Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
138 Reviews
1234.847835
| 1 2 3 4...9 |
Write A Review
July 18, 2012

more

July 18, 2012

Melanoma International Foundation is an outstanding organization dedicated to helping patients and families of those afflicted with melanoma. Their forums and educational resources are invaluable. The forums were especially helpful in finding trials for new medications for melanoma.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

I was diagnosed with melanoma and found myself under-informed overwhelmed with emotions and knew no one else who had melanoma. The MIF web site provided me with a source of credible current information and a communication mechanism to others. It was an important resource to see me through the first six months. I try and return the favour by sharing my experiences and giving support to others

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

My sister was diagnosed with Stage 4 Melanoma. After consulting with 3 doctors at 3 different hospitals, we were given 3 very different treatment recommendations. We used this site extensively to help understand the options and experiences of other melanoma patients. I believe will made the right choice after doing this research, particularly the information contained on this site. Questions most often are answered within a few hours, many times by Dr. Poole.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 15, 2012

more

July 15, 2012

Helped us make sense of a terrifying situation. Directed us to the experts' expert for a second opinion. Well done!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

MIF is an invaluable resource for those diagnosed with all stages of melanoma! When I was diagnosed with melanoma in 2008, I learned so much from MIF. The forums were a great place to go for support and encouragement and the entire website is packed with easy to read information. This website became somewhat of a 'friend' to me when I was newly diagnosed. Now that I'm 4 years out, I enjoy helping others on the forum who are newly diagnosed and afraid.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

I was diagnosed with two melanomas a few years ago, had them removed, and began seeing my skin cancer doctor once every two months from that point on. In January 2012, I went on a cruise to the Caribbean and, upon returning, found that there was a new melanoma on my back. Although it was smaller than 1 cm, it was still the largest I had up until that point. I was emotionally distraught and unable to function. I found the Melanoma International site, which allowed me to share information, become more educated, and get ideas for how to deal with all aspects of this difficult cancer. In turn, I have been able to correspond with others in similar situations and, hopefully, provide them some comfort and guidance as well. This is an invaluable resources to help deal with what can be a deadly disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

The Melanoma International Foundation is a powerful advocate for melanoma patients. Additionally through their webinars, forums and scientific advisory board, they keep patients up to date with the latest clinical treatment and guidance, offering a lifeline to patients like myself, giving me more knowledge, tools and perspective from leading experts, a great supplement to my relationship with my own doctors. For example, the recent webinar on Gamma Knife treatment for brain metastasis helped me understand a number of subtle issues that I was not aware of from discussions with my own doctors. Also, the forums help me stay up with the latest clinical trial happenings (i.e. specific information such as from paticipants and recruiting experiences) ,information that would be almost unobtaianable otherwise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

I was diagnosed in June 2011 with Melanoma at age 29. I personally had never met anyone who dealt with melanoma and found no support groups in my area to help me with my diagnoses. While searching the web I came across the Melanoma International Foundation, and I'm so glad I did. Their website answered my questions, referred me to specialist and provided forums where I could interact with others who were going through the same things as me and some who had already be through it(including founder Catherine Poole who regularly answers questions). I don't know how I would've got through without this great resource!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012

more

July 14, 2012

I received news within the last six weeks that I have Stage IV melanoma. This has been a most shocking revelation, completely out of the blue, without previous or current other evidence of disease than a tumor on my lung. Such a diagnosis raises innumerable large questions, and, though some of these can be answered by doctors, they are not always there to answer them at the time they arise, not prompt about getting back to patients, and sometimes overwhelming one in a short period of time with information that needs sorting if it is going to be of any use. Besides, in a disease that is as individualized in diagnosis and potential treatment, to what doctor does one go to get the best care? With all these questions and concerns, I have found the one strong and safe refuge through these weeks has been the International Melanoma Foundation, most specifically its forums that have allowed me to interact with and learn from others in my situation who are further along in their journey, and through this and phone and email contact with its most knowledgeable and incredibly available and deeply caring head, Catherine Poole. I dont even want to imagine how much more difficult the road would have been so far without this amazing resource. I cannot praise it and Catherine's guiding hand enough. Just in the past day, I was faced with the stunning news that my cancer may have spread from lung to brain, on the basis of an ambivalent MRI reading. After numerous unsuccessful attempts to contact my oncologist or his office, I turned to MIF and received excellent advice and support from fellow Forum members and Catherine herself that have helped me make good decisions about steps forward and put mind and emotions at ease as I write this, both mine and my wife's. I am so grateful.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Learing about treatment options, gaining hope from others' experience, getting specific answers to questions, calming my fears.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make ones that would upset the great work that is now being accomplished. I would make sure that public relations efforts, perhaps especially through melanoma specialists would make this opportunity known to all who suffer from the disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

A random hunt online

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Being more hopeful about the future and being proactive about sharing my questions and concerns and not taking one doctor's opinion with more gravity than it is worth.

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

I was diagnosed with MM in 2010, I was very scared by the word Malignant already dealing with CLL (Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia) I searched on the internet for some realistic advise and understanding on MM and what I should be asking and expecting. With the of MIF I gathered a better understanding and it made the anxiety somewhat less. I knew if I didn't understand I could ask there and they would help me. I knew to ask about a sentinel node biopsy (came back clear) and they explained what a WLE was. Never was I made to feel that a question was dumb, or trivial I still go back and read, knowing that CLL especially now after Chemo Therapy can predispose me for skin cancers...Thank you for your time...Gillian Capewell

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

2010 when I was diagnosed MM they were a god send in their information and help

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

How did you find this group?

google on the internet

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

I have never been a sun worshiper and have always used sunscreen but now I also advocate its use on my FB along with saying no to tanning beds

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers