Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
154 Reviews
1234.811695
Write A Review
October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I was diagnosed with a melanoma on my cheek just a year ago this coming week. As I did my research on the Internet I came across the melanoma international foundation and Catherine Poole. They helped me find the right doctor and gave me great advice in dealing with my treatment. I had a successful surgery and one year later I am doing great and feeling great. Melanoma international foundation helped me get thru a difficult time.
October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

One year ago today I found out I had melanoma, and realized how little I knew about skin cancer. Working in healthcare, I was ashamed. It wasn't until I found MIF that I truly found others going through the same situation I had been going through, as well as finding good, sound advice. I used my ignorance as a "suit of armor" and felt helpless. Because of the Melanoma International Foundation, I was able to educate myself on what questions to ask and to prepare myself for what was about to happen in my life. I was sent information to guide me along in the process as well. MIF is a lifesaver!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Great help since my wife got diagnosed with melanoma at the age of 33 early this year. Wouldn't know what to do without the support of Catherine Poole & the many great "victims" and caretakers on this forum. BIG THANKS, Rick
October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The initial shock of a Stage IV melanoma diagnosis is an experience I hope fewer and fewer people will experience, as the dangers of sun exposure become more widely understood. In the meantime, I found great solace in the Melanoma International Foundation Forum where knowledgeable people all over the world share experiences, updates on scientific and medical breakthroughs, and resources for treatment options. Catherine Poole, the ever present and supportive founder of MIF, does an exceptional job of moderating the forum and correcting misinformation as it may arise. It has, literally, been a life saver.
October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 5, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The MIF website has been a wonderful resource for our family during my daughters battle with stage 4 melanoma. The site is moderated by a panel of experts, making it one of the few sites where answers and discussions are vetted for accuracy. It's founder Catherine Poole invests countless hours and has become a valued counselor and friend.
October 3, 2014

more

October 3, 2014

The MIF Online Forum was a great help to me by providing accurate information and emotional support when I was first diagnosed with melanoma. The site is very well moderated. Members are free to speculate about treatments, but misinformation is never allowed to remain on the site. It's a supportive, safe environment and I am certain it has actually saved a number of lives via the accurate info-sharing it facilitates. Kudos to MIF for hosting this excellent and essential forum!
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

During my biopsies and treatment period IMF was very helpful and informItive.


I want to thank them for their time in answering my questions.

Sincerely,

Frank

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I was diagnosed in 2011 with stage IV unkown primary. The information I was reading was devastating on line until I found this website. It gave me hope and knowledge. Anytime I am feeling overwhelmed I get reassurance that I am doing the right things and the most up to date therapies etc. Thank you for giving this mom of 4 boys hope!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

MIF is the most valuable resource for anyone dealing with melanoma, either patient or caregiver. The site contains the latest news on treatments, links to other resources and the forums to exchange information. Catherine is very knowledgeable about the disease and has been helping patients for several years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

MIF rocks! The site contains info on incredibly Cutting edge treatments, trials, and resources. The knowledgable, caring and supportive advisors and moderator are phenomenal. There is even a separate forum for care givers. The comraderie is outstanding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a single thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers