Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
29 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 25, 2012

I work both in The Medical Clinic and the Food Bank. They do an outstanding job of providing a full range of services for the needy. Medical, Dental and Vision Care, + Food Bank + Soup Kitchen... more

April 15, 2014

Being involved -- I can tell you they do a fantastic job of caring for the underserved .
Whether it be the food service [eat in &/or groceries for home], clothing, showers for the homeless or the whole range of Medical, Vision & Dental services.
October 25, 2012

I work both in The Medical Clinic and the Food Bank. They do an outstanding job of providing a full range of services for the needy. Medical, Dental and Vision Care, + Food Bank + Soup Kitchen as well as a Clothing Store, showers for the Homeless plus a small grocery type store with donated items. Art

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2013

more

August 17, 2013

When I look at MEND, I see something beautiful and breathtaking happening simultaneously. I see an organization that is built to truly Meet Each Need with Dignity. A tremendous amount of love and forethought has gone into how MEND has has been envisioned, established, and enRiched. MEND reaches a vast amount of families in need right here in the heart of the valley, and greatly enriches their lives, in an incredible facility, and with an inspired and talented team of leaders, experts, and volunteers. Most of all, MEND creates dynamic and profound good, in such a comprehensive and altruistic way.

I've had the privilege and honor of working with MEND as both a volunteer, as well as professionally in the field of non-profit community work. I've observed some amazing accomplishments, and seen first hand, what a beautifully run non-profit this is for myself. The volunteers, staff, board, and leaders, seem to have a great dynamic, because the events are fun and festive, the vibe is always inclusive, and the results are absolutely astonishing.

MEND also really knows how to create great results, when you provide them with resources. They are great at taking on donations and opportunities, and saving massive amounts of valuable resources and food, from spoiling or otherwise being wasted. One of the best food pantries there is, anywhere, check it out for yourself. MEND can handle donations with expert precision, and utilizes a very highly developed network here in Los Angeles, to insure the maximum impact of every donated dollar, resource, and hour. MEND is more efficient than any business can be, because it matters to MEND, and it shows in how they serve.

As a volunteer, I worked on several different events, and on each occasion the MEND volunteers were all really fun, honest, good, loving people, making a difference together and feeling good while doing it. A lot of creativity in the fund raisers MEND puts together, never a dull moment, with such joy in the way this organization expresses: Giving.

MEND has an amazing kitchen onsite, at it's heart, and that gives it this true foodie element, as well as a lot of character and joy. People love to come together and cook up something beautiful for the community. The food that is prepared there is excellent!

MEND your world, it deserves you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Meet Each Need with Dignity has been there to support the Skidrow Ministry (through Christian Assembly) for many years now. MEND'S resources has contributed to the improvement of the lives of those we minister. I was part of the Ministry the first few years when I learned about the power of food. Every week, I witnessed the smiles of people whose hearts began to burn for the Lord and who began to have hope in their lives because they knew complete strangers wanted to provide for them. I had the opportunity to develop a deeper intimacy with people by simply sharing food with them. MEND's contribution goes beyond simply food. Their commitment leads to transformed lives. And, so, MEND deserves to be THE BEST nonprofit out there!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

After several times volunteering, I am still blown away at the amount of food this place receives and gets right back out to the local community. The work that is done under that roof is the lords work.God bless to all the work and help with MEND.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

MEND provides vital services the the communities they serve and that community is large and wide-spread. I have volunteered there for the annual post office food drive and found MEND to be very professional, organized and well equipped to take in and distribute large quantities of food. The facility is modern, clean and a delight to be in. The people who work there are professional and kind. You shoudl check them out.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

For 21/2 years I have been involved in serving the homeless on Skid row in Los Angeles and we have earned the equivalent of a "5 star Michelin" rating for the hot meals because of the quality of food that MEND has provided to us week after week.That you MEND from all of us at Christian Assembly Church in Eagle Rock!!!!
Bill Myers

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

For 8 years, Christian Assembly Church has been the recipient of food donations from MEND every single week. With just very few exceptions, MEND has never missed giving us what we need for our homeless ministry. Because of MEND, we have been able to serve hundreds of homeless people every week by providing them with hot meals and also sandwich/fruit bags. We also have the reputation of having the "best food on Skid Row." And it's all because of how MEND has partnered with us all these years in serving the poorest of the poor here in L.A. and giving them the most basic of their needs: food! They are consistent, faithful, helpful and such are a joy to work with! I cannot say enough about this nonprofit organization and they definitely deserve to get recognized!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I started picking up food from MEND with my friend Diana and I was overwhelmed by the kindness and caring these wonderful people showed us as we picked up food for our Skid Row Ministry. I observed each and every person working like mad to fill the requests of organizations ready to feed the needy and hungry people they serve. The people there were so pleasant and helpful to us. As Diana and I drove away after filling our truck for the food prep the next day, I cried with joy and admiration that such an amazing organization such as MEND existed. I am so very impressed and after I heal, I will be back. God bless MEND!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

MEND is an answer to prayer. Through them, we at Christian Assembly in Eagle Rock feed really delicious food to oveer 200 people every Sunday. We even walk the streets to reach out to those who can't stand in our food line. I have made some very good friends who are trying to live in dignity while living on the streets. They have changed my life. I hope in some small way I can help change theirs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I am part of Christian Assembly's outreach to both Skid Row and Day Laborers. Mend was an answer to prayer for us and has enabled us to have food which we prepare and then give to between 200-350 each week. We thank God for Mend and the opportunity they have provided to extend a helping hand to the poor and needy!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Each month, more than 9,300 hours are donated by volunteers from a broad range of backgrounds and income levels; all joining together to act as people helping people. Each person plays a vital role in meeting the mission of MEND. From the distribution of food, clothing to assistance in job training and placement, our volunteers give MEND life.