Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

Mercy Education Project is an incredible organization. They take great care to create an environment filled with love, learning, good food, clear expectations, and plenty of support. I've volunteered for many different organizations before and I've never been prouder or happier to volunteer for MEP.

The staff are warm, smart, and competent. You can see their commitment to the girls, the women, and the volunteers in everything they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

Respect. Challenge. Support. Team work. Four action words that keep me volunteering at Mercy Education Project. These words interplay among the staff and the women students we teach and tutor.
For some of our students, they are experiencing these concepts for the first time. As they follow
their studies at MEP, the women not only learn to respect themselves but others. They not only challenge themselves but challenge and support each other. Teachers, volunteers, and students work together. Diversity naturally happens at MEP. Appreciating everyone's unique gifts is a learning experience.
My favorite moments at MEP have been the mornings our students receive the news that classmates have succeeded on a GED test. There is cheering, tears, and congratulations from all. That is teamwork and the MEP family enjoying success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

like to see Mercy Education Project have a larger presence in Metro Detroit. My wish would be for Mercy to grow an Endowment Fund. The organization needs a larger facility and that won't happen without many friends and supporters in the region.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I volunteered the last two years at MEP. I have seen the amazing difference this organization makes on the student's life (both academically and personally).

MEP provides a clean, safe and comfortable environment for students to learn.

The curriculum is tailored to each
individual based on entrance tests. The student is challenged just enough to continue to learn at a slow and steady pace. This method builds a students self-esteem. There are computers for the students to use as well as many books and learning games.

The students eat together which gives them a sense of family with their fellow students. They get some play time to blow off steam before their tutor session. They are bused to and from their tutor session. MEP does everything possible to position the student for success.

The staff is great and genuinely care about each student. It's easy to tell they put their heart and soul into what they do each and every day.

Students that need tutoring are lucky to be enrolled at MEP.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MEP is running very effectively - I would not change a thing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

I LOVE MEP. It's my favorite thing to do every week. I volunteer two days a week and work with the teen program. It's so rewarding and I ADORE the girls. They are smart, sweet and fun to be with. Melanie coordinates the program and does a fabulous job! China helps with the girls/teens and is so important to the program. Everyone is very helpful and friendly and there is a gated parking lot so free parking with no worries!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MEP is very well managed and organized. I there isn't anything I'd change and I hope that they are able to expand in the future because they do such amazing work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 22, 2012

more

February 22, 2012

I've been volunteering as a tutor/teacher with MEP on and off since 2007. It is an outstanding charity that makes a very real difference for the women and girls they help. What is so important and impressive about this organization is the energy they spend on each individual student; they make sure that her needs are being met as she goes through the program and does not get left behind. I volunteer with the Women's Program whenever I can because I feel like I help them make a difference in people's lives each and every day. The women in the program are amazing. They work so hard for the goals they have set for themselves; they are truly inspiring. And the sense of community and camaraderie throughout Mercy Ed is contagious!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 1, 2010

more

June 1, 2010

Mercy Education Project provides a supportive environment for the women and girls who participate in its programs. When you walk through the door at MEP you sense the inviting and calm atmosphere that allows its students to blossom in ways they may not have experienced before. The staff members constantly look for ways to improve their programs and services to better meet the needs of the women and girls of Southwest Detroit.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the girls who become more confident in school and the women who obtain their GED and go on to college because of the support of MEP.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 1, 2010

more

June 1, 2010

I worked with MEP for three years as a tutor. I have always found the organization to be well organized, effective and a strong presence in the community.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

many ways. I feel this organization has strengthened my own understanding of young people and the many ways to help girls be successful.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 1, 2010

more

June 1, 2010

The Mercy Education Project is both an academic and emotional support hub. The most effective nonprofit I’ve been associated with. It matches the right curriculum with the right student and the right tutor so the girls really improve each year—and the girls grow to love reading or math instead of hating it. The students speak of MEP in such loving words, they must be gaining the student's trust as well as their admiration.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the words of the graduates and the girls who have moved up in reading and math levels. I have heard parent participants say they can now help their children stay in school by helping them with their homework. Many have said they long to go to college.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 1, 2010

more

June 1, 2010

Mercy Education Project is a great organization making a difference in Southwest Detroit. I teach a math class for women studying to get their GEDs, and it's incredible to see the strides they're capable of making when they get the attention and small-group help that MEP offers. I also work with the girls in after-school tutoring, sweet and intelligent young ladies who all advance at least one grade level each year while at MEP.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In one school year, watching women for from struggling with place value to doing ratios and proportion word problems.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 1, 2010

more

June 1, 2010

Mercy Education Project is a wonderful organization that creates personalized programs to meet the educational needs of low-income girls and women. Their staff are terrific and very committed to those they serve and to the southwest Detroit community. They are very well-managed and operate on a lean budget where every dollar matters. It's a privilege to support this group!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing women graduate with their GED who had no hope of doing so otherwise.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead an activity time for girls; Help women learn improve a skill (e.g., interviewing, resume-writing)