Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
138 Reviews
1234.847835
Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

During my biopsies and treatment period IMF was very helpful and informItive.


I want to thank them for their time in answering my questions.

Sincerely,

Frank

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 23, 2013

more

August 23, 2013

I was diagnosed in 2011 with stage IV unkown primary. The information I was reading was devastating on line until I found this website. It gave me hope and knowledge. Anytime I am feeling overwhelmed I get reassurance that I am doing the right things and the most up to date therapies etc. Thank you for giving this mom of 4 boys hope!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 20, 2013

more

June 20, 2013

MIF is the most valuable resource for anyone dealing with melanoma, either patient or caregiver. The site contains the latest news on treatments, links to other resources and the forums to exchange information. Catherine is very knowledgeable about the disease and has been helping patients for several years.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

MIF rocks! The site contains info on incredibly Cutting edge treatments, trials, and resources. The knowledgable, caring and supportive advisors and moderator are phenomenal. There is even a separate forum for care givers. The comraderie is outstanding.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of a single thing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I am so blessed to have discovered MIF. I am a caregiver and found their forum board to be an active wealth of information. and, Catherine Poole is always so prompt to point people in the right direction to get answers if they can't find answers there on the forum. Catherine gave me the contact information and informed me about a clinical trial for my partner who was going down hill quickly and my partner's own melanoma specialist didn't even know where trials were. Within a few weeks she was on the trial and has been doing so much better. I feel this is one non profit that is large enough to be helpful, but has kept true to its mission in that they are attentive to the individual. They are personable, caring, professional and you really feel like you have an advocate. I can't describe what a difference MIF has made in our journey.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Can't think of any.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 9, 2011

MIF is an invaluable source for Melanoma Patients. I found the site soon after being diagnosed with Stage 2 and continue to use it since progressig to Stage 3. The info on the site is reliable and the... more

June 8, 2013

When first diagnosed with Stage2 Melanoma I,like most others turned to the Internet. I was looking for info but also looking for patients. I found a few but this seemed superior to others. There was a moderator(Catherine Poole), there was scientific advisors and it followed the honor code. I have since become Stage 4 and the info I need is found with other posts and Catherine helping suggest trials for patients. The site is current, and very User friendly. It helps to have a Melanoma family. Nobody understands like the people walking in your shoes! Catherine Poole has made this work just like it should.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2011

MIF is an invaluable source for Melanoma Patients. I found the site soon after being diagnosed with Stage 2 and continue to use it since progressig to Stage 3. The info on the site is reliable and the emotional support from other members has helped me through some hard times. Catherine is always there with an answer when needed.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

helping with treatment decisions

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 24, 2010

MIF has helped me through a very difficult time. With the help of this site I have been able to make informed decisions about my treatment. When I feel anxious and alone I know I can get not only the latest info but the emotional support I need by talking to people who have been there.Thank you Catherine for making this site the great place that it is.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Helping me make decisions regarding my treatment

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The site provides a great forum for Melanoma patients and caregivers to share information. The service it provides is of critical importance since the care and treatment of this disease is changing dramatically-- to the extent that many doctors are having difficulty keeping up. I check the site daily--check-in with my comrades who are fighting along unseen (but not unheard) by my side--taking from the well of knowledge and adding my small experiential info where appropriate. Also, the woman who runs the site (C. Poole) is well-informed, devoted, and tireless in addressing many of the needs for current information about treatment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

After being dignosed with three melanomas in a fairly short period of time, I felt lost, afraid, and alone. The Melanoma Interntional Foundation (MIF) website and forums helped me get through one of the hardest experiences of my life. The eductional information, coupled with the support I received on the Stage I and Stage II forums allowed me to understand the disease and take some control in my medical care. I absolutely cannot say enough about MIFand the important role it has played in my life.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't know what I would change, if anything.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

I am a four time survivor of melanoma. I have been through bio-chemotherapy, regular protocal, and radiation. I have endured four extensive surguries because my cancer spread into my lymph nodes. Each time my cancer came back, I have called MIF and I have received more information and support than I could imagine. They have been wonderful. The staff is so knowledgeable they even knew the doctors in Colorado that I was seeing. I also received so much information on clinical trials, etc. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I believe I am alive today thanks to MIF. If my cancer comes back, I have been told that their is nothing that can be done because I have exhausted my life time of chemo drugs and my cancer spread to close to my chest wall last time. I am a year and half out cancer free.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change anything!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2013

more

June 6, 2013

As a person diagnosed with Stage IV melanoma in 2009, I found your online forums with research professionals informative and hope inspiring. My radiation oncologist even consulted one of those professionals when designing my treatment.
Since MIF makes it a priority to investigate the latest
treatments and their results, it makes me feel as though I have an advocate. The knowledge I have gained from reading forums and watching reports by doctors who respectfully treat their audience as an intelligent resource has given me a very positive outlook.
The site really makes me feel like a part of a community of medical discovery, very important for a person going through a disease with so few viable treatment options. When I was first diagnosed I was told that I had about a 13% chance that a treatment would work! Pretty scary stuff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

maybe have a section where people can write their treatment/survivor stories. This might be inspirational to others. This could be accomplished on another website I suppose.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...14 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers