Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
143 Reviews
1234.853155
| 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
June 8, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 9, 2011

MIF is an invaluable source for Melanoma Patients. I found the site soon after being diagnosed with Stage 2 and continue to use it since progressig to Stage 3. The info on the site is reliable and the... more

June 8, 2013

When first diagnosed with Stage2 Melanoma I,like most others turned to the Internet. I was looking for info but also looking for patients. I found a few but this seemed superior to others. There was a moderator(Catherine Poole), there was scientific advisors and it followed the honor code. I have since become Stage 4 and the info I need is found with other posts and Catherine helping suggest trials for patients. The site is current, and very User friendly. It helps to have a Melanoma family. Nobody understands like the people walking in your shoes! Catherine Poole has made this work just like it should.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2011

MIF is an invaluable source for Melanoma Patients. I found the site soon after being diagnosed with Stage 2 and continue to use it since progressig to Stage 3. The info on the site is reliable and the emotional support from other members has helped me through some hard times. Catherine is always there with an answer when needed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping with treatment decisions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2010

MIF has helped me through a very difficult time. With the help of this site I have been able to make informed decisions about my treatment. When I feel anxious and alone I know I can get not only the latest info but the emotional support I need by talking to people who have been there.Thank you Catherine for making this site the great place that it is.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping me make decisions regarding my treatment

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The site provides a great forum for Melanoma patients and caregivers to share information. The service it provides is of critical importance since the care and treatment of this disease is changing dramatically-- to the extent that many doctors are having difficulty keeping up. I check the site daily--check-in with my comrades who are fighting along unseen (but not unheard) by my side--taking from the well of knowledge and adding my small experiential info where appropriate. Also, the woman who runs the site (C. Poole) is well-informed, devoted, and tireless in addressing many of the needs for current information about treatment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

After being dignosed with three melanomas in a fairly short period of time, I felt lost, afraid, and alone. The Melanoma Interntional Foundation (MIF) website and forums helped me get through one of the hardest experiences of my life. The eductional information, coupled with the support I received on the Stage I and Stage II forums allowed me to understand the disease and take some control in my medical care. I absolutely cannot say enough about MIFand the important role it has played in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what I would change, if anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a four time survivor of melanoma. I have been through bio-chemotherapy, regular protocal, and radiation. I have endured four extensive surguries because my cancer spread into my lymph nodes. Each time my cancer came back, I have called MIF and I have received more information and support than I could imagine. They have been wonderful. The staff is so knowledgeable they even knew the doctors in Colorado that I was seeing. I also received so much information on clinical trials, etc. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I believe I am alive today thanks to MIF. If my cancer comes back, I have been told that their is nothing that can be done because I have exhausted my life time of chemo drugs and my cancer spread to close to my chest wall last time. I am a year and half out cancer free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

As a person diagnosed with Stage IV melanoma in 2009, I found your online forums with research professionals informative and hope inspiring. My radiation oncologist even consulted one of those professionals when designing my treatment.
Since MIF makes it a priority to investigate the latest
treatments and their results, it makes me feel as though I have an advocate. The knowledge I have gained from reading forums and watching reports by doctors who respectfully treat their audience as an intelligent resource has given me a very positive outlook.
The site really makes me feel like a part of a community of medical discovery, very important for a person going through a disease with so few viable treatment options. When I was first diagnosed I was told that I had about a 13% chance that a treatment would work! Pretty scary stuff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

maybe have a section where people can write their treatment/survivor stories. This might be inspirational to others. This could be accomplished on another website I suppose.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Your web site is wonderful and I will always appreciate all the help you have provided when I first diagnosed in 2005 until today. You sent me your book which helped to educate me and make me an informed patient. Thank you!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

When my sister was diagnosed with metastatic melanoma, I wanted to learn about treatments available and through this website I found all the latest information available.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Change nothing

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

Always great information and the support you need when you need. Appreciate the personal patient attention! And sharing of up to date news and trials. Great to be an informed patient and this helps us tremendously!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I am melanoma patient who would benefit from these latest innovations. One of the best places to hear about innovation is MIF with the online forums you offer. Thank you, thank you. And when desperate, I have called a couple of times and had the honor to speak with Ms. Poole, a comforting experience.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

They were there for me with answers when I desperately needed it. They offered encouragement when my spirits waned. They gave me hope when I felt all was lost. It's difficult to find the words to thank the many dedicated people that serve others on this site especially since most of us at that point in our lives were in a state of shock. It's great to have a friend and especially an advocate in this most difficult journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide additional financial support

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers