Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
138 Reviews
1234.847835
| 1 2 3 4...14 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2012

more

September 18, 2012

Since I first googled melanoma upon learning of my husband's diagnosis, the Melanoma International Foundation has been a source of information and support. Armed with the experiences of many others diagnosed with Stage III melanoma, my husband and I were able to intelligently challenge the direction we were given from his plastic surgeon and enabled to select a health care facility that was a Center of Excellence for Melanoma. My husband's melanoma has unfortunately progressed since I first found the MIF forum website but it continues to give us the help we have needed to make intelligent decisions about which treatment path to follow. Right now, Melanoma research is happening at a break-neck clip and being able to learn of other Melanoma patients first hand experience with brand new drugs has helped us feel like we are in control of this awful disease. MIF provides invaluable support for people with melanoma and thie families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

This is a great resource to have in Pennsylvania. Our non profit (Walk On Foundation Inc) which helps assist those with medical needs is from Pennsylvania and is glad to see different disease specific non profits emerge for all kinds of illnesses. God Bless you and everything you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2012

more

September 5, 2012

MIF is an exceptional source of information and support for Melanoma patients and provides much-needed and always up-to-date information in a cancer without established standard of care. The last years have brought a novel therapies in Melanoma and staying informed is already difficult for medical doctors, let alone patients in an emotionally challenging situation. In a disease with many options but few defined ways, information is key. The MIF webinars are simply impressive, easy to understand primers on the latest of what's going on in Melanoma. The forums have been valuable for us time over time- to discuss treatment options, how to deal with side effects and also the emotional impact of being diagnosed with a disease with such poor prognosis. Despite the grim setting, the foundation's approach is positive and pro-active (e.g. the matching grants to support Melanoma research) which distinguishes them from other websites. Catherine Poole, the founder, is an impressive and never-tiring presence who does not hold back to personally reach out to Melanoma experts to help a specific patient. We have made (first virtual, then real) friends over this website. Melanoma is terrible but having a place like MIF was simply wonderful.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 17, 2012

more

August 17, 2012

My wife has advanced muscosal melanoma. Catherine Poole and everybody on the Stage 4 and Caregivers forums have been of tremendous support and encouragement. They are truly my brothers and sisters with Catherine our big sister. We care, support and coach each other without hesitation. The best cancer forum Im proud to be a member of. JeffB

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 3, 2012

more

August 3, 2012

The Melanoma International Foundation website provides outstanding support to anyone who needs to learn about and deal with Melanoma. MIF makes finding the information easy even when the subject is not easy. By providing the forum MIF gives us access to professionals, fellow patients and caregivers all experienced with this terrible disease. If an answer cannot be found, Catherine Poole of MIF will go find it and bring it to the forum. As a caregiver for my father diagnosed with Stage IV Melanoma, this website has been the most helpful resource to me and my family. I have learned so much and feel connected with others, because of MIF I feel I can provide the best support to my father.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 24, 2012

more

July 24, 2012

MIF has been very helpful in providing information during my sister's journey and subsequent death from melanoma. Our family has participated as a team in the annual MIF walk at Villanova University for the last 4 yrs. We have shared information about this excellent organization with other friends, relatives, coworkers and neighbors. The website is a great resource patient's, families and health care providers. It serves as a reliable information source which highlights the scope of this devastating disease .

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

As a mother of a child diagnosed with metastatic melanoma stage IV, I searched for all information available to help with our future journey. This web site for melanoma patients, caregivers and doctors was the best find possible. It carries the most current information from research around the globe with access to all selected articles. It also offers a forum for patients at various stages and one for caregivers like myself. My family has used this site to find the doctors and research available to us and have called and visited each of them. We do believe that this site has given us the tools to help our loved one continue her fight against this disease.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 21, 2012

more

July 21, 2012

When my 34 year old son was diagnosed with stage IV melanoma I was shocked, terrified, and frantic. I found the Melanoma Internantional Foundation site on the internet and started reading. Almost at once I realized it was a highly acedemic yet user-friendly site. Catherine Poole, the founder, president, and a melanoma survivor personally counseled me on the phone when I posted my first blubbering, disjointed questions. I love that so many melanoma warriors and survivors post and counsel along with notable and reknown melanoma oncology specialists . The site is monitored for inaccurate information and filtered immediately. I am always confident in the quality and accuracy of the information I find on the site. The webinars are up to date and always on the cutting edge of any new findings in the melanoma world. I feel like I am making friends and building true relationships at MIF. The sincerity of the staff and bloggers is heart-felt and truely appreciated. I recommend the site anytime I can fit it into a conversation. Cindy Lock, Holyoke, Colorado

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I was recently diagnosed and treated with a stage II melanoma. I was fortunate enough to stumble upon the MIF website through a search on the internet. I attended the recent 5K run at Villanova University which was fun, inspiring and informative, It was great feeling that your part of a family and not alone. I got a lot of great samples and information to keep me connected and educated. I also have posted questions on their forums. it nice not only to get professional answers but answers from real life survivors that have been down this road already. Keep up the great work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

Misdiagnosed by GP's for for 3 1/2 years. Slow rolled by General surgeon for 8 months after being diagnosed with melanoma. Went to Stage IV before learned of this site. That was overf 5 years ago. I am still here at stage IV and not NED. Catherine Poole is an amazing lady that helps us understand what this disease is and how to work it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Hope and quality of life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Luck searching the internet.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

To not surrender to what a general oncologist said was a death sentence within 6 months.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers