Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
60 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

I found out about MEDICC first, after watching movie Salud about ELAM. My wife immediately recognized bus from La Ceiba to Tokoa in Honduras which is passing through her village and later about Luther & Wendy - two students from the neighboring Garifuna village, who are ELAM alumni. Luther update was featured as well in the recent Gail Reed TED talk. MEDICC is essential not only with providing otherwise totally unknown ELAM achievements, but also helping Luther to deliver health care to remote Garifuna region in Honduras, where no other health professionals care to go.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I didn't know about MEDICC until the earthquake in Haiti. Then I started my monthly donation until now. I know it's not too much, but is the best i can do. i'm Cuban American and i think it is the best inversion that i ever did, not for profit, but for a better life for my people. I'm proud to be a donor and i congratulate MEDICC for what they do.
October 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able t... more

October 30, 2014

As a member of a Cuban American organization, Cuban Americans for Engagement (CAFE), I am keenly aware of the role MEDICC plays explaining within the US the strengths of the Cuban medical system. Because of its lack of resources, Cuba puts all its efforts into prevention. If you haven't already, listen to Gail Reed explain on the TED program where the world's doctors should be trained. It is in Cuba. http://www.ted.com/talks/gail_reed_where_to_train_the_world_s_doctors_cuba?language=en

By also helping U.S. disadvantaged youth study medicine in ELAM, the Cuban medical school, MEDICC is playing its part in the thawing of relations between the two nations.

Today (10/29/2014), in an unexpected move, the U.S. accepted Cuba's invitation and sent a CDC official to Havana to join the Caribbean and Latin American nations in a summit summoned last week to organize the hemisphere against the spread of ebola. Working together for the sake of global health, Cuba and the US are putting aside half a century of enmity. MEDICC was already on the ground.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 5, 2013

When Hurricane Sandy struck in Santiago de Cuba, destroying thousands of houses and leaving many more Cubans in dire need of medical supplies, MEDiCC was one of only two institutions that I was able to contact that was raising emergency funds for the stricken. Because of its ability to develop a relationship based on trust with the Cuban government, MEDICC was able to ship aid quickly where it was most needed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Physicians are needed as mentors to guide U.S. students, studying at Havana's Latin American Medical School, into residency and successful medical careers in underserved communities in the U.S. Volunteer