Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.833335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a longtime client of, and donor to, MEOW Cat Rescue. I adopted my first cat from them about ten years ago, and have adopted five MEOW cats over the years, three of whom are still with me today.

I think that my latest adoption experience is a good illustration of what kind of people
work at MEOW. I met and really liked a young male cat last summer, and decided that he would be a good fit for my household. But this cat had a limp, so the folks at MEOW asked me to wait until they could get him to the vet and get his condition assessed before I took him home. A couple of days later I learned that he had two broken bones in his paw. MEOW's vet put his leg in a splint. They were perfectly willing to keep him at the shelter until he was fully healed, but at that point I considered him to be my cat and my responsibility, so I took him home.

As it turned out, I needed help with him -- and even though I had formally adopted him and he was, strictly speaking, no longer their concern, MEOW was right there to give me the support I needed, which in my case was A) the loan of a playpen enclosure for a month so that I could keep him confined while his foot healed, and B) when I went out of town for a week shortly after I adopted him, they gladly took him back at the shelter and 'cat-sat' him for me. I was able to enjoy my time away with no worries about whether he was safe and being properly cared for while I was gone, because he was in the best possible hands at MEOW. The love they have for the cats who fall under their care is evident in everything they do. I consider the people who run MEOW to be some of the best people I've ever known.

I have spent my entire career working in nonprofits. Perhaps it's because of my long experience with the nonprofit sector -- I have seen both the good and the bad, and I've seen more bad than I have cared to -- I am *extremely* picky about which nonprofits I donate to. MEOW is my number one charity of choice, in no small part because I absolutely believe that my donations to MEOW are put to the best possible use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would double the size of their shelter space (again)! They work wonders with not a lot of space, and I wish they had more room to work in.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

The first time I walked into MEOW I knew it was a special place! I had visited a few other shelters prior to finding MEOW and when I walked into MEOW, the first thing I noticed was there was no smell. How can they have so many cats and it smell so good? Well, it turns out the care and attention they give to the facility is a reflection of the care and attention they give to the cats. The entire experience was wonderful! I like that they took the time to understand our “household lifestyle” so they could better match us to the right cat. They pointed me in the direction of the cats that were a good match and instead of adopting one cat I adopted two! Rudy and Cleo were buddies and MEOW was adamant on keeping them together. So we have two great cats and we couldn’t be happier! I would recommend MEOW to anyone looking to adopt.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Last weekend my husband, 5 kids and I decided it was time to adopt some kittens. We visited MEOW Cat Rescue after my husband found information regarding the organization online. Wow! The center was incredibly clean and the cats and kittens all so healthy. We were met by very helpful volunteers who explained in detail how the process works there and then later, which kittens we were able to adopt. At first I felt limited as we were told we would not be eligible to adopt young kittens. Soon though I realized that MEOW has the best interests of the cats and families in mind. They matched us with two crazy kittens who settled into our busy home immediately. They are wonderful with our children and truly the best kittens we could ask for!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I adopted a special needs kitty from MEOW and she is the best little girl! We were told she was in a foster home with other cats and a dog and loved them.She adjusted to our home quickly and is the love of our lives. She loves our other cat and our dog and they adore her. Thanks MEOW for our sweet special girl.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2013

more

June 27, 2013

i spoke to someone on the phone regarding my problem cats and they saifd the only place that could help me was seattle animal shelter. the woman was rude and not helpful what-so-ever. i was so dissappointed as i am looking for a no kill shelter. to be brushed off and told i don't care and don't know how to handle animals is terrible. i have spent the last two years trying to reform two "problem" cats that have no health problems but have destroyed my house my clothes my furniture my carpets, everything. and i have have spent so much money oon relaxation products and to be told that i don't care is terrible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire staff that are more capable of working with the public. or at the very least spend time trainging staff on how to be polite courteous and understand that our pets are "people" that we love and making difficult decisions regarding them requires compassion and understanding. none of which was offered to me.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

One of the best things about MEOW is that they take back the kitty you adopted if you can no longer keep it and cannot find it a loving home. They truly care and want only the best for the cats (and dogs) they help. I adopted the first of my cats from MEOW about 10 years ago. They were being fostered by one of the organization's founders and she was incredibly patient as I sat in her house for over an hour trying to decide which kittens to take. Then she agreed to keep them for another 2 weeks as I had an out of town trip planned.

I have been involved as a donor ever since. I visit the shelter when I can and it is always a happy place for the cats. The volunteers work incredibly hard to raise funds and take great care of the animals. I hope to join them once I am able to retire!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure they got more funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

We adopted Cheddar (AKA Wall-E) from Meow back in 2009. He was a young stray of just over 6 mo. We brought him home and he spent weeks under a bed with an occasional sighting when he decided to risk the world beyond for a little playtime. Meow cautioned us that he was an escape artist and a bit on the shy side. But once he was comfortable with us he became that sweetest cat we could know. The care Meow takes for each of the kitties/cats in their care is wonderful. They take the time to get to know each one so that they can match each with the perfect forever home. Cheddar has brought so much joy to our lives with purrs, chattering, and kisses (head-butts). We are so thankful to Meow and continue to support the organization whenever we can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

Two years ago, we adopted two rescue dogs through Meow. We love our guys, Milo and Mack and they are healthy and happy. The entire experience was positive and we have nothing but good things to say about Kelly and her organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

I adopted my cat, Leo, from MEOW in January. The adoption counselors and other volunteers at MEOW were all wonderful! The shelter is clean and smells good. The cats are all comfortable, and as a no-kill shelter, the cats have all the time they need to find their ideal home! They followed up with me to see how things were going with the new cat. They offered plenty of helpful advice regarding integrating Leo into my existing multi-cat home. All around, they provide a very positive atmosphere for both the cats and the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I adopted 2 6 month old kittens from Meow in December. Everything has been top notch. From their helping me find 2 cats, to their wonderful follow up. They are an amazing group of people, helping so many many cats./

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldnt make any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers