Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The fact that the national conference on Mental Heath was held in Tulsa rather than Washington DC this most recent year is a recognition on what informational work is being done by this organization. Their leadership, approach and overall impact is amazing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have worked with MHA Tulsa for the past 8 years and I am amazed at the impact they have on those dealing with Mental Illness in the Tulsa community. Their housing initiatives for the homeless, those dealing with Mental Illness and others in the Tulsa area is a top model for the entire country and is often talked about in many other venues. I have always found the staff and leadership at MHA Tulsa to be cooperative, professional and always ready to talk about partnerships that will benefit Tulsa and the populations they serve. A truly exceptional non-profit!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I am a beneficiary of the Mental Health Association in Tulsa in many ways. I have been housed and counselled and employed by the agency. Our relationship goes back 18 years. I have never encountered an environment that is so eager to help and at the same time so respectful of individual boundaries. The agency has housed me when I was homeless and respected me when I needed respect. The agency is constantly growing and improving, never becoming complacent.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have worked for many non-profit organizations, and MHAT is by far the best. I also worked as a public school teacher for 12 years. Working at MHAT has been the best work experience in my life. As a former drug abuser and mentally disturbed person, they let me use my life experience to help others and, I have not only grown as a result of working here but have also been given an opportunity to use the gifts I have developed as a result of my teaching experience. I am truly grateful for the chance to start over in a worthwhile profession that helps people, and I am not the only person who has been given this chance. Many who have a history of mental illness/substance abuse have been given employment which has literally saved their lives.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

Tulsa Mental Health Association reaches approximately 650 individuals and families affected my mental illness by providing housing, six-support and peer-support groups, adolescent programs, and education to the community about mental illness. In addition to providing these life changing programs, the staff of the mental health work tirelessly to not only offer programs, but more importantly, offer compassion and dignity to those who are affected by this illness. Thank You for your Consideration. Isaac Rocha; Board of Directors, The Bama Companies, Inc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The Mental Health Association in Tulsa is a nationally recognized, award winning organization making huge strides in providing over 650 units of safe, affordable, and decent housing for people living with mental illness with the goal of ending chronic homelessness in Tulsa. Last month the Association hosted the 2012 National Zarrow Mental Health Symposium and Mental Health America Annual Conference attracting speakers from 20 states and attendees from 35 states and 3 countries. The subject was "from housing to recovery". Executive Director, Michael Brose, his staff, board members and volunteers are unparalleled. As a volunteer for over 18 years, I've witnessed tremendous growth in housing, wrap around services, education, public policy, advocacy, outreach and employment assistance to name a few. The Mental Health Association is changing people's lives, including mine. I find it a privileged to be given the opportunity to work with such talented, dedicated people who are making a difference in this world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I am impressed every time I see the facilities this organization along with Building Tulsa Building Lives is able to provide the community. The goal is to end chronic homelessness in Tulsa and I think with the passions shown thus far it will be accomplished very soon.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

The Mental Health Association in Tulsa is a national leader when it comes to the development and operation of Permanent Supportive Housing. Their no-debt model of development allows tenants to live in housing units that are high-quality AND affordable. MHATulsa is a community leader, working collaboratively to improve the lives of people with mental illness in Tulsa and in Oklahoma. Excellent organization!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Not enough can be said about the warm, genuine, and hard-working nature of this non-profit, including its staff and volunteers. I joined the Mental Health Association in Tulsa as a volunteer board intern and was immediately impressed by the spirit of its people. From its goodhearted and down-to-earth Executive Director, Mike Brose, to the selfless staff that is its backbone, everyone goes above and beyond what is necessary to serve the Tulsa community. I am proud to be part of an organization that has made a significant contribution to ending homelessness in our city. In assisting the mentally ill, the Mental Health Association in Tulsa has provided not only the basic necessities of everyday life such as housing and support, but a sense of dignity and worth which is invaluable. They have become a family to me and I will be forever grateful for the opportunity to collaborate with this non-profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers