Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

When I moved to Memphis two years ago, I was newly "out" and looking to meet others in the rainbow community. Last year I heard about MGLCC and all the positive things that were going on there and decided to get involved. I attended a volunteer orientation and have been a fixture there every since. I like being able to assist others in the community with finding the resources they need. I also love all the people I get to meet while working the front desk or participating in various community events. MGLCC is a great place to really make a difference in your life and the lives of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first moved to Memphis a year ago and it was the first time I was living so far away from home. I didn't know anyone and I was all alone. MGLCC was there when I needed it and eventually became my second home and the people there my second family! The work they do is so powerful and important to the community. The people who work there are so giving and wonderful that I can't imagine a world without MGLCC. They have given me so many opportunities to share my skills and give back to the community myself and it has been the greatest experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I moved to Memphis 3 years ago I was pleasantly surprised to find out there was a community center for gay persons. I have benefited from meeting new friends, recieve testing services, and referral survices. But, what I get the greatest pleasure from is knowing the youth in our city have a place where they can find help and get services they need. I also feel I am being a part of services provided when I am able to volunteer at the welcome desk and financiall support the agency. Keep up the good work. Martin Pratt

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Memphis Gay and Lesbian Community Center has been extremely beneficial for me personally, but also academically and occupationally. I have moved to Memphis coming from a challenging background regarding sexuality, and MGLCC was just the type of place and the people I needed the most. Being a regular volunteer, I really got to see the impact the community center has on the LGBTQIA community, and the people that are affected by their work. I have also gotten to know the Director and other board members very well, and their passion for helping the community has inspired me in my future endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Coming out is a difficult process for someone over 40, at least it was for me. I spent many months last year arguing with myself about which way to turn. Then last November, I saw the MGLCC online newsletter asking for volunteers. Walking into the Center for the first time was such a relief for me. I finally found a place where I could be accepted for who I was. Volunteering has helped me to connect with others and see what a valuable asset the Center is for individuals and the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

MGLCC serves our Mid South community in so many ways. There are programs for folks of all ages. The center offers education, advocacy and community! MGLCC has been there for folks who were hungry, homeless or just needed someone to talk to. The only place like it in a couple of hundred miles. We have been involved with homeless gay youth and I can't imagine what the kids would have done without having the center. MGLCC is a GREAT nonprofit for sure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching kids who had no one else to turn to. I've helped them find jobs, go back to school, and simply become more mature.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add space for more outreach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned to listen more carefully to young folks, to be very careful about judging anyone, and to learn to expect the unexpected. And I now have friends that I might never have met, many of them young folks who needed an adult in their lives to care about them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

very useful.

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was only able to volunteer briefly with MGLCC, but during my time there, I was so honored to be a part of a community that cares so greatly about the people it serves - whether they are regular visitors or whether it is someone's first time walking through the doors. MGLCC gives people an opportunity to be themselves, to feel supported and valuable regardless of where they come from and what others have told them. Every person has a role and a story to tell, and MGLCC allowed people to share those stories. I am not homosexual, and confess that I was nervous about whether others would question why I wanted to volunteer, but my fears were put to rest within 2 seconds of being there. The center is about loving and accepting others, and I'm a big fan of that. I think MGLCC is one of Memphis' greatest assets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers