Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
March 31, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 31, 2015

MedShare is an exceptionally well run business "with a heart." Having worked in the for-profit world for many, many years, it is so gratifying to be involved with a humanitarian organization that has the discipline of a corporation and a mission that has such a meaningful impact.
March 31, 2015

more

Review from Guidestar
March 31, 2015

I have been involved with MedShare for over 15 years. It is an outstanding organization that is run with the discipline of business to provide unused life saving medical supplies and refurbished equipment to health care organizations around the globe. MedShare considers the dignity of the recipient and only sends what is needed and requested. The products build the capacity of the health organizations that provide health services.

MedShare also provides supplies for safety net clinics in the US, supplies for medical mission teams, and team building opportunities for those who volunteer for sorting products.

I have personally visited recipient organizations in Ghana, Haiti and Kenya, and other board members have personally visited those in Ecuador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, and Viet Nam to name a few. Seeing the difference the life saving supplies and equipment make in so many health care organizations and for so many people who would otherwise not be served is truly inspiring.

We often talk about MedShare Magic that allows so much to be done with the resources that are seized, but it is truly the result of the real passion and leadership that is provided by the staff and so many members of the board. Yet, MedShare is never satisfied with what is, and is stretching to better communiciate the mission. Explicating the theory of change, along with the appropriate measures of processes, outputs and ultimately impacts is viewed as essential.
January 2, 2015

more

January 2, 2015

MedShare is an incredible humanitarian aid organization that effectively sources surplus, essential medical supplies and equipment and ensures they get to communities in need around the world. Whether you are looking for an impactful volunteer opportunity for yourself or your employees, I would encourage you to sign up for a volunteer sort at one of their warehouses. It is a great way to be introduced to this organization and see first-hand what makes their mission worth supporting! I promise you will walk away feeling like you made a tangible difference!
January 2, 2015

more

January 2, 2015

MedShare is an amazing organization that is making a difference in communities around the world that lack access to adequate healthcare. Imagine doctors having to wash and reuse the same pair of gloves on multiple patients or imagine patients having to receive exams on the floor because no exam table is available. This is not uncommon in many parts of the world and is a reality that MedShare is committed to changing, by providing under-served healthcare facilities with the basic medical supplies and equipment needed to deliver quality healthcare.

MedShare utilizes volunteer support to help sort and package the medical supplies sent on their container shipments all over Asia, Africa, Latin America, and United States. These items are surplus donations that would have been thrown away. Instead, volunteers help re-purpose these supplies for MedShare's recipients. Getting involved as a volunteer is very easy to schedule, as well as highly rewarding. Knowing that your service is helping save human lives, improve healthcare, and is benefiting our environment makes this a unique opportunity to make such a big difference in a short 3-hour volunteer shift.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

January 2, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 2, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

The mission of MedShare is absolutely fantastic. MedShare is about SHARING. That is, the sharing of excess medical supplies in the USA- (where there is an astounding amount of waste in the healthcare industry) with hospitals and clinics in the developing countries which do not have enough. These facilities often have bare shelves and even have to ask the patients to buy their own medical supplies for their procedures if they want to be treated. The MedShare donations arrive, and those who really need them have access to basic hospital necessities like gloves, masks, syringes, dressings, surgical drapes, sutures, IV sets, and more. As a volunteer, your job is to sort and quality-control the medical supplies that are donated to MedShare before they get shipped abroad. The impact you make is enormous! Volunteer at MedShare if you want to really make a difference.
December 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 31, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I LOVE MedShare and their mission! You should go volunteer or take a tour soon. They ship medical supplies to 96 countries around the world. The people are great and they use every penny for the mission. If you care about global health, this is the place in Atlanta for you!
August 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I absolutely love MedShare...I've volunteered with them twice and the experience was great, I love what they stand for and how a few hours of your time can make such a huge difference to so many

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 10, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
May 10, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

As the operater of a pediatric neurosurgical hospital in eastern Uganda, we rely heavily on donated and procured supplies and equipment not available in-country. MedShare has been a integral partner in delivering the highest quality neurosurgery to some of the neediest and most vulnerable children in the world. Their sense of urgency and professionalism help them stand out in the crowd. We apprecaite their commitment to us and our work.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Uganda

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Although some challenges are unavoidable, better descriptions of some supplies and (equipment) accessories would help in the ordering process.

April 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
April 8, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

MedShare is one of those rare instances where everything just clicks and is just right. MedShare collects unused medical supplies and equipment from hospitals that would otherwise go into our landfills. ENVIRONMENT PROTECTED. It then sorts, verifies and boxes the supplies, and sends it to pre-verified recipients. But unlike a lot of charities that "assume" what a recipient needs or wants, MedShare asks the recipient what it needs, and ships exactly that. No waste of material, no wasted shipping costs. LIVES SAVED. Many times, donors don't follow up to make sure that their gifts are properly used and that the gifts are in the right hands. MedShare always follows-up and ensures that its donations are appropriately used. MedShare just does things right and I am very proud to be associated with them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have had a lot of experience in Africa with NGO's and have seen so much waste, which is so incredibly frustrating. MedShare is an incredible organization, working extremely efficiently and well to bring improved healthcare to people all over the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I don't really have areas of change. I only wish more people knew about this fine organization.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Sort and box medical supplies. Volunteer