Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
March 10, 2013

more

March 10, 2013

Being a part of the Mental Health Association in Tulsa has been a blessing of unforeseen proportions. The City of Tulsa and the surrounding areas are so fortunate to have an organization such as the Association; full of caring, passionate, devoted, unyielding individuals. The staff’s passion for change is inspirational not only to the board members but to the community as a whole. Day in and day out, impressions and lives are changed by way of the Association. I would encourage anyone looking for a volunteer opportunity to make a beeline for the Association. There are multitudes of ways to devote your time and you’ll walk away with a heart more full.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

The Mental Health Association in Tulsa is an amazing organization! It begins with the staff who have a passion with helping those with a mental illness in Tulsa, and that same passion is found in all fo the volunteer leaders. They have a very innovative model for helping individuals which includes a housing program. This housing program is no easy feat, but they have managed to grow each year and continue to provide housing to those who were formerly homeless. There is also a youth outreach movement that works with area high schools to educate students on the effects of bullying. It is a wonderful organization that help so many in the Tulsa area. I can not say enough good things about the Mental Health Association in Tulsa!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

What started as a simple community volunteer opportunity has turned into an 18-year blessing. Every experience I have had with the Mental Health Association in Tulsa has been a positive one and far exceeded any preconceived notions I had about being a volunteer, let alone a board member. I am so proud to have been associated with such an outstanding organization. Not only are they great stewards of every dime of funding they receive, they all truly love what they are doing and have such a passion for their mission. It is impossible to be involved and not be better off for it. I can’t think of a more deserving organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

My first experience with the MHAT was as an external auditor for many years. From this relationship I observed the passion and dedication MHAT's employees exhibited in serving their clients and thier mission. I audited many nonprofits in the area, many of which are truly wonderful organizations. However, MHAT stood out to me as and Organization I wanted to get more involved with. When I left the firm that performed the audit, I made the decision to volunteer with MHAT. I served on the Board for 6 years and continue to serve on the Finance Committee. The Association has grown by leaps and bounds over the past 10 years due to the passion exhibited by the Staff, volunteers (including Board Members) and donors. Their "housing first" model has made the most significant impact on me. They embraced the concept that you can't expect someone to sober up, clean up, get a job THEN provide them with housing. You're much more successful when you provide a person with safe, affordable housing and wrap them with the services they need (whether from MHAT or other local nonprofits).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

Having the opportunity to work closely with MHAT, and being acquainted with a number of their staff, I am deeply impacted by the compassion, integrity, respect and honor offered to all people serving with them, and most importantly, being served by them. Also as one whose family has suffered the loss of a heart-and-mind-wounded Iraq war veteran, I know by experience the strengthening and healing I have received through the love, support, and embrace encircling me through many on staff at MHAT. This organization has most certainly changed the topography of Tulsa in terms of mental health education, of moving this city forward to better understand, embrace, care for, and respect those in our midst who courageously confront their mental health challenges daily, and in engaging community members to get involved through tangible action. They have pioneered in caring for, and elevating, the segment of our community who, years ago, otherwise would have received very little compassion or care. There is truly no other organization or staff I know of for whom I have greater respect and with whom I am more proud -- and humbled -- to be involved, than Mental Health Association in Tulsa.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I have visited several of mhat buildings including Denver House, Altamonte, Walker and Yale Apartments. I met several former homeless who were residents. All were employed, seemed happy and were participating in the mhat culture. Money invested in public housing is better spent than unnecessary, emergency room vists, incarceration of the mentally ill and turning our backs on a potentially valuable segment of our community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have served as a member of the Housing Committe for the Mental Health Associaiton of Tulsa ("MHAT")for approximately 6 years. A large portion of our homeless are also suffering from some form of mental illness. During this time MHAT has dramitically assisted this portion of our homeless population with obtaining stable and affordable housing, which in turn has allowed more effective treatment of their mental illlness. There have been many wonderful success stories. My business is developement & management in the "for profit" multi-family industry. I have been and remain active in our local, state and national apartment associations. The manner in which MHAT has improved and maintained the apartment properties it has acquired, has not only helped to meet its mission of providing affordable housing for the chronically homeless mentally ill, but has also helped to improve neighborhoods and increased property values. As a real estate professional, I am very proud of the job that MHAT has done in this regard. Greg Guerrero, ASC Development & Management Company.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

I am so happy that The Mental Health Association Tulsa is being recognized for their accomplishment in our city. When I became interested in MHAT, one of the staff recommended that I take a tour with them. It was very beneficial for me to see with my own eyes what they can do for so many people in our own city who are in need of specialized care. They are bringing redemption to those who are viewed as the least of these in our society. I have only great praise and admiration for all of the staff, counselors, and volunteers here.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

Mental Health Association of Tulsa is an inspiring organization. I have met with staff and volunteers and have toured their housing facilities. I was very impressed with the enthusiasm, compassion and commitment of all involved. I participated in the September conference and it was wonderful. It left me filled with hope!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

The Mental Health Association in Tulsa is one of the best non-profits in our city. I have been involved with almost every non-profit in the Tulsa area. They are one of the best stewards of my Family Foundations money. They have been the main driver of safe, decent and affordable housing in our city. In fact Tulsa was just name the second best city in housing of homeless. The organization is very well run and employs about 45% of it's staff that has a mental illness and some have been homeless. It is an honor to support this fine organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers