Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
154 Reviews
1234.811695
Write A Review
July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

Melanoma is not understood by many people. Melanoma Int'l educates and helps families like mine who have lost loved ones.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

As a stage 4 melanoma patient, interacting with other patients and caregivers to share information about treatments and research options is essential. The Melanoma International Foundation provides this much-needed experience through its dedicated patient and caregiver forums, allowing people everywhere to connect with each other and share knowledge, experience, and hope. There are not a lot of treatment options for us, and survival statistics are poor. It is easy to lose hope. Being able to easily connect with others going through the same experience has been a key component of my emotional stability during this journey. Without the advice and support of others, I would be lost and alone. The Melanoma International Foundation is a wonderful, caring, supportive organization. I don't know what I would do without it. It deserves every recognition possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

I was diagnosed mith malignant melanoma. I had surgery after fighting with the insurance company. I did not know what I was getting into. The only thing I knew was that melanoma was deadly. After my surgery, infections and reccuperation from 18 lymph nodes removed. I entered a clinical trial. Unfortunately, I did not get the trial drug, but got the other more toxic drug. After talking with the foundation and getting a better of sense of my options and the positives and negatives, I chose not to go with the interferon. I am now 9 months cancer free. I hope I made the right decision, only time will tell.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

The Melanoma International Foundation (MIF) has been an excellent source of information for me since I was diagnosed with melanoma at the end of 2011. Clearly anybody receiving this life changing diagnosis will appreciate the supportive community available through the MIF, but the first thing that the MIF helped me to do was to actualy understand my diagnosis by explaining details included in biopsy reports (details which, I'm sorry to say, many doctors have a hard time explaining) and what this meant for the future. The MIF website is the most informative place I managed to find on the internet. It gave me the support (encouragement, information, hope and strength) I desperately needed at a very difficult time in my life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

The information I have gathered and support received have made my diagnosis a little bit easier to take and work through. Thank you so much MIF. Robert Bruce

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

My dad was giagnosed with stage IV melanoma and the MIF was very supportive and helpfull to my family helping us deal with a difficult time. They were able to explain the treatment options and give us ideas on how to deal with the disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

Diagnosed with my fourth and most serious melanoma this February, MIF has helped me to hear how other people cope. With great information on what this cancer is all about, I feel more confident in my care and treatment.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

MIF and its members have been a source of comfort, inspiration, and most of all information since my melanoma diagnosis almost three years ago.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

When diagnosed with Melanoma the questions I had were numerous and constantly popping into my mind. Thankfully I found this source which allayed some of my concerns and, fortunately for me, allowed me to realize that while I'm by no means "out of the woods", my situation isn't as dire as I immediately assumed it was. I simply didn't understand the prognosis and being able to come to this website with questions and have them answered same day most often was very helpful as my family and I faced this awful disease. I'm now more educated and have even been able to provide guidance to others who were recently diagnosed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

Dad passed away from Melanoma of the eye in 2004 trying to keep awareness in the public eye.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers