Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have just begun to serve as a member of the Board of Directors of Merced Housing Texas. I'm amazed at the positive impact, for affordable housing, Merced has had on families and individuals in San Antonio and other areas of Texas during the past twenty years. I am so impressed with the commitment, both Directors and staff have, to affordable housing. What a blessing Merced is for people in Texas who are struggling to be able to afford decent housing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a current board member for Merced Housing Texas. I love knowing that the Congregation of Divine Providence is one of the religious orders involved in having established Merced and now continuing its work. My teaching at Providence Catholic School keeps me imbued in the Sisters' charism. Thus I have found ways to bring students to the work of Merced, one time helping to sort food at Artisan at Willow Springs apartments. It is my honor to serve on the board, to continue to learn of housing opportunities provided for the economically challenged, to live the Gospel of helping our brothers and sisters

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 31, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am constantly amazed at the difference Merced is making in the lives of families throughout Texas. Quality housing and living conditions are such a huge part of stable families, and the difference Merced makes every day is tremendous. I am honored to be a part of an an organization that is devoted to treating families with respect and dignity every day and to enriching the lives of all its community residents and seniors.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring more awareness of the good Merced is doing to the rest of the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Merced Housing Texas is making a tremendous contribution to the lives of low income families and seniors in Texas through its various housing related programs. Families formerly living in sub-standard housing with landlords who were less than attentive, can find safe, affordably housing with supportive services in one of Merced's multi-family properties. Seniors who were having to choose between buying needed medicines/food or paying their shelter costs have found affordable housing with a community atmosphere at Merced's Senior HUD subsidized properties where they pay no more than 30% of their adjusted gross income in rent.
My community, the Daughters of Charity, are one of the founders of Merced and I have been personally involved and a regular financial contributor for more than 10 years. I am so proud of how Merced has grown and has had such positive impact on the lives of those who call our properties their home.
Two of my favorite projects that Merced has undertaken since I have been assoicated with them is the Espada Sewer Project and the SOS (Server our Seniors/Owner Occupied Repai Program. Please go to ur website and read about them!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We do all the incredible work with a very small but extremely hard working staff - we need to continue our current focus of getting members of the local community to serve on our Board Committees with a view of possibly grooming some of them for future Board membership.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It has been an honor and a privilege to have been a Merced board member since 2009 and have seen first-hand the impact that Merced has had on the less-fortunate in our community. Merced offers a wide range of services that help enrich the lives of people in need such as the Serve Our Seniors repair program. With the help of donations, Merced helps folks whose homes lack the basic necessities of living like providing a roof that doesn't leak or installing sanitary sewer service. It is truly inspiring to see how Merced touches so many lives!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a Board Member for many years and have seen the impact Merced Housing has made on so many individuals and families. As a Religious Congregation, we became involved with Merced since inception, knowing that its focus is on providing housing for low income. Through the years, it has expanded services to include provide services for children to help them build social skills and improve their education. It is a wonderful program and we are privileged to share in its mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
June 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of the Merced Board for a number of years. I have loved being a part of the growth of this wonderful organization. The mission of Merced Housing is a beautiful extension of the mission of my religious Congregation. I am privileged and proud to serve on the Merced Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would make sure that there is good succession planning. I think some work has been done. I would also have a list of potential Board members who are being readied for service.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I'm a donor and a member of the Merced staff. During the time I've worked with Merced, I've learned so much about the difference having an affordable home can make in a family's life. I've also come to appreciate that the families who live in Merced's apartment homes work so hard, but they still struggle to make ends meet. They often need more help than than a quality, affordable roof over their head. So Merced goes beyond providing homes. The supportive services Merced provides help families with all sorts of needs and turn apartments into communities. I've also come to profoundly respect the seniors Merced helps through its Serve Our Seniors (SOS) Owner-Occupied Repair Program. These seniors subsist in unsafe, unhealthy conditions in their homes, because they can't afford the cost of home repairs. Yet they maintain their dignity and their positivity. I'm so proud that Merced has helped more than 500 senior and disabled homeowners stay in the homes they know and love through the SOS Program. I hope that the San Antonio community will continue to support Merced so that we can help many mor seniors in need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have served on the Merced board since 2005 and I have served as Board Chair since 2010. During this time, I have seen first-hand how Merced has helped proud homeowners with repair work that allows them to remain in their homes without sacrificing their safety, even though they don’t have the funds to make critical repairs. Except in unusual circumstances, Merced spends approximately $5,000 on each house they repair, focusing on the most critical health and safety-focused repairs.
Another thing that makes Merced an impressive organization is that with an annual operating budget of over $5 million, less than $200,000 is allocated to overhead - about 4%. When you give to Merced, I can assure you that your money goes where it is needed most.
I encourage you to learn more about Merced by taking a look at their website, or by just asking me more about it. Once you have, I hope you’ll be ready to make a donation. I realize there are plenty of worthy causes and organizations competing for your charitable gifts, but please consider putting Merced on your “list.” In addition, we are always looking for people who are interested in serving Merced with their time, as a volunteer, on a committee or even on as a member of the Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers