Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 14, 2014

more

April 14, 2014

I've been a physician volunteer on approximately 15 international missions with Mending Kids, and MKI's antecedent, Healing the Children, over the last twenty or so years. In that time, the organization has changed from a mom (mostly just mom) and pop operation that survived only by the Grace of God, into a professionally administered non-profit (that still survives by the Grace of God, figuratively if not literally). Bigger, more efficient, better funded: but still trying to fix the world one kid at a time.
In all of those years, I've never had reason to question the motives, agenda, or intentions of the organization, no matter who was running it. It's always been all about the children.

As for me, many of the most enduring professional memories of my career have arisen out of my involvement with MKI: the simple gratitude of the families of the children we've cared for, kids who otherwise would have had no chance; X-ray rounds in the PICU, with the parents of the kids; party day at the end of a week of cardiac surgery, when the kids we've taken care of in years past come back to visit us--all grown up--at the social event of the season. Then there are the personal memories: wedding anniversaries spent in Guayaquil; a daughter deciding to pursue a nursing career after tagging along on a mission; witnessing the shared human experience, no matter what country you are in, of trying to do everything you can to protect, and perhaps save, your child.

And there are things, good and bad, that only people who were there would understand. Boris, who could now walk. Jorge of the Junga. Paula and the big white stuffy. Paola and the G-5. Miracles. Tragedies. And everything in between.

Through it all, the good and the bad, I've always known that the MKI people have felt it all with me: that, for them, it's always been a calling, an adventure, truly a part of the human experience. And that is what has made it so special. They really do care.
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Mending Kids International works incredibly hard to provide children all around the world with the care they need. I began at Mending Kids 10 months ago as an intern through my Master in Science in Global Medicine program at USC Keck School of Medicine and as their current Program Assistant, I have been able to see all the great work the staff and volunteers do! They all work hard to ensure that the money donated to this organization is sent off to where it needs to go and to ensure that we can utilize it to its greatest potential by helping the greatest amount of children with high quality care wherever we travel to as an organization. By creating partnerships with local organizations, businesses, and hospitals, Mending Kids International is ensuring that the most vulnerable population of the world, children, receive the help they deserve.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

Mending Kids International is an organization that really "walks the walk"! They operate on a very small staff (5 full time), yet have enormous impact on a global basis. Children are the first and foremost priority. They have provided over 1,000 free surgeries in over 54 countries (including the United States) and have not only significantly changed the lives of children, but have actually saved lives as well. They bring in medical experts for virtually any type of surgery needed from cardiac, orthopedic, reconstructive, general, urology, and much more! MKI also works on research, training, and prevention to assist communities in providing sustaining and long lasting results. What a blessing for a child and their family to know they are in good hands and that their lives will be forever changed!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I started volunteering with MendingKids in May after the Executive Director went to my classroom as a guestspeaker. She gave us an incredible speech and reminded me of all the reasons why I wanted to study nonrpofit.
During my volunteer hours, I got to know everyone in the office and they are
so nice and kind. I was working on their mailer project in their breakroom, and their staff all came and chatted with me once in a while to make sure I was not bored or tired. It was a great experience for me to learn about how nonprofit does fundraisers and mailers and I had a great time as a volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

do more marketing and make more people know about this organization

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

We had the privilege of hosting a child through MKI for eight months. Not only was the medical technology he needed not available in his country, but his family had an annual income of less than $500 and could not have afforded any medical treatment regardless. The operations he received in the U.S. literally transformed this child's life. There were so many happy moments, like the first time he could fit a shoe on one of his feet and walk normally. The child we hosted was older, and he was able to appreciate the stark contrast between his previous life full of medical issues and his new healthy life full of promise. Along with the operation came maturity and new-found hope for the rest of his life. It is rare organization that can make this significant a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013

more

October 1, 2013

Mending Kids International has been a blessing to many girls and boys in El Salvador. Through its missions, many of our kids. have received a second life opportunity,; hence, many famillies have been helped.

I have the privilege to serve as their Global Ambassador in El Salvador and I
witness the dedication and commitment of everyone involved in this Organization. Through Mending Kids International, we are establishing an alliance with prestigious private hospitals who take care of our children locally when it is an urgent procedure and cannot be done at the public Children's Hospital. Jefferson, a four year old boy was benefitted with a neurological procedure within 48 hours. This took place two weeks ago!!!

I invite you to support many underprivileged children who need help by getting involved in this wonderful endeavor!!!

THANK YOU, MENDING KIDS!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

We have been hosting children since 2005 with Mending Kids International. This is our absolute favorite organization to work with! Every person, whether employed or volunteer, gives 100% and then some. This foundation has become part of our family. There is so much love spread around and everyone at Mending Kids cares not only for the children they treat, but also for the parents, the host families and each other. Without Mending Kids, many of these children would not survive. What a miracle their parents have been given to have their children healthy in a situation where they could do nothing. Our family has gotten so much out of this foundation as well. It has helped teach our own children to be more compassionate towards others and not always think about themselves first. It is a gift to be able to help others in need. We have truly been blessed to work with such an amazing group of people at Mending Kids International!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

Mending Kids International has given me the privilege to serve children and families around the world! It is truly a gift to be amongst a group of individuals that work tiressly to save and improve lives with so much compassion towards the children in need of medical care. MKI not only saves lives but their medical teams work with the local doctors to implements sustainable programs in their own countries.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MKI has an amazing staff, volunteers, medical as well but we are growing so rapidly and the need of medical care worldwide is a reality that It is imperative for us as caring individuals to get involved. Please visit http://www.mendingkids.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

As an advisor, we work with a number of charities but none that is more passionate or focused on their mission than MKI. Every member of the staff, the board, the greater support community have their hearts, their time and their talent committed to saving the children of the world, not just today and one child at a time, but for the future and for generations of children to come. This is an organization that can and does make things happen, with great stewardship over the lives and funds entrusted to their care.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013

more

September 28, 2013

I have been fortunate enough to have been involved with MKI since its inception 7 years ago.

This is a truly incredible organization that has saved thousands of lives and changed many more, including my own.

MKI provides life-saving pediatric surgeries to those who would not
receive it otherwise.

All around the world there are countless families and children suffering needlessly. We may not see it happening around us but its there and MKI is doing something about it.

http://www.mendingkids.org

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

MKI is growing! And it needs a lot of support. Additional awareness of its existence and funding are what is most needed. The infrastructure is there. Its up to us to enable this organization to continue making a difference.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Purchase and assemble snack packs that we deliver to children and families in hospital waiting rooms during our screening clinics. Most families show up to our clinics with absolutely nothing, and may have to wait for long hours to be seen. Snacks and small activities go a very long way to bringing smiles into our waiting rooms. Volunteer