Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
228 Reviews
1234.973685
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

As a Director of another Non-Profit organization I have enlisted the assistance of Air Compassion for Veterans, which is a program of Mercy Medical Airlift, to transport wounded service members to several different functions. They have always exceeded expectations and worked diligently to ensure our warriors recieve the transportation requested. I am extremely impressed with their organization!

Bud DePlatchett
Director/East Coast Coordinator
Freedom Hunters

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Our nonprofit benefits from the services of MMA. Our families that qualify are able to attend an important medical conference even if they can't afford the flight. It is important to our mission to have as many families attend as possible. MMA makes this happen for our group. We are grateful!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

On a hot August weekend of 2005, I was thrust in the middle of logistics for Hurricane Katrina. Working with two faith-based groups, North American Mission Board for the Southern Baptists and Convoy of Hope, we were desperate to get our leadership on the ground. But with airport closures, it was next to impossible. Enter Ed Boyer and Mercy medical Airlift. They know the value of tight management and leadership as they are a well-run organization which values integrity and ethics.

WIth a servant's heart, they jumped into action and provided access to private planes - the only mode of transportation workable at that time.

I am so grateful to Ed and his team. And thanks to their heart and mission, they were integral to recovery efforts in Katrina and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money so they could help more people.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I worked with a Veteran who was injuried outside the line of duty and his income was less than $200.00 per month and he had very limited family support. A colleague told me about Mercy Medical Airlift; they came through without any hesitation. They walked me through the application process and the Veteran was able to get the assistant that he so deservely needed.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
November 22, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I recently had the privilege of attending the Halos and Heroes Fundraiser in Virginia Beach. It was an amazing experience...and I have openly shared that I left a better person than when I came.
This organization demonstrates true compassion, exacting stewardship and dedication to their
mission of service to those in need.
They serve all without exclusion to circumstance, they are governed by a Board made up of individuals with extraordinary character and they achieve remarkable results.
Successful partnerships with other groups and businesses is a testament to their integrity. (American Airlines air miles partnership, donations from Outback Steak House and VA Beach Seaside Inn for event). Their efficient use of resources assures me that my gift will be used wisely.
Seeing first hand the sacrifices our soldiers live with and the struggles of the families served was moving and a stark reminder of the need for such altruism. The work accomplished by the volunteers of Mercy Medical Airlift is a true inspiration. Nancy V. Dye MD

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have not been a personal recipient of the services offered.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Allow it to expand even further!

July 14, 2011

This is a thoughtful note I received from a mother who took a trip with her son that saved his life. Mercy Medical Airlift provided commercial airline tickets for them to fly to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Clinical Center to participate in a research study on a rare inflammatory disorder. The NIH is the nation’s medical research agency – making important discoveries that improve health and save lives – located in Bethesda, Maryland.

"When you have a healthy child, the future is unpredictable and there are stressors associated with it, but when you have a child with an illness, the future is even more unpredictable and scary. You have no idea what the future holds for your child.

At times, it is very difficult to try and cope mentally, financially and physically, but it is thanks to organizations like YOURS that offers the opportunity to alleviate one of the many stressors parents face in these situations. By having this trip provided to us, we are able to focus our attentions to other matters concerning our son. We are able to get our son to the most top-notch medical facility to try and understand his illness, an auto inflammatory disease, Deficiency of the Interleukin-1 Receptor Antagonist (DIRA).

Our son was the first diagnosed in the world with this condition, which is scary considering we have no precedent to go by as we are creating the precedent for future patients. We know that there were people that had this condition before our son was diagnosed, but unfortunately they were deemed a medical mystery or they were misdiagnosed, and they would end up passing away before they were provided with the care/treatment that they most so deserved. It is thanks to the Janeway Children’s Hospital (Newfoundland, Canada) and the National Institutes of Health that our son is here with us today.

Again, thank you so much."

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

...giving families the opportunity to participate in clinical studies that advance medical research. Most of these patients have rare diseases of which little is known. These families often incur high medical expenses and cannot afford the cost of traveling long distances. Without MMA, patients would not be able to receive specialized treatment and researchers would not be able to increase their knowlege.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...increase funding to provide more resources to help patients travel. Demand exceeds supply of help from MMA and other transportation charities. Donated marketing and PR support would also let them get the word out to more people.

June 15, 2011

Mercy Medical Airlift followed through with assistance when no other organization was able to help. I appreciated their professionalism and willness to go the extra mile, even with little notice. Our patient will now receive the necessary medical follow-up vital to her recovery.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Their ability to provide important medical travel to our patient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes suggested.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers