Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am Mathewos Belissa (Executive Director of Meserete Kristos Church Relief and Development Association, MKC-RDA). I came to know MMI through Mr. Matt Bonk and his team while they asked us to visit one of our vision care project here in Ethiopia in 2012. Mr. Matt and his team were so enthusiastic to working with and for the poor and challenged community. On their visit to our Meki Vision care project, they developed a passion to serve those community they visited through partnering with our organization. Their partnership initiatives started with signing an MoU with me and mobilizing volunteer doctors to come to Ethiopia and make a campaign of eye treatment in June 2013 and served thousands of people with vision problems. Children and elder people were the prime beneficiary.
MMI has done a remarkable work with our organization which we also believe to continue. They not only mobilized doctors for free service to our project for 10 days, but also donated to our project some basic eye examination and eye glass inventorying equipment and laptops. MMI team not only have the experts and passion to work with the poor but also have well liked Christian character and mission ever striving to Glorify God through their work.

Finally I say with confidence that MMI is a charitable organization which every one feels pleasure of working with.

Mathewos Belissa
Executive Director, MKC-RDA
Ethiopia.
E-mail: mathewos_mkrda@yahoo.com

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I advise to include young volunteers in their field mission. Youngsters need to learn passion and community services from the elder people. Good to maintain that composition.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Medical Ministry International has given us valuable counsel as we organized Vision Care Ethiopia, a small group in Pennsylvania which has shipped 100,000 eye glasses to Ethiopia for distribution in a rural area 80 miles southeast of Addis Ababa. This year, 2013, MMI amazed us by contributing equipment and sending a small team to do a pilot project, training personnel of the Meserete Kristos Church's Relief And Development Association in examination of patients and the distribution of glasses. MMI's readiness and willingness to cooperate with other organizations, even small ones, is indeed commendable.

Nathan Hege, Treasurer, Vision Care Ethiopia, 1212 Cloverleaf Rd., Mount Joy, PA 17552.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

I am getting ready to go on my 23 medical mission trip with MMI. It has been a great experience every time. My mother who is an RN has gone on the last 21 trips with me. She is now 86 years old and is going again this year to help in the local anesthetic surgery room. I have a brother (MD), Sister(RN), niece(RN), niece(medical assistant), and son(dentist) also going as part of a 39 member team to the Dominican Republic.

What I love about MMI is that we not only get to care for the medical needs of the poor but also the spiritual needs through the local MMI staff, all while having great fellowship with the other participants.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I went on my first medical mission trip with Medical Ministry International in July 2007. It was an eye project to Arequipa, Peru. It was awesome! Everything was very organized, housing was great, transportation was always good and overall, it seemed like everyone had a great time! There were lots of laughs shared along the way and friendships still made.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been going on mission trips with MMI annually since 2001. I am a dentist and love the work we do through MMI. They show the love of Christ through the medical help we give, and share the simple message of the gospel through a creative integrated health program. They don't push a doctrinal agenda.The projects are organized well, and the on the ground support teams in the different countries as well as the US and Canadian support personel are very good at what they do. I have never felt unsafe or on my own while on a MMI trip.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Go back to a written handbook. The current E mail format is not handy to refer to while packing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I went on my first project with MMI last summer. I was absolutely blown away at how organized the field staff were. Every tiny detail was thought out before I even arrived. It touched my heart to see all the hundreds of people who traveled hours sometimes days just to seek treatment. This organization truely has what it takes to succeed.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

bring them more donors.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I have been on two projects with MMI; my first was as a nursing student to the Dominican Republic in 2011 and then back as a nurse mentor to students in Colombia, South America in June 2013. Let me tell you: these people are amazing. They always know how to incorporate the students and nurses into the projects and develop their skills while sharing the gospel. The staff is unbelievable. You can tell from the first time you meet them and speak with them that God is directing their steps. They are organized and encourage you to go beyond your comfort zone of the American lifestyle. Not once have I felt endangered or afraid. They make sure the project sites are secure and go ahead of you months in advance to setup the project you will participate in. I have made many friends with the people of the countries and also the staff. I wouldn't even imagine going on a mission trip with any other company.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2013

more

July 18, 2013

I have been on 8 trips with MMI to Central and South America. (serving as a dentist) They are a great group of very dedicated people trying to meet the spiritual and physical needs of the under-served in many countries around the world. MMI trips are very organized and well run. You will be able to use your skills as a health care professional in a meaningful way to help many people. In the process you will grow in your walk with the Lord.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2013

more

July 17, 2013

I went to Arequipa, Peru in June of 2013. I was an interpreter and had a great time connecting with the local Peruvians. The people of Peru were so kind and loving. The organization of MMI was stellar, and I believe we helped the maximum number of people due to the organization and MMI leaders. I would definitely go again!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require people to be Christians who volunteer so that the mission of MMI can be more clearly shared with the people of the places they serve.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Maritza, in March they reached the mmi, I went with my child who had strabismus problems, doctors did a surgery now my child is a normal, happy child, thanks to this organization, we must support the aid that we provide these brothers solidarity, and go around the world where it is most need of your service.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers