Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The MGLCC helped me transition from moving from California to Memphis from an accepting atmosphere to a not so accepting one. They took me in and helped me out when I needed it and was a safe place for me to go. They had numerous groups in which I loved being apart of and events which I always looked forward too. The MGLCC was my home away from home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MGLCC is doing a fantastic job and providing a necessary and vital resource for the mid-south community. They offer a variety of programs and the center is a warm and friendly place to stay connected.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

MGLCC is an amazing entity. The work they selflessly do has impacted many lives in a positive and caring way which in turn impacts the community in a positive way. Keep up the good work!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

MGLCC serves our Mid South community in so many ways. There are programs for folks of all ages. The center offers education, advocacy and community! MGLCC has been there for folks who were hungry, homeless or just needed someone to talk to. The only place like it in a couple of hundred miles. We have been involved with homeless gay youth and I can't imagine what the kids would have done without having the center. MGLCC is a GREAT nonprofit for sure.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

watching kids who had no one else to turn to. I've helped them find jobs, go back to school, and simply become more mature.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add space for more outreach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

none

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I have learned to listen more carefully to young folks, to be very careful about judging anyone, and to learn to expect the unexpected. And I now have friends that I might never have met, many of them young folks who needed an adult in their lives to care about them.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

very useful.

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Memphis Gay & Lesbian Community Center (MGLCC) is a vital part of the Mid-South community. Not only does the MGLCC offer a wide range of services (including health screenings, educational classes & entertainment events), they are also a safe haven for the GLBT and GLBT-friendly community. This "safe place" is much-needed in a part of the country that is often not accepting, intolerant and full of hate for anyone who is perceived as "different". Having a place to gather where everyone is open and loving and accepting is a great asset to the Mid-South.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was only able to volunteer briefly with MGLCC, but during my time there, I was so honored to be a part of a community that cares so greatly about the people it serves - whether they are regular visitors or whether it is someone's first time walking through the doors. MGLCC gives people an opportunity to be themselves, to feel supported and valuable regardless of where they come from and what others have told them. Every person has a role and a story to tell, and MGLCC allowed people to share those stories. I am not homosexual, and confess that I was nervous about whether others would question why I wanted to volunteer, but my fears were put to rest within 2 seconds of being there. The center is about loving and accepting others, and I'm a big fan of that. I think MGLCC is one of Memphis' greatest assets.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MGLCC does important work advocating for equality in the Bible belt. I especially appreciate the Outflix Film Festival. GLBT visibility is important in a state where elected leadership is vocally hostile.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers