Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 15, 2014

more

October 15, 2014

Yes, I use to be a Board Member at the Memphis Gay Lesbian Community Center & work on the Newspape staff for our LGBTQ newspaper before it stopped being published. The MGLCC has a special place within my heart because it has allowed me to do a great majority of my Social Work Intern hours plus learn a great deal about many of the issues and concerns of teens who expeirence homelessness after telling their parents they are either gay, lesbian or trangendered to the point they're literally kicked out of the house right at that moment into the mean streets of Memphis.

The Memphis Gay Lesbian Community Center has become many of the teenagers and young adults refuge last hope before getting into serious trouble like attempting suicide or getting into drugs or prostitution after getting kicked out of their own homes. A few families has stepped up to allowed these teenagers and young adults to move into their homes but not until the Executive Director hss completed a background check on the adults.

I just think doing my hours at this Center has openef my eyes and made me feel good about many things am learning when I was a board member and volunteer. MGLCC is an excellent non-profit within 250 miles in any directon for many LGBTQ individuals in the South with many resources. Thanks for being a beacon for those individuals in the community.
June 23, 2012

more

June 23, 2012

When I moved to Memphis two years ago, I was newly "out" and looking to meet others in the rainbow community. Last year I heard about MGLCC and all the positive things that were going on there and decided to get involved. I attended a volunteer orientation and have been a fixture there every since. I like being able to assist others in the community with finding the resources they need. I also love all the people I get to meet while working the front desk or participating in various community events. MGLCC is a great place to really make a difference in your life and the lives of others.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first moved to Memphis a year ago and it was the first time I was living so far away from home. I didn't know anyone and I was all alone. MGLCC was there when I needed it and eventually became my second home and the people there my second family! The work they do is so powerful and important to the community. The people who work there are so giving and wonderful that I can't imagine a world without MGLCC. They have given me so many opportunities to share my skills and give back to the community myself and it has been the greatest experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I moved to Memphis 3 years ago I was pleasantly surprised to find out there was a community center for gay persons. I have benefited from meeting new friends, recieve testing services, and referral survices. But, what I get the greatest pleasure from is knowing the youth in our city have a place where they can find help and get services they need. I also feel I am being a part of services provided when I am able to volunteer at the welcome desk and financiall support the agency. Keep up the good work. Martin Pratt

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Memphis Gay and Lesbian Community Center has been extremely beneficial for me personally, but also academically and occupationally. I have moved to Memphis coming from a challenging background regarding sexuality, and MGLCC was just the type of place and the people I needed the most. Being a regular volunteer, I really got to see the impact the community center has on the LGBTQIA community, and the people that are affected by their work. I have also gotten to know the Director and other board members very well, and their passion for helping the community has inspired me in my future endeavors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Coming out is a difficult process for someone over 40, at least it was for me. I spent many months last year arguing with myself about which way to turn. Then last November, I saw the MGLCC online newsletter asking for volunteers. Walking into the Center for the first time was such a relief for me. I finally found a place where I could be accepted for who I was. Volunteering has helped me to connect with others and see what a valuable asset the Center is for individuals and the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MGLCC serves a vital role in the community as a central point of connection and communication. It provides life-saving and life-enhancing services and programs. For newcomers to the area or those just coming out, MGLCC can provide referrals to gay-friendly businesses and professionals and help navigate life in the mid-south. I can't imagine Memphis without MGLCC.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Community Center serves so many people in so many ways and fills a gap that had long existed. It offers a home for many services and programs as well as just a place to drop in and visit, read in the library, etc. for those who need to see a friendly face and hear a friendly voice.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MGLCC definitely help our friends in the Gay, Lesbian,Bisexual, Transgendered and Straight communities. The fellowship, education and health programs offered by the center are instrumental in mental and physical well-being of the participants. My experience as a board member, volunteer and donor opened my eyes to the hardships, discrimination and hatred many in our community face. The MGLCC is HOME to those seeking shelter and protection.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a member of one of the group meetings provided at MGLCC, I am learning how to manage what's been a part of me since I was real young. Will Batts, the director, always has a positive attitude and comforting words to anyone that needs to talk. I always feel welcome by the volenteers at the front desk, and have been given direction on who to talk to about certian issues I needed advice on. I wish they could open earlier though, but being a Non-profit organization i understand it's not cheap keeping a building open all day. I will continue to support the MGLCC anyway i can, because i know they support me.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers