Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.837845
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

This is an amazing rescue for cats and kittens (mostly). The volunteers are passionate, and all the kitties get first rate care. MEOW is very good about making the most of its resources and utilizing materials wisely. For a small rescue, hearts are big and compassion huge!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I have volunteered with Meow for a number of years, as an adoption counselor and foster mom. In addition, I have adopted 3 cats from Meow. I recently when in search of a new cat and ventured outside the walls of Meow to do so. I ended up back at Meow with my belief that Meow is extraordinary confirmed. We strive to find, not just a home for our cats, but the best home with people who will love them and provide for them for the rest of their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fostering kittens from MEOW for over 9 years now. I have volunteered at the shelter, and seen how much the staff cares about these animals. MEOW cat rescue is filled with amazing people and cats. They care for their cats health and lives more than most other shelters do. MEOW is not just about finding cats any home, they are about finding cats good, safe, healthy, happy forever homes. I work at a holistic pet store in Issaquah, and send alot of our clients MEOWs way, because I believe MEOW is the BEST shelter on the Eastside.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

It is hard to know what category to put myself in, because we have been donors, volunteers, and customers of this fine organization. If you love cats, it is had to imagine a finer organization to honor with your business than this one. We have provided foster care for 10-20 litters of kitens over the last dozen years, and we have adopted two cats from them. (One from one of the litters we fostered, and one adult that we met when returning other fosters.) The cats are great. The people are great. The shleter is clean and home-like. The cats are well cared for and get exemplary care.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family has been fostering kittens for several 10 years now! It is a wonderful and rewarding experience. An experience made even more enjoyable because of the support we receive from MEOW. The staff makes it so easy to care for the kittens and moms. When we bring them in for shots or checkups, we are greeted warmly and with obvious appreciation. When the time comes to return the "teenagers" to MEOW for their operations and placement, we know that they are going to a loving caring place. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MEOW is an incredible nonprofit, for volunteers and adopters alike. As a kennel attendant volunteer in the shelter, I was given a huge amount of trust and responsibility, and I learned so much about animal medicine, psychology, and overall health, it's made me reconsider my career path. I always had work to do, but I also always had someone else from the staff asking if there was any way they could help; I never felt rushed, I always knew someone I could ask questions, and I was doing everything from feeding the shelter to helping give shots. As a foster parent, I housed 20 cats and kittens over a period of 2 years, and the shelter's Cat Personality form made me certain that our babies were going to go to people who they would be compatible with, and who would love them the way we did.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am a new volunteer to MEOW, serving as a foster family for kittens who are too young to adopt out. I love this program! Raising abandoned kittens in a home environment helps them become healthier, happier, more adoptable pets. While caring for a whole litter is a lot of work, it is also wonderful fun and it feels great knowing that I'm making a difference for these cats and their future families. MEOW has great systems in place to make sure I have what I need and know what i need to do. I also trust that they will take good care of the cats and will find them loving homes, so I can feel good about giving the little ones back when they are ready.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered all of my life, for many different types of organizations, and MEOW has been the most rewarding experience. This is a very well run shelter, where the needs of the cats always come first. The leadership is very fiscally responsible, while ensuring that the cats in their care get everything they need. There are only a handful of paid staff, two full-time and four to five part-time. MEOW has a very dedicated group of volunteers who serve in many different capacities to help keep the shelter running well. MEOW is a bright happy place to spend time. The shelter is kept very clean and the cats are well cared for. There are many different opportunities for volunteers and MEOW does a really good job of utilizing the talents of their volunteers. If you are looking for a place to volunteer and you enjoy cats, you really should visit the shelter - you will pleasantly surprised. And if you are looking for a place to donate money or materials, there are few organizations that will put your donations to better use than MEOW.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them more space - office space, adoption space, ISO space - just more space to do what they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Better organizational communication.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Big time. Changed the way my life works. Taught me many new skills and a wealth of good friends. Plus an appreciational for the work that I do (something I don't really get in my "real" job).

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

GREAT!!! Needed. Part of a team.

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MEOW Cat Rescue is a little gem of a shelter located in the Houghton area of Kirkland across the parking lot from PCC Natural Market. Once you step inside, you know you've discovered a very special place. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and the cats are obviously very happy and well cared for. It is clean and very well organized. Some of the wonderful features are:

• Two wonderful free-roaming rooms are brightened by big windows and large window sills for the cats to lounge on (and the sills are always occupied!). Cat trees, climbers and scratchers abound as well as cozy beds. The rooms are cheerful, clean and happy - kind of like Disneyland for cats!
• Two 'Meet & Greet' rooms are used to introduce prospective adopters and cats/kittens. These rooms are cozy and give everyone room to stretch out and get to know each other. MEOW recognizes that some one-on-one time is essential in making that very important adoption decision.
• Each cat over the age of 9 months has a 'personality profile' which is a scientific evaluation process developed by the ASPCA. The 'Meet Your Match' program assesses how cats act in a shelter environment, which can predict how they might act initially in a home, how quickly they may adjust as well as some basic personality traits to expect. This assessment is based on a cat's behavior and level of interest in play, exploration, 'talking', and being the center of attention. Based on this evaluation, each cat is given one of nine distinct feline personality assignments ("feline-ality") and can then be paired with adopters whose personality and lifestyle fit the cat best. Some of the feline-alities are Love Bug, Leader of the Band, Secret Admirer and Party Animal. Research shows that good matches help make strong bonds and bonding is the key to successful adoptions.
• The volunteers and staff are very knowledgeale, helpful and friendly. They are well-trained and it is obvious that they love what they do. There is a genuine concern for the cats/kittens and placing them in the best home(s) possible.
• All cats/kittens are spayed/neutered, microchipped, receive a series of vaccines and dewormings and are tested for feline aids (FIV) and feline leukemia (FeLV). They are treated for parasites, both internal and external if necessary. They trim their nails and check their ears. These felines really get the spa treatment! They also leave the shelter with a free 'Well Kitty Exam' voucher which can be redeemed at most King County vet offices.
• Foster homes! MEOW has about 75 active foster homes. Because of the volume of cats/kittens that they help, MEOW can't house them all. Most kittens and some cats spend time in a loving and safe foster home until they are ready to make their journey to the shelter. The foster homes love what they do and are the reason that MEOW is able to help so many animals in need. They provide nutritious food, a safe environment and lots of love. This produces healthy, happy and social kittens!
• Although the name, MEOW Cat Rescue implies cats and kittens, MEOW also has a dog division! MEOW's K9 Division serves as breed rescue to Chinese Shar Pei for all of Washington, Oregon and Idaho. They also rescue Great Danes, hairless breeds and all other dogs as space permits. Because of the size of the shelter, all dogs are in foster homes.
The next time you have a little time on your hands or if you're interested in adopting, MEOW is a good place to start. Adoption fees are very reasonable and help to defray the cost of care for the animals. Adopting a pet is actually much less expensive than getting a 'free' pet when you consider the cost of services already provided to the animal.

There are hundreds of reasons to adopt a shelter pet - and each and every one of them has a name. MEOW's motto: All nine lives are precious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

At this shelter, each cat taken in receives a commitment for the rest of its life. Before adoption, health needs are identified and taken care of. This includes the usual: spay/neuter, vaccinations, treatment for parasites, testing for FIV/Felv, and micro-chipping. It also includes the unusual like dentals, surgeries, ultrasounds, etc., depending on the needs identified for each individual cat. After adoption, the adoption contract requires that any cat that can no longer be cared for is to be returned to MEOW to go through the process again and a new home is found. The shelter itself is extremely clean and cheerful; nothing like the old days of smelly, depressing animal areas here! Some adopters may not be right for this organization because there are rules for the safety of the cats.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers