Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
138 Reviews
1234.847835
| 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

They were there for me with answers when I desperately needed it. They offered encouragement when my spirits waned. They gave me hope when I felt all was lost. It's difficult to find the words to thank the many dedicated people that serve others on this site especially since most of us at that point in our lives were in a state of shock. It's great to have a friend and especially an advocate in this most difficult journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional financial support

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have found the support and help from the forums to be extremely beneficial. The knowledge of the contributors (doctors, Catherine and other patients) to be very helpful in understanding many medical terms and treatments. The clarification has helped me make appropriate decisions in my treatment and even in my choice of doctor. I had been seeing a local doctor for my stage IV melanoma. I thought he was a melanoma specialist. After reading different responses on the forum I realized he was not. I searched on this site for a specialist. My doctors name kept coming up as well as the cancer center. I have been going there now for three years. I've been tumor free now for 26 months!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I found the support and help on the forums and the educational webinars extremely helpful for me as a caregiver. The webinars were great at helping understand the treatment alternatives and the members in the forum have been very helpful with both support and info on where to turn. I think this forum is invaluable to patients and families who are dealing with Melanoma.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MIF has really impacted my life. My father is suffering from Malignant Melanoma. This is rare disease in India (where we live) and even reputed oncologists are unaware of the treatment. After searching for Melanoma on Google, I found MIF. MIF has helped me throughout the course of treatment. Firstly, my doctors were adamant on just WBRT(whole brain radio therapy) But I was always skeptical about it. I started discussing the issue and asked MIF's help. I got more pertinent answers from MIF rather than from doctors. Armed with the advanced knowledge from MIF, I discussed the issue again with my doctors who then referred us to another hospital having advanced machine. After that, I started discussing my father's case with MIF regularly. They guided me throughout the treatment. From NRAS mutation test to C-KIT, each and every crucial step was discussed. Moreover, I benefited immensely by the experiences shared by other senior members. It is indispensable for people who do not have access to advanced medical services in the field of Melanoma. Apart from creating awareness about Melanoma treatment, MIF provides a lot of emotional support. It provides a vent to all the frustration through which Melanoma Caregiver goes through. I had some ethical issues which were weighing a lot on my mind. I discussed it with MIF and fortunately, I found a senior member who went through the exact same situation. I wont mince my words but it literally helped me decide the most appropriate and peaceful way in which my father will die. I could not expect more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the treatment and overall well being of my father and hence, the whole family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet Search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

From the kind of help I got from MIF, I think I have become more helpful to people in general. Now helping somebody provides me a little bit more joy than it used to earlier.

September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

Since I first googled melanoma upon learning of my husband's diagnosis, the Melanoma International Foundation has been a source of information and support. Armed with the experiences of many others diagnosed with Stage III melanoma, my husband and I were able to intelligently challenge the direction we were given from his plastic surgeon and enabled to select a health care facility that was a Center of Excellence for Melanoma. My husband's melanoma has unfortunately progressed since I first found the MIF forum website but it continues to give us the help we have needed to make intelligent decisions about which treatment path to follow. Right now, Melanoma research is happening at a break-neck clip and being able to learn of other Melanoma patients first hand experience with brand new drugs has helped us feel like we are in control of this awful disease. MIF provides invaluable support for people with melanoma and thie families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

MIF has been very helpful in providing information during my sister's journey and subsequent death from melanoma. Our family has participated as a team in the annual MIF walk at Villanova University for the last 4 yrs. We have shared information about this excellent organization with other friends, relatives, coworkers and neighbors. The website is a great resource patient's, families and health care providers. It serves as a reliable information source which highlights the scope of this devastating disease .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

As a mother of a child diagnosed with metastatic melanoma stage IV, I searched for all information available to help with our future journey. This web site for melanoma patients, caregivers and doctors was the best find possible. It carries the most current information from research around the globe with access to all selected articles. It also offers a forum for patients at various stages and one for caregivers like myself. My family has used this site to find the doctors and research available to us and have called and visited each of them. We do believe that this site has given us the tools to help our loved one continue her fight against this disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

When my 34 year old son was diagnosed with stage IV melanoma I was shocked, terrified, and frantic. I found the Melanoma Internantional Foundation site on the internet and started reading. Almost at once I realized it was a highly acedemic yet user-friendly site. Catherine Poole, the founder, president, and a melanoma survivor personally counseled me on the phone when I posted my first blubbering, disjointed questions. I love that so many melanoma warriors and survivors post and counsel along with notable and reknown melanoma oncology specialists . The site is monitored for inaccurate information and filtered immediately. I am always confident in the quality and accuracy of the information I find on the site. The webinars are up to date and always on the cutting edge of any new findings in the melanoma world. I feel like I am making friends and building true relationships at MIF. The sincerity of the staff and bloggers is heart-felt and truely appreciated. I recommend the site anytime I can fit it into a conversation. Cindy Lock, Holyoke, Colorado

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I was recently diagnosed and treated with a stage II melanoma. I was fortunate enough to stumble upon the MIF website through a search on the internet. I attended the recent 5K run at Villanova University which was fun, inspiring and informative, It was great feeling that your part of a family and not alone. I got a lot of great samples and information to keep me connected and educated. I also have posted questions on their forums. it nice not only to get professional answers but answers from real life survivors that have been down this road already. Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

Misdiagnosed by GP's for for 3 1/2 years. Slow rolled by General surgeon for 8 months after being diagnosed with melanoma. Went to Stage IV before learned of this site. That was overf 5 years ago. I am still here at stage IV and not NED. Catherine Poole is an amazing lady that helps us understand what this disease is and how to work it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hope and quality of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Luck searching the internet.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To not surrender to what a general oncologist said was a death sentence within 6 months.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers