mercy spent countless hours pouring into me and speaking life over me. While I was at Mercy I learned who I am in Christ. That my name is His word for "delight." He showed me where He was during all of the painful times in my life, and during all of my time of running He was crying, "Come to me! " He showed me that those things weren't His will for me. God didn't make a mistake when He made me. He's not angry. He has such a happy heart. He ravished my heart with His love for me. Because of Mercy I am walking in complete freedom. My worst day now is a thousand times better than my best day before Mercy. Thank you!!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give the staff a raise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2013

more

July 30, 2013

Mercy Ministries helped me start to become the woman God created me to be. I wasn't always nice actually I was the most bitter and angriest person who had walked in the doors. Everytime I messed up and did something bad, they loved me back to God every time.
It was the love they gave and showed
me that has changed my life forever

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mercy Ministries refused to assist me because I had a disability! My disability is not something that would require extravagant accommodations, I merely need medication twice daily. But this is apparently not possible for them.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2013

I support the work of Mercy Ministries financially because I was a messed up young person and wish I had this kind of place to go to back then to get help. The graduates I've met have such amazing stories of how their lives were turned around. Changed lives are hard to argue with. Also, from my observation, Mercy Ministries is a responsible steward of the support they raise, and they run their organization with excellence.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 3, 2013

I have meet several of the young ladies in the home and after finishing the program. My daughter has several friends that have graduated the program. They find hope , love and a relationship with Jesus. I wish I could do more for this young ladies. I have recommended and will continue to recommend Mercy to hurting young ladies. Karen Talbert

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers