Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
138 Reviews
1234.847835
| 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Your web site is wonderful and I will always appreciate all the help you have provided when I first diagnosed in 2005 until today. You sent me your book which helped to educate me and make me an informed patient. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

When my sister was diagnosed with metastatic melanoma, I wanted to learn about treatments available and through this website I found all the latest information available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Always great information and the support you need when you need. Appreciate the personal patient attention! And sharing of up to date news and trials. Great to be an informed patient and this helps us tremendously!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I am melanoma patient who would benefit from these latest innovations. One of the best places to hear about innovation is MIF with the online forums you offer. Thank you, thank you. And when desperate, I have called a couple of times and had the honor to speak with Ms. Poole, a comforting experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

They were there for me with answers when I desperately needed it. They offered encouragement when my spirits waned. They gave me hope when I felt all was lost. It's difficult to find the words to thank the many dedicated people that serve others on this site especially since most of us at that point in our lives were in a state of shock. It's great to have a friend and especially an advocate in this most difficult journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional financial support

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Helps me discover new ways if prevention so that my Melanoma doesn't come back. Helps me not to live in fear or know that I'm alone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more ways to raise awareness in my home state of Virginia USA

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have found the support and help from the forums to be extremely beneficial. The knowledge of the contributors (doctors, Catherine and other patients) to be very helpful in understanding many medical terms and treatments. The clarification has helped me make appropriate decisions in my treatment and even in my choice of doctor. I had been seeing a local doctor for my stage IV melanoma. I thought he was a melanoma specialist. After reading different responses on the forum I realized he was not. I searched on this site for a specialist. My doctors name kept coming up as well as the cancer center. I have been going there now for three years. I've been tumor free now for 26 months!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

The MIF has proved an invaluable source of information and inspiration since my son was diagnosed with Stage IVmelanoma last year. The support and encouragement from melanoma patients is available worldwide and the webinars are particularly helpful. Thank you to Catherine Poole and all contributors to the MIF.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I found the support and help on the forums and the educational webinars extremely helpful for me as a caregiver. The webinars were great at helping understand the treatment alternatives and the members in the forum have been very helpful with both support and info on where to turn. I think this forum is invaluable to patients and families who are dealing with Melanoma.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

MIF has really impacted my life. My father is suffering from Malignant Melanoma. This is rare disease in India (where we live) and even reputed oncologists are unaware of the treatment. After searching for Melanoma on Google, I found MIF. MIF has helped me throughout the course of treatment. Firstly, my doctors were adamant on just WBRT(whole brain radio therapy) But I was always skeptical about it. I started discussing the issue and asked MIF's help. I got more pertinent answers from MIF rather than from doctors. Armed with the advanced knowledge from MIF, I discussed the issue again with my doctors who then referred us to another hospital having advanced machine. After that, I started discussing my father's case with MIF regularly. They guided me throughout the treatment. From NRAS mutation test to C-KIT, each and every crucial step was discussed. Moreover, I benefited immensely by the experiences shared by other senior members. It is indispensable for people who do not have access to advanced medical services in the field of Melanoma. Apart from creating awareness about Melanoma treatment, MIF provides a lot of emotional support. It provides a vent to all the frustration through which Melanoma Caregiver goes through. I had some ethical issues which were weighing a lot on my mind. I discussed it with MIF and fortunately, I found a senior member who went through the exact same situation. I wont mince my words but it literally helped me decide the most appropriate and peaceful way in which my father will die. I could not expect more.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the treatment and overall well being of my father and hence, the whole family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet Search

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

From the kind of help I got from MIF, I think I have become more helpful to people in general. Now helping somebody provides me a little bit more joy than it used to earlier.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers