Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.925
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more

October 10, 2014

Volunteering here has been a grateful experience. I felt that I was in a team and we all had a goal to "win." To "win" meant to serve the children and allow them to enjoy their time. The team here is supportive and dependable. It has been a honor to work with the team here.
September 28, 2014

more

September 28, 2014

I worked with Mercy Center during the summer of 2014 and it was one of the most rewarding experiences I have had in the non-profit world to date. Due to the true community feel of the organization, I was able to connect with participants I worked with, making the whole process feel more valuable and personal. I was also able to connect with and learn from the other people who worked in all sectors of the organization, from which I learned an incredible amount about non-profits and about the community we served. The high-energy and heart-filled environment at Mercy Center made every experience there a positive one from which I learned, and the organization's genuine commitment to and value placed upon community members as people taught me as much about leadership and connecting to people as the actual work did about issues facing documented and undocumented non-citizen residents of the Bronx.
September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

Mercy Center is a wonderful non-profit located in The Bronx, NY that has been providing social services to families in the Mott Haven neighborhood for the past 24 years.
I have been associated with Mercy Center for over 20 years as a volunteer teacher, donor, committee member, Board member and
Trustee.
I have come to know the both the dedicated volunteers and staff serving the community and the families who come to Mercy Center for help.
From the moment you see the attractive building and its garden to the warm welcome you receive when you enter Mercy Center to the caring staff and volunteers who listen and help, Mercy Center is an exemplary service organization that not only helps family members with their requested needs but also seeks to help all family members achieve their full potential.
Mercy Center is one of those special places that not only helps the community but also helps its staff and volunteers achieve their full potential!



September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I worked at the Mercy Center this past summer and it was super rewarding and inspiring. I learned a lot -- the business side of the immigration process, the human side of social work, and how much of a positive difference I can personally make. Everyone has so much heart and they are making a really important impact in the community.
September 18, 2014

more

September 18, 2014

I have been volunteering for over a month at Mercy Center, an organization consistently hospitable and comfortable in nature. Originally attracted to the variety of programs and classes offered by Mercy Center, I have since witnessed that the organization offers even more. It is refreshing to see a center focus its energies on the needs of the population it serves, even if that means a redirect for its staff and resources in order to more effectively serve greater numbers. Of course, with the limits that most non-profits face in funds, staff, and space, Mercy Center can never give as much as it would like. However, I have already witnessed several efforts to offer referrals when the site cannot provide the assistance that is being sought. Its holistic approach and welcoming atmosphere definitely grant Mercy Center five stars!
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I've been volunteering at the Mercy Center for over six months and it's been a very rewarding experience. Primarily working at its immigrant services center, it's been great to see how much is being done and how it's all growing to cater to the needs of the community. The help that is being provided to kids and adults with their citizenship cases, ESL, etc., is vital to them, and they feel grateful to have a center like this help them prepare for their next step in life. One can't help but feel grateful, too, as every day is a new experience. I've come to know staff from all different departments at Mercy, and everyone is so invested...and approachable...they have a real passion for what they do.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Mercy Center is a place that all should know about. It's a place that empowers all people who attend and gives them a sense of self. It's palpable how Mercy Center participants feel and look more empowered as the gain skills through the different programs that they partake.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

I recently joined Mercy Center as a full-time volunteer; I have been amazed at the high commitment level of the staff, and how much effort is put into making Mercy Center a welcoming place to work and receive services. Although the services Mercy Center provides are free, a strong dedication exists to provide quality and comprehensive services. The legacy of Catherine McAuley and the values of the Sisters of Mercy are definitely visible in this organization.
September 16, 2014

more

September 16, 2014

Great programs...offers the non English speaking community a fighting chance.
September 15, 2014

more

September 15, 2014

I volunteered with the Mercy Center's Office for New Americans (citizenship) program for several months in 2013 and 2014 and also assisted with some of the organization's other programs and events. It is a great organization! It is well managed, well organized, has wonderful, friendly and dedicated staff, and does an amazing job serving its clients. I learned a tremendous amount during my time volunteering and would highly recommend the Mercy Center.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Review resumes and cover letters, coach a woman for an interview, tutor a child in reading, teach Excel on Saturdays Volunteer